PDA

View Full Version : Will my amp see a 2 ohm load?



yupitsabuick
05-04-2009, 02:05 PM
I am going to run 2 sets of Polk Momo MM6 comps off of a 2 channel amp, each speaker is 4 ohms, so each channel of my amp will see 2 ohms right? Or does the crossover do something wierd to make my amp see 4 ohms?

jco1385
05-04-2009, 02:12 PM
the old school MM6's? sell me a set

:sneaky:

each set is 4 ohms. are you running both sets of crossovers?

http://www.polkaudio.com/caraudio/specs/recent/mm6/

okiedokie
05-04-2009, 08:32 PM
your amp will see 4ohms, if your comps where 2ohms then it will see a 2ohm load

loudmofo
05-04-2009, 08:35 PM
if your using 2 4ohm speakers then yes it will see 2ohm a ch

okiedokie
05-04-2009, 08:50 PM
^^^^what??????

loudmofo
05-04-2009, 08:54 PM
he said he was using 2 sets of speakers (4ohm each ) on a 2 ch that will give him a 2ohm load each ch

yupitsabuick
05-05-2009, 01:30 PM
Here is what I will be doing, on each side of the car will be 1 tweet and 1 mid, plugged into 1 crossover. thats 2 tweets, 2 mids, and 2 crossovers. the left channel of my amp will go to 1 crossover, which goes to 1 tweet and 1 mid, same with the right channel. What I want to know is if each individual speaker is 4 ohms, my amp will run at 2 ohms right? I just want to make sure that my amp will see 2 ohms, because my amp does 160x2 at 2 ohms, but it only does 80x2 at 4 ohms, and I would need something better if it saw 4 ohms.

yupitsabuick
05-05-2009, 01:47 PM
Ahh I found the answer:


No. Since you would wire one "pair" (crossover, tweeter and mid) to each channel, each channel would be running at a 4ohm load. The only time the final impedence changes is when you are actually wiring the speakers together (either in series or in parallel). Since you aren't doing that with comp sets, each channel will simply "see" the impedence of the speakers connected directly to it.

Bummer, looks like I'll need something that does 150x2 @ 4 ohms.

SicAudio
05-05-2009, 01:52 PM
if they are bi amp capable then bi amp them and get 2 ohms. ask t3 to make sure

yupitsabuick
05-05-2009, 01:56 PM
Do you mean get two mono amps that do 150 watts at 4 ohms, one amp for each door?

edit: wait thats not what you mean, hang on i'll look up bi-amping.