PDA

View Full Version : A little help please.



siucsaluki11
05-04-2009, 01:26 AM
So im new to this forum. Alot of the guys at the show in Alsip, IL today said they liked this forum so I figured I would give it a shot. A few guys pointed out that my port is way too skinny. The box is 5 cubes tuned to 30 Hz. I know i dont have nearly 80 in^2 (16*5). So i guess before long im going to have to build a new box...again...current one is only a few months, actually, not even 2 full months, old. So if i do another box at 5 cubes tuned to 30 Hz with 80 in^2 of port area, how deep does the port need to go? Also, for my 2 12" clarions do you think that box is a bit big? I built it to where i got the flattest response curve without losing my entire cargo area (figured ill enjoy it till i go with 15s or 18s.

mlstrass
05-04-2009, 02:01 AM
You only need around 12^2 per cube for those subs. And probably 4cubes net at the most. Too tired to figure out the port length right now as it was a long ride home after the show. I had the black Altima parked next to you...

siucsaluki11
05-04-2009, 09:52 AM
ah, thanks for the demo, that altima is nice. Gotta love the fuzzy box and amp rack too!!!

siucsaluki11
05-04-2009, 09:54 AM
For the record, my old box was 4.4 cubes (not after displacement) with 2 4" "areo ports" (4" I.D. pvc pipe) tuned around 35 Hz. This one seems to hit louder and lower than the old box i had.

siucsaluki11
05-04-2009, 04:31 PM
So is there a formula for figuring out port lenght given the vol of the box and the area of the port? If i had that i could just figure the rest out myself

SicAudio
05-04-2009, 05:24 PM
http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp
right there :)

siucsaluki11
05-04-2009, 05:29 PM
thanks, forgot to check there, lol