PDA

View Full Version : Alpine X100/X200 and iPod cable question.



Yalbit
04-25-2009, 07:26 AM
Hey guys,

I’ve just had a new system installed and I had a quick question about connectivity with my iPod touch (2nd generation). I’m getting an Alpine iDA-X100 installed next week but in the meantime the dealer installed a used Alpine iDA-X200 to use while I wait.

When I connect my iPod it displays a message saying that “recharging” is not available. Is this because of the older model Alpine unit (ida-x200) or is it because of the iPod cable used? I’m unsure if the dealer has used the standard iPod to usb cable or an “Alpine full speed” (KCE-422i) cable.

Also, if I use an “Alpine full speed” (KCE-422i) cable with my Alpine iDA-X100 can I navigate and select tracks on the iPod its self and not the head unit?

Thanks for any help!

iwearpro
04-25-2009, 08:52 AM
mine works with the alpine cable it came with my 200..Ive never had it show that message before.. I dont now

Yalbit
04-25-2009, 09:16 AM
Well I did a little more browsing and apparently Apple changed something with the second generation iPod Touch and it can't be charged regardless of what cord you use.

And from what I could find out the KCE-422i ("alpine full speed") cable is not as good as the USB cord (and ipod adapter) that comes with the head unit anyway.

If anyone can confirm those details I would appreciate it.

nineball
04-25-2009, 10:16 AM
that is correct. same thing applies to the iphone 3g.