PDA

View Full Version : 2 Din in a Ranger?



bunkerking09
04-30-2009, 11:25 PM
Can it be done? Cardomain says yes, crutchfield says no...

Morte
04-30-2009, 11:30 PM
It can be done, it just requires some trimming of the dash to make it fit. Not difficult at all

dumple
04-30-2009, 11:30 PM
is it a doube din slot lol

bunkerking09
04-30-2009, 11:32 PM
is it a doube din slot lol

well, technically its big enough, but the aftermarket bracket that i have only has enough room for a single din....

http://i467.photobucket.com/albums/rr39/evilpoptartmb/1490ba30.jpg

Brian_smith06
04-30-2009, 11:34 PM
may have to fabricate a bracket for it. im currently thinking about doing this to my car too. not sure if it'll be worth the work for me but yours shouldnt be too difficult

adas
04-30-2009, 11:35 PM
It can be done, it just requires some trimming of the dash to make it fit. Not difficult at all
werd. been wanting to do it in my sport trac, just a toss up between that or add an eq to the 1/2 din

dumple
04-30-2009, 11:35 PM
is that din and a half? or double din i cant tell

Morte
04-30-2009, 11:35 PM
I used this kit along with a dremel to make my double din unit fit

http://www.metraonline.com/products.aspx?s=95-5817

bunkerking09
04-30-2009, 11:36 PM
the top part is all a Cd player, then underneath is a smaller compartment for some oher stuff, cd's, wallet, etc.

I think i could take a dremel to it and make it big enough, i jsut don't want there to be "slop"

BoxdGM
04-30-2009, 11:45 PM
you just have to dremel the opening out, it took 10 mins then get the double din kit to mount it in. id show pics of mine but im at work and cant link em from my phone. its considered a 1.8 din in a ranger from what ive read

Flipx99
05-04-2009, 02:31 PM
Good question...thanks for all the responses.

97srad750
05-04-2009, 04:44 PM
It's very easy to do with a dremel tool.

BoxdGM
05-04-2009, 04:47 PM
http://i452.photobucket.com/albums/qq244/Boxdgm/SSPX0027.jpg heres mine installed

dennit469
05-04-2009, 04:50 PM
it would work better than a flip out, my flip out covers the air vents and gets in the way, i have an explorer but there the same dash

97srad750
05-04-2009, 06:43 PM
Same for F150s and Expeditions also. I'd imagine a lot of ford are like this.