PDA

View Full Version : Hdc318



Fosgate1
05-08-2009, 08:54 PM
need box size for maximum SPL for this sub, putting 1100watts to it.

Twisted_0912
05-08-2009, 09:02 PM
need box size for maximum SPL for this sub, putting 1100watts to it.

get more power for it first then if you want maximum spl

cj407
05-09-2009, 02:51 PM
wow twisted what a way to help the guy out.....not...

Enellz
05-09-2009, 02:56 PM
X2 but you'll be find 1K rms. check their website, but to get to it's full potential you'll need 2K.

cj407
05-09-2009, 02:58 PM
enellz...maybe you need to check the site again..they dont post up box size for that sub.

Enellz
05-09-2009, 03:01 PM
hmmmm didn't know. maybe google it?

tragic_magic
05-09-2009, 03:04 PM
8cf to 12cf @41 to 45hz on 3KW

snb778
05-09-2009, 03:08 PM
!!?? thats way to big

cj407
05-09-2009, 03:08 PM
wow i thought u made boxes smaller for over rms powering....

cj407
05-09-2009, 03:08 PM
i would say 5.5 net would be just fine tuned to 38 hz...

tragic_magic
05-09-2009, 03:13 PM
!!?? thats way to big
not for SPL like what was asked.mine are in bigger but 2 in 16cf on 6000 rms they did a 152 @ 41hz at the headrest


i would say 5.5 net would be just fine tuned to 38 hz...

thats a good daily box but for spl "space makes bass" <---from DD

cj407
05-09-2009, 03:20 PM
not for SPL like what was asked.mine are in bigger but 2 in 16cf on 6000 rms they did a 152 @ 41hz at the headrest



thats a good daily box but for spl "space makes bass" <---from DD

is that why DD recommends 5.00^ft (3) 10" or (2) 12" or (1) 15" or 18" 80.0 sq" vent x 18" long

hmm...seems like its enough space according to DD

tragic_magic
05-09-2009, 03:34 PM
is that why DD recommends 5.00^ft (3) 10" or (2) 12" or (1) 15" or 18" 80.0 sq" vent x 18" long

hmm...seems like its enough space according to DD

cj your just a *******!!!

6 cf is cool but for high gain it takes more.just look here

http://i659.photobucket.com/albums/uu318/tragic_magic/Capture1.jpg
http://i659.photobucket.com/albums/uu318/tragic_magic/Capture2.jpg
http://i659.photobucket.com/albums/uu318/tragic_magic/Capture3.jpg

have you ever even pulled REAL Tsp's and built to them???

siucsaluki11
05-09-2009, 04:04 PM
so the Fs on that 18 is 41 not 31? Is that what youre saying with your pictures? I was looking at getting two of these, giving them about 1750 RMS Each or 2200 each depending on how i do this. I only can afford to give them 5 cubes each, maybe a tad bit more. Was looking at tuning frequencies at 28, 30 and 38 Hz for a ten cube box. The 28 was flattest, the 30 looked good, and the 38 looked like it has a massive peak but would hammer at 43Hz

tragic_magic
05-09-2009, 04:08 PM
on my copper 18's that is the actual TSP's.

i can plot what your asking about if ya want...

cj407
05-09-2009, 04:11 PM
on YOUR 18's....thats not everyone's TSP's...

tragic_magic
05-09-2009, 04:12 PM
on YOUR 18's....thats not everyone's TSP's...

their not custom tho.same as you can buy.
do you have your actual TSP's or do you always build according to the companies specs?because they will never tell you what i know.

cj407
05-09-2009, 04:16 PM
sure....you've done nothing but try and flame me since you got here...but lil do you "know" not every sub is built the same....so your TSP's would be different from sub to sub....********


and what makes me a *******....the fact that you are trying to tell a guy to put 3k to a sub he already said he's only going to have on 1100....

tragic_magic
05-09-2009, 04:19 PM
cj,your a troll and thats why i bust your balls!

Break a 30 yet?

cj407
05-09-2009, 04:21 PM
ha ha....break a 30...guess you and the rest of the troll balls.....will know what i hit when those 2 dipshits come to an event when my car is finished....

cj407
05-09-2009, 04:22 PM
i bass race a 129.9 so obviously i'm doing over 130....maybe your ******* just cant read.....

tragic_magic
05-09-2009, 04:25 PM
i bass race a 129.9 so obviously i'm doing over 130....maybe your ******* just cant read.....

can you do a 140,147,151,155? :rolleyes:

i can read but i know you type BS just like you speak...

it would be fun im sure.the handicapped are fun to watch ;)

cj407
05-09-2009, 04:26 PM
sure....i'm glad you think its all just bs....and a 155 aint **** unless its on music at the dash sealed up using a TL

cj407
05-09-2009, 04:28 PM
and for a noob to try and call out people....thats just ******* gay glad you think about me so much you have to try and talk **** when you start posting build logs or scores then let everyone know until then STFU.

tragic_magic
05-09-2009, 04:30 PM
and for a noob to try and call out people....thats just ******* gay glad you think about me so much you have to try and talk **** when you start posting build logs or scores then let everyone know until then STFU.

noob?what makes you say that?ive been building systems since 1988.when were you born/hatched?

cj407
05-09-2009, 04:33 PM
wow claims again.....nothing for proof...i'm done dumping in this guys thread.... i've got work to go do.

RetroAudioinc
05-09-2009, 04:39 PM
:popcorn::popcorn::popcorn:

tragic_magic
05-09-2009, 04:45 PM
at least i posted some real world info...all you did was dump!

jamesw
05-09-2009, 04:54 PM
First off With only 1100rms try a 11cf enclosure tuned to 38HZ, the lack of power is just gonna mean that you need to make it up with airspace. Plus the box will be alot more more efficient if it has more cf. meaning less imp rise and getting louder off of less power due to reaching its mech limits fastaaa. If you put that thing in a 5.5 cf box I doubt it would move more than half an inch off of 1k watts..

dappa5
05-09-2009, 04:58 PM
yup yup less power cheat w/more air i was thinking 9 ft3 @ 38 but you get the point

tragic_magic
05-09-2009, 05:00 PM
First off With only 1100rms try a 11cf enclosure tuned to 38HZ, the lack of power is just gonna mean that you need to make it up with airspace. Plus the box will be alot more more efficient if it has more cf. meaning less imp rise and getting louder off of less power due to reaching its mech limits fastaaa. If you put that thing in a 5.5 cf box I doubt it would move more than half an inch off of 1k watts..

not to bad really heres what it looks like

http://i659.photobucket.com/albums/uu318/tragic_magic/Capture4.jpg
http://i659.photobucket.com/albums/uu318/tragic_magic/Capture5.jpg

jamesw
05-09-2009, 05:11 PM
yeah that was just off the top of my head i mean it really depends on your car too, but for example I have an hdc3 15 a series only on a aq 1200 @ .5ohms in a 5.7 cf box and it excursions about 3 inches at full tilt with minimal clipping, but due to the power being low and in a very efficient box the clipping doesnt really give it to much cooling trouble it still manages to remain cool. And on a 50hz tone it was seeing box rise of .25ohms making it a total of .75 which isnt to bad. But it was only pushing 1200 watts at .75ohms on a 50 hz tone.. :/

siucsaluki11
05-09-2009, 06:07 PM
So the Fs is pretty different on the copper coils? Im looking at fitting 2 in my blazer. I will be limited to only giving them about 5 cubes each with around 160 sq in of port. I was thinkin of getting a 3500D from AQ to push the pair for the time being. In the future it may end up with a 2200D on each one or a 3500D on each. What is a good tuning for 5 cubes? I have looked at 28, 30 and 38, so far i was leaning towards 30Hz.

mcsoul
05-09-2009, 07:43 PM
So the Fs is pretty different on the copper coils? Im looking at fitting 2 in my blazer. I will be limited to only giving them about 5 cubes each with around 160 sq in of port. I was thinkin of getting a 3500D from AQ to push the pair for the time being. In the future it may end up with a 2200D on each one or a 3500D on each. What is a good tuning for 5 cubes? I have looked at 28, 30 and 38, so far i was leaning towards 30Hz.

32-34hz you'll be fine with coppers on the 3500. Should sound great if you can really do 160 sq in of port (displaces 3.5 cubes at 34hz :laugh:).

RetroAudioinc
05-09-2009, 08:31 PM
at least i posted some real world info...all you did was dump!

Are you talking to me? I am not CJ407... LoL

tragic_magic
05-09-2009, 08:50 PM
Are you talking to me? I am not CJ407... LoL

naw CJ knows that was for him...LOL
sorry for the confusion retro ;)

RetroAudioinc
05-09-2009, 10:54 PM
n/p ;)

cj407
05-10-2009, 12:36 AM
tragic that he has no numbers and only uses winisd...which people have proven to be wrong.

Pioneer~Saturn
05-10-2009, 02:44 AM
i would say 5.5 net would be just fine tuned to 38 hz...

For someone ripping on people for 'not helping out' you sure give some crappy advice...if he had more power I may suggest that airspace..

Granted an enclosure with these specs (with a port area of decent size) would get 'loud'/make noise...it definitely wouldnt get the most out of the sub using little power...I would suggest going larger on the airspace because of the lower power you're giving it.

Lakota
05-10-2009, 03:16 AM
I'd run over 3kW to it. Those spiders on the 18's are really stiff.

Fosgate1
05-10-2009, 08:24 AM
okay now will having the box built where my back seat is hurt the sound? have a very small car!

tragic_magic
05-10-2009, 11:24 AM
i guess i know nothing about hdc3 18's in huge boxes on low power (2400 rms)
http://i623.photobucket.com/albums/tt312/its_loud/100_3338.jpg
http://i623.photobucket.com/albums/tt312/its_loud/100_3336.jpg
http://i623.photobucket.com/albums/tt312/its_loud/100_3334.jpg
http://i623.photobucket.com/albums/tt312/its_loud/100_3335.jpg

thats 22cf @ 41hz

jamesw
05-10-2009, 11:25 AM
I vote that you post some vids up..

jamesw
05-10-2009, 11:26 AM
Looks like it could cause a hurricane in that van

tragic_magic
05-10-2009, 12:05 PM
ill try to get a vid today when i get finished deadening the roof.

jamesw
05-10-2009, 12:07 PM
:)

siucsaluki11
05-10-2009, 04:20 PM
32-34hz you'll be fine with coppers on the 3500. Should sound great if you can really do 160 sq in of port (displaces 3.5 cubes at 34hz :laugh:).

Ive done the math, i can really do 160 in^2. It threw me off at first, i didnt realize how big the port volume would be, then i thought about it and was like, yeah...i can see that...Im just not sure how im going to design the box yet. I saw a box on SMD for 2 18s that the guy had a slot port with a divider down the middle the whole way, i may have to ask him about that.

mcsoul
05-11-2009, 06:08 PM
Ive done the math, i can really do 160 in^2. It threw me off at first, i didnt realize how big the port volume would be, then i thought about it and was like, yeah...i can see that...Im just not sure how im going to design the box yet. I saw a box on SMD for 2 18s that the guy had a slot port with a divider down the middle the whole way, i may have to ask him about that.

Using three 6" tubes would save displacement. They would each need to be 15" deep and displace less than 1 cube. But you need to take into account more that just that. The tube needs to breath outside the box and inside, so you want it more that 6" from the interior box wall and more that 6" from the tailgate; not only that but you need room to play with the distance from the tailgate, as 6" may not be the optimal distance.