PDA

View Full Version : Free CAD Programs?



siucsaluki11
05-07-2009, 12:31 PM
Ok, so the current computer im on is XP i believe, when i get my laptop back it should have vista, again :verymad:, but this time i think it may be the 64 bit version,:veryhapp:, Im working on designing a new box, and dont know what program to use. I already have the dimensions and everything, just need to draw it out, and not by hand. The box is going to be for 2 AQ HDC318 subs in a 2000 blazer 4dr. It will not be below the window line, BUT, it will only be a bit over, AND ill get to keep my rear seats, if this all works out right. The outerdimmensions of the box are 38x35x21. I got 38 between the wheel wells, 36 between the rear seats and back hatch, and couldnt keep it below the window line, 21 was the lowest i could go. The port will be 8x19.5 and about 39-41" long, so the box will be tuned around 28HZ with 156 in^2 of port opening. I will have subs and port up, box will actually be 21.75" tall since ill be going 2x baffle. Box will have a fair amount of bracing, may build it a bit taller so i can add more. But ya, so far, this is what ive got, any advice?

Enellz
05-07-2009, 01:11 PM
I love being a civil drafter so I have almost every CAD program.;). However free isnt a four letter word that applies to CAD, unless you want a cheap one.

jco1385
05-07-2009, 01:12 PM
i got autocad 09 free

:sneaky:

Enellz
05-07-2009, 01:17 PM
i got autocad 09 free

:sneaky:

Me too, but and Im not telling. WAHHAHAHAHAHA!

da box king
05-07-2009, 01:22 PM
i got autocad 09 free

:sneaky:

can I haz too?;)

da box king
05-07-2009, 01:24 PM
and btw, you will not fit 2 18's in those dimensions...and go ahead and tune to 28 hz, but the subs will not like them hahaha

tuned between 35-40 for daily....I love my 35 hz tuning, better than my old 38

jco1385
05-07-2009, 01:25 PM
can I haz too?;)

for a fee ;)

wu501
05-07-2009, 01:27 PM
i got autocad 09 free

:sneaky:

I got 2010..haha

jco1385
05-07-2009, 01:28 PM
:crap:

i haven't even installed mine yet. i just got the .iso and burned it to a disk the other day.

blackbonnie
05-07-2009, 01:28 PM
for a fee ;)

of?

jco1385
05-07-2009, 01:31 PM
1 million dollars!!!! (dr evil voice w/ pinky to mouth)

;)

Enellz
05-07-2009, 01:31 PM
of?

for a fee of....

http://blog.lib.umn.edu/maasx003/Vikings/images/drevil.jpg

jco1385
05-07-2009, 01:33 PM
yes!

http://www.affordablehousinginstitute.org/blogs/us/dr_evil_one_million_dollars.jpg

SicAudio
05-07-2009, 01:40 PM
google sketch up is free but i never liked it much. I just give my brother dimensions and he uses his solidworks at work for me lolz.

da box king
05-07-2009, 01:43 PM
for a fee ;)

lmk..pm me;) I'm broke, but pocket change:crap:

siucsaluki11
05-07-2009, 01:59 PM
I used to have acces to Pro E, i miss that program, it was a good one. So you say tune higher? Would they like 10 cubes at 35? I have my 2 12s in a 5 cube box at 30 hz and they hit the lows so much better than at 35. I havent gotten to play with WinISD or BBP6 yet since my comp died and i sent it in for warranty, hoping to get my new laptop back today or tomorrow, and ill re-install all my old ****. Had the .iso for 3 diff cad programs i think. I think Pro E and vista dont like eachother if i remember correctly.

Anyway, let me play with the design a bit more so i can get the tuning right and all.

EDIT: What is a good frequency to tune a box of 12 cubes for 2 18" HDC3s?

7ender
06-07-2009, 07:13 AM
hdc3's definetely won't like that 28hz tuning. I'd say 35 is good as well.

7ender
06-07-2009, 07:14 AM
ahh crap, my bad. Old thread bump :(