PDA

View Full Version : Musician needs a head unit to check mixes. help?

deej
04-14-2009, 11:02 PM
First of all, let me thank everyone who contributes to this forum. I'm on my tenth day of research and i decided this was the place to join. So lets get to it then!

I recently started driving a Ford Ranger after a long lay off from a couple DUIs. It's been 12 years in fact since I've had a valid Lic. Crazy.

So I've been looking at HUs for this truck. I'm leaning twords the eXcelon series.

x-493 was the first choice but many people scream about the interface.
x-592 cheaper but is it any better?
x-693 Pushing the budget and again, any better?
DEH Pioneers look good but i hear things about SQ and again not sure if the interface is any better.

I'm a recording musician who needs to check his mixes in a car cause the studio doesn't translate to car audio very well most the time. Bass ends up needing alot of tweaks once i find a decent system to check it on. Having something decent in the driveway would help soooo much. And ya, I want to rock out while driving that Ranger.
Any thoughts, sugesstions, experiences to share?

P.S. Oh ya, and I do digital recording so most of the material will be on USB stuff. CD player isn't a big concern. Don't own an Ipod yet so thats not a big part of the equation other than passengers who worship the apple seed. I'll stop now.

macq32
04-15-2009, 03:09 PM
First of all, let me thank everyone who contributes to this forum. I'm on my tenth day of research and i decided this was the place to join. So lets get to it then!

I recently started driving a Ford Ranger after a long lay off from a couple DUIs. It's been 12 years in fact since I've had a valid Lic. Crazy.

So I've been looking at HUs for this truck. I'm leaning twords the eXcelon series.

x-493 was the first choice but many people scream about the interface.
x-592 cheaper but is it any better?
x-693 Pushing the budget and again, any better?