PDA

View Full Version : Installing Viper 791vx In 99 blazer?



sparkplug121988
04-16-2009, 02:54 PM
Can someone tell me what wires I dont need? Also how hard is it to install into a blazer?

mendon99
04-16-2009, 04:15 PM
If you're asking these questions i fear for your car.

theres a manual right? do you have schematics your your vehicle?

sparkplug121988
04-16-2009, 04:35 PM
LOL I am in fear for it to! There is a manual and I have the wiring for the vehical. But they have a few wire that I have no idea what they are for. Like the primary harness has a few that I dont know about. like the

Pin H1/1- RED/WHITE (-) 200 mA CHANNEL 2 VALIDITY OUTPUT
Pin H1/7- BLUE (-) MULTIPLEXED INPUT, ZONE 4
Pin H1/9- BLACK/WHITE (-) 200 mA DOMELIGHT SUPERVISION OUTPUT

sparkplug121988
04-16-2009, 10:11 PM
Bump

Ferendon
04-16-2009, 11:01 PM
You don't technically need any of the three wires you listed.

Go to http://techservices.audiovox.com
Username is DIY
Password is 852

Step 1 : Look up your vehicle's wiring info.
Step 2 : Hope you don't catch **** on fire.

blimblam
04-16-2009, 11:06 PM
just bring it to a professional.

i dont think its worth the risk of you trying to do it yourself and risking messing something up rather than just paying 150-300 for someone to install it for you.

sparkplug121988
04-17-2009, 11:39 AM
But i have to start some where dont I. And it would be best to burn my car down befor someone elses.

SubNoize05
04-17-2009, 06:38 PM
let your local shop do it!

SubNoize05
04-17-2009, 06:39 PM
and yes you have to start somewhere so whatd Id do is find a professional that knows what there doin and c if hell let you watch or explain how its done while he is doing it. Or help you put it in and explain the proper techniques as he goes along. Dont just go butchering your car

Racerx250
04-17-2009, 06:40 PM
just bring it to a professional.

i dont think its worth the risk of you trying to do it yourself and risking messing something up rather than just paying 150-300 for someone to install it for you.

150-300 if you bring it to em?

Yikes!! That's expensive. I paid 380 for a compustar 2w900 installed with a key module and a couple other options.

blimblam
04-17-2009, 06:45 PM
150-300 if you bring it to em?

Yikes!! That's expensive. I paid 380 for a compustar 2w900 installed with a key module and a couple other options.

i dont know the exact figures. i doubt it would reach 300. but its a very rough estimate ;)

sparkplug121988
04-17-2009, 06:52 PM
I was quoted for 300.00 and 400.00..... Really don't have that money to spend.

sparkplug121988
04-18-2009, 06:10 PM
Bump

sparkplug121988
04-22-2009, 07:33 PM
Ok got the alarm in and is working but the remote start isint. It will turn over and acts like its going to run but dosent. I have the statuse in put from the bypass too the rear status defoger wire on the alarm. And the ground on the bypass is going to stright ground. Is this right?

Worlddre
04-22-2009, 08:10 PM
status wire from bypass goes to status wire on the 4pin mini harness from the rs relay pack

sparkplug121988
04-22-2009, 08:28 PM
What color wire its not saying. Also is their a certain thing I have to do to learn the tack

Worlddre
04-22-2009, 09:34 PM
wire is light guage blue from the mini harness on the XCRS

tach learning...start the car with the key...press and hold the valet switch until the led lights solid and you are done

sparkplug121988
04-22-2009, 10:08 PM
Ok the only wire I see that I can use is the blue/white off the remote start harness for 2nd statuse/ rear defoger. And as for programing the tach I tried what you said and no luck. The led will not light up when pressed while the car is running. ???? I am confused I have check all wires for the by pass. The only wire not being used is the one to the starter relay and bulb check. Do I need those? I have also checked the tach wire and is the right one. So I'm not sure what to do now

Worlddre
04-22-2009, 10:21 PM
you must press the valet switch with like 10 seconds of starting the car


the harness im talking about with be small with 4 wires it will plug into the RS relay pack next to the ribbon harness... It will have a blue, purple, orange, and pink wire. These wires will be no more then for inches long the blue wire is your status wire or you can use the blue wire in the RS ribbon harness which is what i used to do as i never liked to the end look of the mini harness

sparkplug121988
04-22-2009, 10:39 PM
Ok I changed the status wire to the mini plug with the blue wire. But still nothing its doing the same thing. And it still wont learn the tach. What should I do. I know the connection are good because I was soldering them. And I have doubled checked.

Worlddre
04-22-2009, 10:43 PM
what bypass are you using?... check programming make sure how did you test your tach wire?

sparkplug121988
04-22-2009, 10:46 PM
dei 555 and I used a multi meter set on ac an the wire read 1.6 at idel on the red plug at pcm. And as far as programing they say start the car run for 5 sec and then shut off.

Worlddre
04-22-2009, 10:48 PM
press and hold the valet button within that 5 seconds....if that wire doesnt work the odd colored wire at any injector will work as well...555l?

Fiercetimbo17
04-22-2009, 10:49 PM
Where did you get your tach?

Your AC voltage should increase with an increase in RPM.
To learn the tach you just start the car press and hold the valet, the led will light up and stay constant when you have done so correctly. Then turn it off.

sparkplug121988
04-22-2009, 10:56 PM
I got the wire for the red plug at pcm and still no tach learn! I have pressed it within 2 sec of starting and no led.

sparkplug121988
04-22-2009, 10:58 PM
And its the 555lw

sparkplug121988
04-22-2009, 11:02 PM
Also the injectors are under the uper plinium so how do I find that wire

Worlddre
04-22-2009, 11:04 PM
set for voltage real quick and see if it works...if it does then you have a tach problem

Worlddre
04-22-2009, 11:05 PM
or an ignition coil

sparkplug121988
04-22-2009, 11:16 PM
ok I changed the wire for the tack and it is now learning it but still won't run. I am doing that right now

sparkplug121988
04-22-2009, 11:19 PM
I set it and still the same thing.

Worlddre
04-22-2009, 11:24 PM
if tach is programming then you have a bypass issue...make sure you have the correct passlock wires.....make sure the bypass learned the correct resistance....make sure the bypass relay is clicking during remote start

sparkplug121988
04-22-2009, 11:32 PM
Any tips on the bypass wirs? I have the yellow/black going to bcm side and yellow to ignition side. Ground going to - and posotive going to + and I have ignition pink off modual going to pink ignition

Worlddre
04-22-2009, 11:42 PM
and i assume blue status input to the alarm status output if not then there is your problem...check what i stated above....one of those should be your problem

sparkplug121988
04-22-2009, 11:53 PM
I have the blue/black status from yhe bypass to the blue 4 pin plug by the ribbon harness. So I'm sure its correct. Also now that the led is lighting when I do the tach learn does that mean that's correct?
And as far as the bypass does it sound like I have the ignition wires right seems like they only can be hooked up one way so I'm sure they are right. Does it matter if they are on ignition 2?

Worlddre
04-23-2009, 12:16 AM
The led lighting means tach is correct. The bypass is wired correctly however make sure it is. Being programmed accordig to the directions and make sure you have the correct yellow passlock wire there have been instances where there are multiple similar guage yellow wires both of which prevent the car from turning over when cut.

SentraStyle
04-23-2009, 12:23 AM
To see if it is truely a bypass problem and nothing else...simply put the key in the key cylinder when you attemt to remote start it. If it starts, you know for a fact that the bypass module/install is your problem. If it still doesn't start...you need to go back and double check all your wiring and connections.

sparkplug121988
04-23-2009, 12:26 AM
Ok their is only one solid yellow wire off the bypass which is going to key side of ignition. Is that what you are talking about? Also wanted to say thanks for being patient with me.

sparkplug121988
04-23-2009, 01:12 AM
Did the key thing and still won't start. So I will go threw and check wiring. Also you guys are sure that the blue wire off the 4 pin plug next to the ribon harness is the right one for statuse?

SentraStyle
04-23-2009, 01:18 AM
Why don't you do this. Make a list off all the wires you used (color/harness) and tell us where you connected each one. I'm sure we can help find the problem. Because if it still won't start even with a key in the cylindar...it's def. something in the wiring (it could still be the bypass mod not hooked up too...but something in the alarm install is definately not right).

sparkplug121988
04-23-2009, 01:53 AM
Primary harness
Red (+) constant power to constant (+)
Brown. (+) siren out put conected to siren (+)
Black. (-) cassie ground to (-) ground
Green. (-) door triger input to door triger (-)
Black/white (-) domelight supervision to (-) domelight supervision
White/blue (-) remote start to (-) chassie ground

Auxiliary harness
Light green/black. (-) factory alarm disarm to factory alarm disarm (-)


Door lock harnes
Light blue. (+)lock(-) unlock out put to unlock
Green. (_)lock(+) unlock out put to lock


Remote start ribbon harness
Plug in except for blue (-) status output to (-) input status on bypass 555l


Heavy gauge inline connector
Purple. (+) starter output to starter side (+)
Green. Starter input from ignition side
Red (+) to constat 12v at ignition harness red wire
Orange. (+) output to orange accesory ac/climat
Pink (+) outputprimary ignition to pink ignition wire (+)
Red. (+) high current to 12vinput to (+)
Pink/white (+) output to second ignition wire
Red/white (+) high current 12v To (+)


Remote start harness
Black/white to ground
Violet/white to tack wire at pcm
Brown (+) brake shut down to white wire at switch. ( They have two whit wire maybe I have them mixed up could that be it?)
Gray. (-) hood pin to hood pin

And that's it for conection for the alram.

SentraStyle
04-23-2009, 06:00 AM
Primary harness
Red (+) constant power to constant (+)
Brown. (+) siren out put conected to siren (+)
Black. (-) cassie ground to (-) ground
Green. (-) door triger input to door triger (-)
Black/white (-) domelight supervision to (-) domelight supervision
I hope you used a relay to drive the domelight supervision and didn't just tap this wire into the car's wiring directly.


White/blue (-) remote start to (-) chassie ground
This wire shouldn't be grounded...it can be used off of a switch to activate RS by a switch by pulsing 2 times. I usually don't hook this up to anything.


Auxiliary harness
Light green/black. (-) factory alarm disarm to factory alarm disarm (-)


Door lock harnes
Light blue. (+)lock(-) unlock out put to unlock
Green. (_)lock(+) unlock out put to lock


Remote start ribbon harness
Plug in except for blue (-) status output to (-) input status on bypass 555l
You didn't cut this wire did you? It should still be connected to the brain and the relay pack. This wire should just be tapped into.



Heavy gauge inline connector
Purple. (+) starter output to starter side (+)
Green. Starter input from ignition side
When you cut the starter wire...do you have the purple wire going toward the starter and the green wire going towards the key cylindar?


Red (+) to constat 12v at ignition harness red wire
Orange. (+) output to orange accesory ac/climat
Pink (+) outputprimary ignition to pink ignition wire (+)
Red. (+) high current to 12vinput to (+)
Pink/white (+) output to second ignition wire
Red/white (+) high current 12v To (+)


Remote start harness
Black/white to ground
Violet/white to tack wire at pcm
Brown (+) brake shut down to white wire at switch. ( They have two whit wire maybe I have them mixed up could that be it?)
You could have them mixed up...but that wouldn't stop it from remote starting. Did you test the wire you have to make sure it shows +12 volts when the brake is applied?


Gray. (-) hood pin to hood pin

And that's it for conection for the alram.

If you could, tell us what color wires you tapped into each on the car's wiring. We know what the DEI wires do...but just saying you tapped into the ignition wire just doesn't give us enough info. So for example say:

Pink/white to car's Ignition2 White wire.

Also, I see no mention of you tapping into a 3rd ignition...this is probably the culprit. If you don't energize the 3rd ignition...the car will not start. You will need a relay to make a connection for the 3rd ignition. You can tap into the pink wire of the remote start ribbon harness (just like you used the blue wire from this harness to run to the bypass module) and run that into terminal 85 of the relay. Run a fused wire from +12 volts (battery) to terminals 87 and 86. Run a wire from terminal 30 to the car's 3rd ignition (should ba a Brown wire).

Hope this helped.

sparkplug121988
04-23-2009, 12:26 PM
I hope you used a relay to drive the domelight supervision and didn't just tap this wire into the car's wiring directly
I was told I did not have to use one from the locall shop so I didint.

This wire shouldn't be grounded...it can be used off of a switch to activate RS by a switch by pulsing 2 times. I usually don't hook this up to anything.
Ok so could this cause it? I am also just going to undo it.

You didn't cut this wire did you? It should still be connected to the brain and the relay pack. This wire should just be tapped into.
No I didint cut it I used the blue off the mini 4 pin plug.

When you cut the starter wire...do you have the purple wire going toward the starter and the green wire going towards the key cylindar?
I have those correct.

You could have them mixed up...but that wouldn't stop it from remote starting. Did you test the wire you have to make sure it shows +12 volts when the brake is applied?.
Yes I tested it and got 12+ when pressed.


If you could, tell us what color wires you tapped into each on the car's wiring. We know what the DEI wires do...but just saying you tapped into the ignition wire just doesn't give us enough info. So for example say:

Pink/white to car's Ignition2 White wire.

Also, I see no mention of you tapping into a 3rd ignition...this is probably the culprit. If you don't energize the 3rd ignition...the car will not start. You will need a relay to make a connection for the 3rd ignition. You can tap into the pink wire of the remote start ribbon harness (just like you used the blue wire from this harness to run to the bypass module) and run that into terminal 85 of the relay. Run a fused wire from +12 volts (battery) to terminals 87 and 86. Run a wire from terminal 30 to the car's 3rd ignition (should ba a Brown wire)

I will give better detail today just getting up. And as far as the 3rd ignition the color codes for wiring I got from the bulldogsecurity sit and it was saying 3rd ignition n/a so I did not hook it up. Also I just wanted to make sure we are on the same page. The car will turn over and it will run for maybe a seconde but it imiditly dies.
.
Thanks for helping.

SentraStyle
04-23-2009, 12:48 PM
I would never use bulldog security codes. I've looked at them in the past and I'd say at least half the cars I looked at were wrong. Either go to www.the12volt.com to look for a wiring diagram...or the best solution is to post in this forum asking someone who is a DEI dealer to email you a tech tip from DEI (they have always been the most reliable).

I would definately use a relay for the domelight supervision. The output on the Viper791 for domelight sup. isn't really strong enough to power a dome light circuit and eventually you could burn out the alarm brain. Better safe than sorry (especially since you'll likely have no warranty since you installed it yourself). Look at the wiring instructions in your install manual...it even says to use one (I'd trust the maker of the alarm over a shop in this situation).

I'm almost certain your problem is the 3rd ignition. But just to make sure...when you get a chance, give use the DEI color code and the corresponding vehicle color code that you connected each wire to, just so we can make sure your not going to blow something up :D.

Worlddre
04-23-2009, 07:01 PM
Where there any extra wires in the vehcles ignition harness? And most def use a relay for dome supervision as the output is only 200ma on a circuit usually requiring in excess of 7a

sparkplug121988
04-23-2009, 07:56 PM
Im guessing that the 3rd ignition brown was not used. And I found 3 brown wires but they all go to 0volt when in start position. So im not sure which one to use. 2 are like 18guage and 1 is like 12gauge. Also is their a way to reset the alarm unit? I might have messed up on the programing?

Worlddre
04-23-2009, 09:01 PM
You can reprogram the alarm using the valet switch...second and third ign drop 12v during crank but maintain it during run.

sparkplug121988
04-23-2009, 09:27 PM
Ok I reprogramed and installed a relay to the pink wire of ribbon harness. Now how do I know which 3rd ignition wire to tie into? Because all 3 brown wire do the same thing.

Worlddre
04-23-2009, 09:47 PM
trace the one that returns to the plug at the key cylinder which is likely the heavy guage wire

sparkplug121988
04-23-2009, 09:57 PM
ok now for the relay which way do I conect it? They have 2 87 conection which one do I use. Does it mater?
Also could I still have the wrong tach wire? It just seems like everything is conected right. The only other wire I'm not sure about is the factory disarm wire. I found that wire at the bcm.

Worlddre
04-23-2009, 11:01 PM
Disarm generally tests by turning the key in one of the door cylinders.

Relay
85 and 87 - 12v fused
86 - pink wire on RS ribbon harness
30 - output to 3rd ign

Tach could still be the prob unless it doesn't work with voltage sense as well.

sparkplug121988
04-23-2009, 11:27 PM
So should I set it to voltage sense? And I will try and see if that does anything.

Worlddre
04-23-2009, 11:47 PM
yes attempt the remote start with voltage sense if it does the same thing then tach is not the problem

sparkplug121988
04-23-2009, 11:56 PM
if it still does not work could the bypass it self be bad?

Worlddre
04-23-2009, 11:59 PM
sounds like an ign prob...we ruled out the bypass by trying to start it with the key in the ignition

sparkplug121988
04-24-2009, 12:20 AM
What about the alarm disarm? Could that have anything to do with the problem? Im wondering if I have to have the main ignition split and have the 2nd conected. or does it matter?

Worlddre
04-24-2009, 01:03 AM
Disarm is not the problem. You have cnfused me with what you said about the ign wires

You are overcomplicating the ignition wires. All you have to is trace the heavy guage wires back to the key switch and make sure they are all wired up. If you missed one that is the wire you wire up the 3rd ign relay to. If they are all conected then we will move on to the next potential problem.

sparkplug121988
04-27-2009, 01:20 PM
Thanks for all the help. It has been installed and works perfect now!

SentraStyle
04-27-2009, 02:44 PM
So...what was the problem...third ignition?

sparkplug121988
04-29-2009, 11:14 AM
lol no it wasent third ignition. It was the resistance wire for the by pass. I was told to split ignition 2 and have the yellow going to key side and yellow black to the othe. But after talking to you guys and a few other I figured out that I had to spilt the wire for the passlock on the ignition harness. Once I did that it started right up....... lol im such a dumb ***. Well now I know how to install a alrm on a s10 gonna try a malibu.