PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know what can help me



Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 10:01 AM
I cant for the life of me see why i bottoming out so bad. I mean i know if i playing hard and it drops i run the risk but i mean at low volumes i still feel like it is bottoming out :confused: I am tuned to 35htz Can i only play higher bass notes ? Its a btl fl on a t2000bd and gain is set about half way Please help me out do i need to retune this thing ??

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 10:15 AM
^^^^^^^^^up

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 10:22 AM
up again

blackdragonaudi
05-02-2009, 10:24 AM
What power wire have you ran and have you upgraded your alt?

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 10:25 AM
I have 1/0 weld wire and i have a 200 amp alt which i am told is at idle but i am going to have it tested

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 10:28 AM
i am desperate i need some lows i mean i dont expect it to slam at 20htz but **** thought it would do better than this

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 11:17 AM
up any help guys ?

DBBOOM
05-02-2009, 11:22 AM
Close off some of the port a little at a time until it tunes lower.

cj407
05-02-2009, 11:22 AM
could be that the box is too big...whats the size of the box...

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 11:23 AM
it is four 4in pvc pipe ports so do i just cover one at a time til it sounds better at low notes??

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 11:23 AM
5 cubes before the sub so like 4.7 or 4.5 around there are ports and sub

DBBOOM
05-02-2009, 11:24 AM
it is four 4in pvc pipe ports so do i just cover one at a time til it sounds better at low notes??

Good place to start.

Also, if they are PVC ports, you could swap them out for longer ones.

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 11:26 AM
Thats what i was thinking but would i lose the higher notes if i do this cuz i mean i still like for it to hit hard too just dont wanna bottom it out when its up and then theres a drop in the song

snb778
05-02-2009, 11:37 AM
try changing your LPF??

SicAudio
05-02-2009, 12:30 PM
when a sub bottoms out at low volumes its usually tuned wrong or the box is too big for the tuning, either way it comes to tuning. the lower you tune it the less high end you will get as well.
how positive are you on the tuning?

SicAudio
05-02-2009, 12:32 PM
I have 1/0 weld wire and i have a 200 amp alt which i am told is at idle but i am going to have it tested

I doubt it puts out 200 at idle. if its a 200 amp alt maybe 100-125 at idle. which is way more than enough for that amp.

snb778
05-02-2009, 12:40 PM
I doubt it puts out 200 at idle. if its a 200 amp alt maybe 100-125 at idle. which is way more than enough for that amp.

what are you talking about?? most HO alts put out their max at idle

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 01:01 PM
I am pretty sure its 35 htz but i thinking about just paying someone to build me a better box

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 01:02 PM
i got the calculations from pvp.com or whatever that flared port website is called

SicAudio
05-02-2009, 01:17 PM
what are you talking about?? most HO alts put out their max at idle

oh really? tell these guys and all the rest that:
http://www.mechman.com/alt.htm
the amperage changes as the rpm's increase. a 200 amp ho alternator does exactly what I said it does.

SicAudio
05-02-2009, 01:18 PM
have tried plugging the info into winisd? just to double check it.

snb778
05-02-2009, 01:26 PM
then don't buy mechman alts... someone please chime in on this

SicAudio
05-02-2009, 01:38 PM
excessive amperage alternators put out 200 at idle and 215 at high rpm they achieve this as a marketing gimmick by using a smaller pulley is all. his alternators wear out faster because they are spinning faster all the time. it is called underdriving. call ohio generator they are the best you can buy.

mendon mafia
05-02-2009, 01:39 PM
im guess its a 15 judging by the box size right?

if so then im stumped. 5 cubes 35hz and 3k should be good for a fully loaded 15" btl. box my be a bit big but you shouldn't be having that bad of bottoming out issues if any.

snb778
05-02-2009, 01:47 PM
gonna pay 500+ for any alt. from ohio... no thanks

SicAudio
05-02-2009, 01:56 PM
i wasnt saying call them to buy 1 lolz i dont buy theirs either i use db or iraggi.
I was saying call them or any other company and ask how they work.

as far as the box, i put it in BassBoxPro based on ur dimensions and it should be fine but it is a tad big.
i dont think it is tuned right.

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 03:39 PM
heres the size of my box can someone run it through and make sure this is right each port is cut to 5 in 43x17x12 is the measurements from out box

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 03:46 PM
up

mr.michael
05-02-2009, 03:47 PM
what are you talking about?? most HO alts put out their max at idle

negative ghostrider

i made a thread about these alts anyone ever heard of them, they are for ford powerstrokes heres the alts http://www.nationsautoelectric.com/tad.html , and heres my thread http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=402507

SicAudio
05-02-2009, 03:52 PM
negative ghostrider

I already put it straight in pm's. he was just misinformed is all. not his fault.

SicAudio
05-02-2009, 03:53 PM
negative ghostrider

i made a thread about these alts anyone ever heard of them, they are for ford powerstrokes heres the alts http://www.nationsautoelectric.com/tad.html , and heres my thread http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=402507

I would check db electric they are well known and very reliable.

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 03:54 PM
I promise i not being lazy i cant find a box building program for my mac lol

Random1010
05-02-2009, 03:57 PM
I promise i not being lazy i cant find a box building program for my mac lol

They don't exist. Try using a program that allows you to run windows programs on your mac, then download WinISD

SicAudio
05-02-2009, 03:59 PM
x's 2 :)

Varinabassing
05-02-2009, 04:01 PM
i sooooooo pissed i just ran the numbers through and my buddy is a complete idiot the box is 3.9 before displacement and i guessing about 3.5 after so i got to take the pipes out and cut some new ones i tuned to about 44htz right now which i realize is why i sound like **** at low notes Ha i could kill him right now

SicAudio
05-02-2009, 04:21 PM
glad you got it right :) i knew it was a tuning issue lolz.