PDA

View Full Version : 22" x 2" port -> port noise?



low00ranger
05-11-2009, 09:59 PM
Doing a box for 2 old MTX Thunder subs. Running 3.5 cubic feet net, ported to 36 Hz and running 500-600 watts RMS. I'd like the port to be 22" x 2" - would that width be likely to give off some noticeable port noise?

KHARPS
05-11-2009, 10:01 PM
Yeah...you should stay under 8:1

DNick454
05-11-2009, 10:15 PM
Yeah, it would mess with the tuning and air flow. Even though it comes out to 44 sq in of port area, that fact that it is so long and skinny means it has alot of surface area on the inside of the port. The friction of the air going through that port has some weird qualities and messes with the overall tune and sound, I'd try and make that a little more equal as far as dimensions go.

low00ranger
05-12-2009, 11:07 AM
Alright, anybody know if I can get away with a single 4" aeroport? Looks like 2 3" aeros would work well also.

IDSkoT
05-12-2009, 11:57 AM
Yeah...you should stay under 8:1

There's no magical number, however, it's usually 9:1 ratio. But, 8:1 is safer.

mazdakid
05-12-2009, 12:05 PM
Id do atleast 2 or 3 4" aeros for a 3.5 cube box

skmfkr
05-12-2009, 12:17 PM
i would do a single 6" aero

S.B.C.
05-12-2009, 12:17 PM
Actually, id go w the 22x2

Round the edges so it rolls off better- should be fine..

Mine is 55 1/2w x 8t

Blue Fury
05-12-2009, 01:16 PM
Mine is 55 1/2w x 8t

55.5 x 8 < 8:1

22 x 2 > 8:1


I wouldn't. Find another way or split the port.

low00ranger
05-13-2009, 09:23 AM
Doing 2 4" aeros, almost the same area as a single 6". Doing 3.4 cubic feet net, 3.63 gross. Thanks for the input guys.

cj407
05-13-2009, 09:27 AM
not enough port area...you want around 16 sq inches per cube.....wit only 2 4" aeros you only got ~7 sq in per cube...

each 4" aero is 12.57 sq in of port area.

adas
05-13-2009, 10:43 AM
not enough port area...you want around 16 sq inches per cube.....wit only 2 4" aeros you only got ~7 sq in per cube...

each 4" aero is 12.57 sq in of port area.cj, you only need about 1/2 the port area of a slot using aeros. 25sq.in. will be good. even though a single 6 would be better. ;)

cj407
05-13-2009, 10:46 AM
so your trying to tell me that 4 4" aeros would be great for a 5.5 cube box....well i have alot of people here who will disagree....but to each his/her own.

tRiGgEr
05-13-2009, 10:52 AM
so your trying to tell me that 4 4" aeros would be great for a 5.5 cube box....well i have alot of people here who will disagree....but to each his/her own.

Dependent on the subs mechanical properties.

MotoRacer243
05-13-2009, 02:22 PM
I built a box for a friend's Tacoma with a 2 by 26.5" port and had no audible port noise. So I guess it really depends on the application.
Only running a 1000 watts though, and its in 3ft^3 net, I also rounded over the edges alot on it.

sikcavy
05-14-2009, 01:21 PM
i got 2x 4" precision ports uncut if you wanna buy them :)

adas
05-14-2009, 02:52 PM
so your trying to tell me that 4 4" aeros would be great for a 5.5 cube box....well i have alot of people here who will disagree....but to each his/her own.Yeah, actually....for anything other then pure SPL it IS enough port. 2 6" aeros is PERFECT for 6cu.ft and 4 is PERFECT for 12.

Honeslty OP, I'd say use aeros. It's pretty much proven they aren't too good to be true. They work wonders :)