PDA

View Full Version : Numbers are weird or I'm retarded.

soldiermedic
04-26-2009, 12:02 AM
Win ISD gave me some numbers on a ported box, but I don't understand how the port length is so high...got a vent length of 102.62 in. How does that work? I'm new at this...How do I read this?

gotparts90
04-26-2009, 12:07 AM
what size port? 12 inch? change the port size see what happens

thegreatestpenn
04-26-2009, 12:11 AM
you must've used the wrong units somewhere. recheck your units of measurement

soldiermedic
04-26-2009, 12:15 AM
Port is 3 inch by 11.5 inch. When I decrease the vent diameter, the required port length decreases, which makes no sense to me...unless I am reading things wrong.

soldiermedic
04-26-2009, 12:38 AM
I redid the port measurements...the original ones were the speaker manufacturers specs. A little editing, I got .7 cubic ft box, 1.5x12" port with 53.83 inches in length. Why is it when I make the port narrower, the length gets shorter?

lilmaniac2
04-26-2009, 12:40 AM
because the lower sq in of port area, the shorter port you need for the same tuning, its basic box design

ps a .7 cubic ft PORTED box is tiny, i hope its for an 8 or somethin, and even then thats too small

soldiermedic
04-26-2009, 12:49 AM
It's for a 10, but I am looking to create a flatter response. when I increase the box size, I get a huge discrepancy with a difference of 6 db's both ways at whatever frequency I set it at. But when I decreased the size of the box, I got the balance back. I know this makes the box abnormally small for a ported box, but I am willing to risk it unless someone can talk me out of it.

lilmaniac2
04-26-2009, 12:50 AM
P.S. winISD models never EVER duplicate real world results in a vehicle

DNick454
04-26-2009, 12:54 AM