PDA

View Full Version : Trial box design

sackamous
04-28-2009, 10:59 PM
Ok i started playing with google sketch to design a box tonight. Does this look pretty good for under the back seat of my truck. The subs call for .75 cubes and take up .18 so I over shot it a hair at .97 per sub. All they have in town is 5/8 mdf will this be good. Its the reason my measurements are -1.25 for the sides instead of -1.5. Thanks for any input guys.

schrummy
04-28-2009, 11:49 PM
i dont know........ i think you are going to run into some problems when you try to cut the holes...... you will have to do some very accurate cuts. but other than that look good.

gotparts90
04-29-2009, 01:55 AM
are the subs going to stick out over the edges?

sackamous
04-29-2009, 05:52 AM
No they aren't spouse to hang off they are like 12.38 inches on the out side. They should end like a quarter inch away from each other side to side and almost perfectly to the end of the box. When it comes time to cut the holes I plan on taking them out and setting them on the face where I want um. Then I can outline the sub it self then I can center my cut pattern from there. They will be super close to the edges and and touching in between um, but I think I can pull it off like that.

sackamous
04-29-2009, 05:58 AM
I also planned on cutting the holes in the face before attaching it to the two big boxes that way if I mess up I dont have to start completely over just cut out a new face. Its going to be a little tricky to do for a first box, but should be fun. Quick question Do I have to clamp It together while the glue dries or can I screw it to hold it while the glue dries. I don't have any really big clamps, or small clamps for that matter. Would rather not have to by any either.

drpeeb
04-29-2009, 11:54 AM