PDA

View Full Version : good box for home theatre?



tommyk90
09-18-2003, 09:48 PM
Since i finally got my new sub and amp, i wanna use my old subs for my dorm. What is a good box size and port frequency for a home theatre setup?

Woodmister
09-18-2003, 09:51 PM
What subs? And do you have some xtra money for a plate amp? www.partsexpress.com

tommyk90
09-18-2003, 09:57 PM
What subs? And do you have some xtra money for a plate amp? www.partsexpress.com

No plate amp, gonna run off a home amp. The subs are my beat up MTX 4000's. I can run them in series and get 8 ohms so they are compatible with home amps.

tommyk90
09-18-2003, 10:48 PM
4.25 ft^3 tuned to 20 Hz with 20+ square inches of port area ?

****, that's a monster *** box. Especially for 2 crappy little 10's. I'll figure something out, either i'll make a box for em and see if it works, or i'll just sell them.

Heresy
09-18-2003, 10:51 PM
****, that's a monster *** box. Especially for 2 crappy little 10's. I'll figure something out, either i'll make a box for em and see if it works, or i'll just sell them.

I'm running 2 Shivas each in seperate 5ft³ enclosures tuned to 16Hz... Put a board between them and you have a desk. Welcome to college. :thumbs_up

tommyk90
09-18-2003, 11:02 PM
4.25 ft^3 tuned to 20 Hz with 20+ square inches of port area ?

Think you can mock up a box for me? It can only be 14" tall and 14" deep. What are the rest of the specs? Length, port length/width/height? Is it possible to use my 3" PVC i have laying around?

tommyk90
09-19-2003, 12:39 AM
Thanks Jmac, that looks like a ***** to build though. :-(

D*mn, i just remembered, i have a sheet of 5/8" particle board, can i use that or should i stick with 3/4" MDF?

tommyk90
09-19-2003, 01:15 AM
Much better. Thank you. This should be pretty **** loud, especially for a 14x14 dorm.