PDA

View Full Version : Old Box.. How do I find out what it's tuned at?



juukno
05-08-2009, 04:35 PM
I have been using this sealed box for my 2 eho152's and i am beginning to wonder if it is out of tune due to the recent problems i have been having. i calculated that the box is 3.8 cu feet each seperated (7.6 cu combined) not calculating in driver displacement.

How do I find out what it's tuned to? And, is this box too bog/small for these subs? It seems like they are bottoming out at 60-75%.

Toone
05-08-2009, 04:38 PM
You cant tune a sealed box :fyi:

jdawg
05-08-2009, 04:41 PM
sealed boxes dont have a tune

marcotheclepto
05-08-2009, 04:42 PM
... sealed boxes dont get tuned, by sealed you mean no port(hole) in it?

PatFitz9
05-08-2009, 04:45 PM
I calculated it out, it's a bit high at 43.6 hz.

gotparts90
05-08-2009, 04:47 PM
If you think it is to big make some little sealed boxes to put inside them. Even some boards just to take up some airspace.

juukno
05-08-2009, 09:31 PM
haha didn't know about that.. would this cause them to bottom out and crack spiders/dust caps though??

skmfkr
05-08-2009, 09:49 PM
yeah if they are 3.8net sealed thats pretty big for a 15.

ThatChevyGuy
05-08-2009, 09:51 PM
Sealed boxes CAN be tuned. The reason they are bottoming is the large enclosure, 7+ cubes sealed is rediculous for 2 12's, thus mechanical limits are reached at lower power than rated Pe.

fuckin' noobs.

thevic24
05-08-2009, 09:59 PM
Sealed boxes CAN be tuned. The reason they are bottoming is the large enclosure, 7+ cubes sealed is rediculous for 2 12's, thus mechanical limits are reached at lower power than rated Pe.

fuckin' noobs.

^^^this
the larger you make a sealed box for a given sub,(in general) you will loose power handling and the sub will have a lower overall responce.
the smaller you make it, the more power it will take/use and will have a higher roll-off.

you can "tune" a smaller than normal sealed box by usning polyfil to stuff in the box. it helps make the sub act as if it were in a larger bax then it is in.

juukno
05-08-2009, 10:08 PM
good info bro.. i was figuring that the box had a major role.. it came with the subs so i decided to roll with it.. time to get-a-cuttin' ;)

how do you set your amp gain with a dmm by the way?

juukno
05-08-2009, 11:41 PM
figured it out