PDA

View Full Version : Box help for 2 Dc 12's



on1wheel01
04-16-2009, 04:29 PM
Well I am probably gonna pick up 2 DC sound level 3 12's. Just wondering what would be a good tuning for these daily. They recommend 28 but I figure thats to low. My box is gonna be 33 wide 16.5 tall and 18 deep. Which is 3.5 cubes, my ? is should I make the port 3" wide and tuned 31.1, 3.5" wide and tuned to 33.8, 4" and have it tuned to 36.4, or last 4.5 and tuned to 39(which i think would be to high). This would be for daily use, just wanting to slam really hard. My thoughts are 3.5" at 33.8, just wanted others thoughts.......... Sorry for another tuning thread

DonH
04-16-2009, 04:37 PM
i take it your thinking 3" wide by 15" tall.... not enough for thoze subs! 4.5x15 would get my vote due to more port area also why you thinking you can only get 39hz?? tune it lower!!

on1wheel01
04-16-2009, 04:45 PM
Well i am using the re calc and with 33 16.5 18 18 and 4.5 as port width it says its 39. Not sure what I could do to tune it lower any ideas?

DonH
04-16-2009, 04:48 PM
well change the port piece number 2 :fyi:

put it to 18 inches and you get 36.6 hz by their calculation and 3 cubes

on1wheel01
04-16-2009, 04:48 PM
now another prob it says with 4.5 port to make the front plate 27.75 wide thats gonna be cutting it close with the speaker cut outs

on1wheel01
04-16-2009, 04:49 PM
ahh gotcha what affect in sound would that have i always just cut it to 8". That would bring it right at what they call for 1.5 each

DonH
04-16-2009, 04:51 PM
now another prob it says with 4.5 port to make the front plate 27.75 wide thats gonna be cutting it close with the speaker cut outs

yes it will man you might want to double baffle that puppy.

also diff. peak level. cant tell you what cuz im at school :crap:

on1wheel01
04-16-2009, 04:55 PM
yea i figured i'd double baffle it, I was gonna flush it but dont wanna have 3 pieces of mdf on there. what do you mean by peak level?

on1wheel01
04-16-2009, 05:41 PM
ok well figured it out. I'm going with a 4"x 15" wide port. That will make the from plate 28.25" x 15". From cut out to cut out I'll have 2.75". A little under 1.75" between subs after subs mounted. I will have .50" from sub mounting screws to the end of the side wall,add .75 for the wood thickness, and get 1.25. Hopefully this will be strong enough. I guess I will double baffle it.

kyle7
04-16-2009, 05:49 PM
dunno if this site is very credibal but it will help you figure out how much port area you need to make sure you dont get port noise. with 2 level 3's tuned to around 35 you will need approx 258 sq inches of Port area. again dunno how accurate this site is. hope this helps

http://www.carstereo.com/help/Articles.cfm?id=31

kyle7
04-16-2009, 05:50 PM
seems a bit excessive to me lol

kyle7
04-16-2009, 06:30 PM
forget the 258 i put in the wrong numbers lol. mor like 85.

on1wheel01
04-16-2009, 06:37 PM
yea i go on 16" of port for every cube. so thats 64, ill be at 60 not to far off

on1wheel01
04-16-2009, 11:56 PM
bumf

on1wheel01
04-18-2009, 08:26 PM
bumf

dbeez
04-18-2009, 10:26 PM
Use aeros

on1wheel01
04-19-2009, 06:11 PM
well I wouldnt know where to place them an all or how long what size.

DNick454
04-20-2009, 01:11 AM
I've got 50 sq. inches of port area on my two 10's. For two high powered 12's, 45 sq. in would not be enough. I'd go for the largest possible port you can make while still having a half decent tuning. Also make sure to atleast 45 the port corners and smooth the path as much as possible for the air to travel. You might get some port noise on that build...

on1wheel01
04-20-2009, 02:02 PM
ok well it says 60 inches of port so might be enough