PDA

View Full Version : how to make componets

99concorde
09-12-2003, 10:57 PM
i just purchased a pair of re 8s i want to use for componets. what tweeters would u recommend. i want titanium i think. also where can i get crossovers for them.

b0mbrman
09-15-2003, 09:46 AM
Since they're subwoofers, they probably don't have much in the way of midrange (especially if you're mounting them in the doors) so expect to cross the tweeters very low.

I'd recommend adding a 5.25" mid to bridge the gap but if you're stuck on a two-way, I think your best bet would be to look into a full-range 2" or 3" (Tang Band and Fostex are my favorites) though you might also try LPG's 51AT (There's your titanium ;))

You can give the specs to madisound.com and see if they'll make a crossover for you, or you could design your own but as the upper end of the RE8's response might be very unpredictable, I'd strongly recommend going active

99concorde
09-16-2003, 12:11 AM
not quite sure what you mean. im new to components and car audio in general. ive been reading on the board and everyone thinks components are great. so what i was going to do was build a kick panel for the eight and tweeter and try to buy a crossover. i really wouldnt know how to build a crossover. the guy at a local car audio shop said i should use capacitors? whatever that means. where can i find those tweeters you listed.what does active mean.

zephyr
09-18-2003, 03:23 PM