PDA

View Full Version : hdc318?



05_ZX636
04-08-2009, 03:22 PM
did some searching, got few answers. Will hdc318 work good in 6.5 cubes? Thats all room have for sub, port and all. Will have 2000+ watts

mcsoul
04-08-2009, 07:00 PM
Yep, it will work as long as you are calculating the proper port area.
What size port and tuning are you calculating?

DonH
04-08-2009, 07:14 PM
Yep, it will work as long as you are calculating the proper port area.
What size port and tuning are you calculating?

x2

mlstrass
04-08-2009, 07:38 PM
16^2 of port area per cube. 38Hz for a daily set up and it should wang...

mcsoul
04-08-2009, 08:30 PM
Just as an idea, that means you need about 9 cubes and change gross to tune this 6.5
cube box to 38hz.

reread:


did some searching, got few answers. Will hdc318 work good in 6.5 cubes? Thats all room have for sub, port and all. Will have 2000+ watts

Your answer is no, you have room for 2 12's or more than enough for one 15" HDC3 but not 2.

grimreper912003
04-08-2009, 08:34 PM
A HDC15 in proper box > HDC18 in wrong box

Any reason why it has to be an 18?

05_ZX636
04-09-2009, 02:29 AM
I just got off work and thought about this post. Thanks for replies, but he bought a hdc315 this afternoon

mcsoul
04-09-2009, 12:07 PM
I just got off work and thought about this post. Thanks for replies, but he bought a hdc315 this afternoon

Come back to discuss the box build once he's ready.:)

05_ZX636
04-09-2009, 03:56 PM
chris at fishercustoms is designing the box, I am building it next week as soon as he gets me the design. He did both my designs and I built a box for a guy with 2 audioque hdc312's he designed also. He does good work

mcsoul
04-09-2009, 04:30 PM
chris at fishercustoms is designing the box, I am building it next week as soon as he gets me the design. He did both my designs and I built a box for a guy with 2 audioque hdc312's he designed also. He does good work

your all set!

302yota
04-10-2009, 02:53 AM
i did a build with an hdc318 in 5.9 cubes at 37hz....got stupid loud, off of a hifonics 2000wt brutus....i think he'll be upgrading to an AQ2200 though.

05_ZX636
04-10-2009, 10:17 PM
this guy will be running a bxi2608d, rated at 2600x1 at 1ohm, but I know it is not that much power

mcsoul
04-11-2009, 08:00 PM
this guy will be running a bxi2608d, rated at 2600x1 at 1ohm, but I know it is not that much power

Actually, I crunched some numbers and an HD3C 18 can work in 5.9 cubes net (after woofer and port displacement) using 2 6" areo ports that are 14.1" long each.
This would give you a gross box size of about 6.7 cubes.