PDA

View Full Version : high powered plate amps



adio
04-22-2009, 11:41 PM
awwww wtF?!??!!?? wheres my 1st post!?!? hahahahahahahahah, oh well.

what i said was sunfire, jl audio and other companies have high powered plate amplfiers. is there a way we can get our hands on plate amps that run from 1000 - 2400 watts??

adio
04-22-2009, 11:42 PM
oh there it is. hahaahahaha!!

Supergumby5000
04-22-2009, 11:43 PM
wat

Side Show
04-22-2009, 11:43 PM
shrugs* not sure hey, interested but

Supergumby5000
04-22-2009, 11:45 PM
shrugs* not sure hey, interested but

WAT?


is this the "lets all post things that done make sense" thread?



adio, what are you trying to say? JL plate amps?

tommyk90
04-22-2009, 11:46 PM
partsexpress has a 1000 watt plate amp, that's the biggest I've seen.

adio
04-23-2009, 12:06 AM
i've heard that it puts out less than rated power. i could be wrong though. i'm going thru the thread over at avs to find something on it.

adio
04-23-2009, 12:24 AM
WAT?


is this the "lets all post things that done make sense" thread?



adio, what are you trying to say? JL plate amps?

yes my speacial friend SG5k, jl audio plate amps, sunfire plate amps and others.

IDSkoT
04-23-2009, 12:27 AM
You should look into rack-amps. They do a lot of power. They're supposed to be for studios and the like.

Stephen_c
04-23-2009, 12:30 AM
http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=14e_1240073298

adio
04-23-2009, 12:56 AM
oh yeah, thats it...........

adio
04-23-2009, 12:57 AM
You should look into rack-amps. They do a lot of power. They're supposed to be for studios and the like.

thanks. which would you recommend?

1. ur hawk is gettin long as fuq
2. start usin rogaine; i see ur corners inchin up

IDSkoT
04-23-2009, 01:09 AM
thanks. which would you recommend?

1. ur hawk is gettin long as fuq
2. start usin rogaine; i see ur corners inchin up

-shrug- Do your own **** research

And those corners have been there my whole life. I came out of the womb like that, G.

adio
04-23-2009, 01:30 AM
-shrug- Do your own **** research

And those corners have been there my whole life. I came out of the womb like that, G.

:(

:laugh:

KyleBechtold
04-23-2009, 01:35 AM
wtf you gunna run a btl in your house?

adio
04-23-2009, 01:51 AM
wtf you gunna run a btl in your house?

na!! i was thinking of a 18 sealed, i was also reading of FI possibly making a 22" sub over at avs and hometheatershack

andrewmoore13
04-23-2009, 01:56 AM
Just get a couple computer power supplies and wire the yellow and black wires to the positive and negative terminals on a car audio amp.

Much cheaper IMO.

adio
04-23-2009, 02:00 AM
Just get a couple computer power supplies and wire the yellow and black wires to the positive and negative terminals on a car audio amp.

Much cheaper IMO.

more info??:)

DidUHearThat?
04-23-2009, 03:21 AM
Crown XTI amps

Clean, under rated. Full DSP processing including bass managment, eq, limiting and crossover control. Computer USB programable/controllable.


1400 watts @ 4 ohms (mono brideged)
$339

http://www.audiolines.com/product.php?productid=17231


2000 watts @4ohms

$500

http://www.audiolines.com/product.php?productid=17231


3200 watts @ 4 ohms
$800

http://www.audiolines.com/product.php?productid=16283&cat=1023&page=4

Pop da Hatch
04-23-2009, 03:25 AM
^^ Word ^^

bball09124
04-23-2009, 03:30 AM
Just get a couple computer power supplies and wire the yellow and black wires to the positive and negative terminals on a car audio amp.

Much cheaper IMO.

Much ghetto-er too.

Just buy some Behringer EP-2500s and call it a day.

DidUHearThat?
04-23-2009, 03:30 AM
Crown IT series.


8000 watts

$2999

http://www.audiolines.com/product.php?productid=21647&cat=1023&page=4


Crown MA1200

6,000 watts per channel, dual 2 ohm (12,000 watts total)

$6,855
http://www.audiolines.com/product.php?productid=22500&cat=1023&page=11

adio
04-23-2009, 03:32 PM
Crown XTI amps

Clean, under rated. Full DSP processing including bass managment, eq, limiting and crossover control. Computer USB programable/controllable.


1400 watts @ 4 ohms (mono brideged)
$339

http://www.audiolines.com/product.php?productid=17231


2000 watts @4ohms

$500

http://www.audiolines.com/product.php?productid=17231


3200 watts @ 4 ohms
$800

http://www.audiolines.com/product.php?productid=16283&cat=1023&page=4

do these have a high pass filter on them?

JrVtecAccord
04-23-2009, 03:41 PM
The Crown's are nice, I've run QSC amps in my HT which I liked. The only thing I hated running 4 QSC rack amps was that they produced a lot of heat. Amps with a 50" plasma equals extra cooling in media room.

andrewmoore13
04-23-2009, 03:44 PM
more info??:)

All you need is a couple computer Power Supplies. Cut the funky colored wires. You have to connect a green one to a ground... (i think its green) this makes it think it's connected to a mother board.

After you do that all you do is match the yellow to + and the black to -.

For the remote just put a wire from the positive to the remote on terminal.

I did that for a HT setup I had running. Had a JBL GTO 752 and a JBL PX600.2 running a set of comps and a TREO TSX 12.22. Thing was FAWKING loud.

andrewmoore13
04-23-2009, 03:47 PM
Much ghetto-er too.

Just buy some Behringer EP-2500s and call it a day.

Sorry for double post, but its not ghetto if you build a little amp rack to display the amp. And then a couple boxes for the comps. Check my little system.

http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/2206/compsze3.jpg
By andrewmoore13 (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/andrewmoore13) at 2008-10-06

http://img382.imageshack.us/img382/9273/treo1222.jpg
By andrewmoore13 (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/andrewmoore13) at 2009-04-14

Thing bumped loud as hell. Off only 2 power supplies. 1 per amp.
Also had it running off a 9887 for awhile.

Going for a X001 for a HU this time around. Gonna build a box for the HU, amps and PSU's this summer. Its gonna look pretty ****.

DidUHearThat?
04-23-2009, 05:25 PM
do these have a high pass filter on them?

"Full DSP processing including bass managment, eq, limiting and crossover control. Computer USB programable/controllable."

AVSTANG02
04-23-2009, 05:27 PM
2400 watt plate amp with Highpass!?

you're going to be deaf by the end of the week.

DidUHearThat?
04-23-2009, 06:00 PM
Sorry for double post, but its not ghetto if you build a little amp rack to display the amp. And then a couple boxes for the comps. Check my little system.


Thing bumped loud as hell. Off only 2 power supplies. 1 per amp.
Also had it running off a 9887 for awhile.

Going for a X001 for a HU this time around. Gonna build a box for the HU, amps and PSU's this summer. Its gonna look pretty ****.



If by "****" you mean ghetto, then yes. Very ghetto.

andrewmoore13
04-23-2009, 11:19 PM
If by "****" you mean ghetto, then yes. Very ghetto.

I don't think my HT looks bad by any means. I actually get a lot of compliments from people when they came over for parties.

Savag3
05-03-2009, 01:37 PM
wtf you gunna run a btl in your house?

*** yea a HW 15 , nah i need a high powered plate amp too but i think im gonna do the rack amp thing cuz all i can find is the parts express 1000w and i unno looks kina cheap

adio
05-03-2009, 02:29 PM
2400 watt plate amp with Highpass!?

you're going to be deaf by the end of the week.

if ur highpassed at 15 -19hz, how?

adio
05-03-2009, 02:31 PM
*** yea a HW 15 , nah i need a high powered plate amp too but i think im gonna do the rack amp thing cuz all i can find is the parts express 1000w and i unno looks kina cheap

don't get that rack amp from parts express. it won't do 1000watts

hayden
05-12-2009, 12:44 AM
Keiga or eD plate amps. They have 600 watt and 1300 watt models. If you have to go with plate amps these are the ones to get. I've used them and they compare very well with my high power pro amps.

JP

Linkz
05-12-2009, 12:53 AM
You could try an Behringer Europower EP2500 or an Crown Xti amp. Ebay has some decent prices for them.

IDSkoT
05-12-2009, 12:59 AM
if ur highpassed at 15 -19hz, how?

Uhh... why would you your sub playing frequencies over 150+ hz?

adio
05-12-2009, 01:24 AM
Uhh... why would you your sub playing frequencies over 150+ hz?

cause:crap:

gotparts90
05-12-2009, 01:27 AM
stay away from beringer, buttkicker and other cheapies. crown and qsc are your best bets that I know of. Plate amps are ok but a rack amp is pro. amp as for computer power supplies? think if one crokes and you lose power on it then your amps run out of juice and can die.