PDA

View Full Version : I'm stuck : Enclosure Design for Illusion Audio IM-12



frankmehta
04-29-2009, 01:14 PM
I have 2 Illusion Audio Im-12 Shallow Mount Subwoofers which i want to install in my Suzuki notchback.
Here's how one of them looks in the car:


http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i50/frankmehta/MY%20ICE/frankesteem23.jpg

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i50/frankmehta/MY%20ICE/frankesteem24.jpg


I intend to mount the second one in the boot. But my concern is any lack of documentation with the subwoofer, thus not allowing me to have an idea about the exact specs & dimensions of the enclosure it needs.
the present enclosure measures about 1.5 cu. ft. and i really don't know if i should mount the second sub on the same enclosure with an mdf partition to provide each sub with their air space. (hence alloting them .75 cuft. each: is that enough?)

the boot measures about 350 Litres, if you need that kind of data.
I dont need the subs to go loud. I just want the bass to be tight and musical, without sounding muddy or muffled, or having that boomy nature.
my system is tuned for SQ. i like it that way.

These are my requirements. Can someone help me design an enclosure accommodating the 2 subwoofers? a modification to the present one seen in the picture will be preferred.
Cheers in advance!

SicAudio
04-29-2009, 01:18 PM
you are better off (if the single sub sounds good to you now) just adding the second sub to the current box and see how it sounds (shared space designs are awesome)

frankmehta
04-29-2009, 01:19 PM
can you throw some light on shared space designs? i mean wont the 2 subs need their own space?????

and wont the two subs bottom out from lack of air due to the minimal volume of the enclosure?
wont it lead to a 'confused' sort of bass?

JimJ
04-29-2009, 01:20 PM
Mount the second sub on the opposite side, and mount the amps in the spare tire well or build a false floor and flush the amps into it?

frankmehta
04-29-2009, 04:58 PM
but as per this link
http://www.carstereo.com/help/Articles.cfm?id=26
the subs need atleast 3.7 cu. ft. this is bad news, since i have an enclosure that measures just 1.5 cu.ft. i cant possible place 2 subs in that enclosure, can i?