PDA

View Full Version : Alarm Wiring Harness "Pics"



blackdragonaudi
04-02-2009, 09:06 PM
I am getting ready to install my viper alarm and from what I have been reading it is a good idea to hid your brain somewhere. So today after getting my wire from a great seller fasfocus00 I quickly got to work and made my harness. It will be wrapped again with palstic tubing to make it look more factory. Take a look:cool:

All cut and straighten out
http://i483.photobucket.com/albums/rr199/bigaudiofanatic/My%20Alarm%20Install/100_1094.jpg
http://i483.photobucket.com/albums/rr199/bigaudiofanatic/My%20Alarm%20Install/100_1095.jpg
http://i483.photobucket.com/albums/rr199/bigaudiofanatic/My%20Alarm%20Install/100_1096.jpg

After taped them up so they wouldn't tangle up
http://i483.photobucket.com/albums/rr199/bigaudiofanatic/My%20Alarm%20Install/100_1097.jpg
http://i483.photobucket.com/albums/rr199/bigaudiofanatic/My%20Alarm%20Install/100_1098.jpg

Heating up the knife to cut the expandable tubing
http://i483.photobucket.com/albums/rr199/bigaudiofanatic/My%20Alarm%20Install/100_1099.jpg

Expandable Tubing starting to be slid onto wire
http://i483.photobucket.com/albums/rr199/bigaudiofanatic/My%20Alarm%20Install/100_1100.jpg

All finished and Shrink wrapped ends
http://i483.photobucket.com/albums/rr199/bigaudiofanatic/My%20Alarm%20Install/100_1101.jpg
http://i483.photobucket.com/albums/rr199/bigaudiofanatic/My%20Alarm%20Install/100_1102.jpg

fasfocus00
04-02-2009, 09:15 PM
looking good. love the wire.

blackdragonaudi
04-02-2009, 09:18 PM
looking good. love the wire.
Thanks man:D If someone is wondering how I know which wire is which I am doing that tomorrow with a DMM because I am so bored lol.

geowick07
04-02-2009, 09:19 PM
Nice work.



geo

THUNDERBIRD
04-02-2009, 09:41 PM
the 3 feet of wire on the brain isnt enough? where do you plan on mounting the brain and what about the antenna. sounds like a great idea i have done it before but if that antenna isnt on the windsheild it dont work for crap on the rear or sides. behind the radio or glove box or center console is where i install them.

blackdragonaudi
04-02-2009, 09:43 PM
The brain is going in the trunk and if i have to expand the antenna wire I will do that to or mount in the back window.

Worlddre
04-02-2009, 10:16 PM
an alarm behind a radio is a bad idea as the majority of the time that is what a car is being broken into for so pop the radio out and look an alarm let me unplug it for some extra time.

blackdragonaudi
04-02-2009, 10:56 PM
I have to agree with worlddre if they take the radio there is the brain which can be quickly disconnected.

blackdragonaudi
04-04-2009, 11:33 AM
Bump

93dakota
04-05-2009, 04:19 PM
looks nice man

SentraStyleEMW
04-06-2009, 02:16 AM
I usually put mine behind the instrument cluster. You can't see it from under the dash, and how many people break into a car to take out the instrument cluster?

Fiercetimbo17
04-06-2009, 02:26 AM
That is not a very good idea, if im a theif and i look under your dash for the alarm wires to cut, guess what stands out from the rest of the regular wires/splitloomed wires...your nice techflexed wiring. Looks good but stands out like a sore thumb which kinda defeats the purpose of an alarm.

blackdragonaudi
04-06-2009, 03:43 PM
Not insulting you but I guess you cant read. When I install it I am putting the plastic wire covering over to make it blend in and also using fake wires and a fake brain.

93dakota
04-06-2009, 04:09 PM
Not insulting you but I guess you cant read. When I install it I am putting the plastic wire covering over to make it blend in and also using fake wires and a fake brain.

I did the fake wire part i want to do the fake brain though... just one more thing to make it hard on the guy tryin to steal your stuff...lol

SentraStyleEMW
04-07-2009, 02:44 AM
Is that wire even thick enough to provide the amount of current needed to remote start all the way from the trunk?

Savag3
04-07-2009, 03:23 AM
are you putting multiple sirens ? back up battery ? proximity sensor ? strobes ? put a siren and strobe inside the cab too, nothing like a siren ripping inside the car and strobe to *** with concentration ! lol . . . dood and defintiely proximity sensor ! ftw !~

blackdragonaudi
04-07-2009, 04:45 PM
Is that wire even thick enough to provide the amount of current needed to remote start all the way from the trunk?

That is just for the main power and all the remote start is going to be a separate harness that I am making that will be plenty thick.:p::crazy::crazy:

As for the sirens and all I am going to have a battery backup a alarm siren that has its own battery and another inside but no strobe. :laugh:

jeeper07
04-07-2009, 04:50 PM
man u shoulda just tapped a number on the ends of all the wires woulda saved u a lot of hassle.

blackdragonaudi
04-07-2009, 04:53 PM
Already did that lol I used a DMM and labeled them all

Savag3
04-08-2009, 03:02 PM
That is just for the main power and all the remote start is going to be a separate harness that I am making that will be plenty thick.:p::crazy::crazy:

As for the sirens and all I am going to have a battery backup a alarm siren that has its own battery and another inside but no strobe. :laugh:

all that and no proximity ? :wow: do yourself a favor buy a proximity $60 max !

blackdragonaudi
04-08-2009, 08:05 PM
What dose the proximity do?

Worlddre
04-08-2009, 11:26 PM
Prox sensors monitor field disturbance in two zones in and around the car. Outer zone triggers a warn away and the inner zone is an instant trigger. Each zone can be size adjusted individually.

blackdragonaudi
04-08-2009, 11:28 PM
So basically a motion sensor?

Savag3
04-08-2009, 11:56 PM
ummhmmm

Fiercetimbo17
04-09-2009, 12:12 AM
Dont get a prox sensor unless you have a jeep or convertable, they do not work correctly in a closed car. I had one and threw it away.
I see now where you said you were going to cover it with split loom, but that kinda makes the techflex pointless, but if your bored whatever right.

blackdragonaudi
04-09-2009, 12:33 AM
LOL ya I dont think I will get a prox sensor.

Fiercetimbo17
04-09-2009, 12:57 AM
Glass break, shock and tilt are all you really need.

Savag3
04-09-2009, 02:58 AM
Glass break, shock and tilt are all you really need.

dood a prox will keep someone from even get close enough to touch your car, in my suv it works awesome. If they can touch your car you are already done. battery jump pack on the fender and all ur fuses are owned including your alarms, byebye system !

SentraStyleEMW
04-09-2009, 05:19 AM
dood a prox will keep someone from even get close enough to touch your car, in my suv it works awesome. If they can touch your car you are already done. battery jump pack on the fender and all ur fuses are owned including your alarms, byebye system !

OK...if they do that...how's a prox going to help with no power?

Worlddre
04-09-2009, 07:18 AM
Dont get a prox sensor unless you have a jeep or convertable, they do not work correctly in a closed car. I had one and threw it away.
I see now where you said you were going to cover it with split loom, but that kinda makes the techflex pointless, but if your bored whatever right.

They work fine they just take some time to properly adjust. I've done countless prox snesors that worked perfectly

Savag3
04-09-2009, 03:18 PM
OK...if they do that...how's a prox going to help with no power?

I have a transponder and my prox will have already gone off before you get within 5ft of my truck . . so i will have been notified before any attempt has been made to disable. I have even considered hooking the main power of the alarm unfused but kina risky. I have also installed numerous proxy's on all kinds of vehicles. I guess its your personal prefernces but i dont want anyone even near my ****.

RFCV
04-21-2009, 09:45 PM
If they can touch your car..you are already done.

They might damage, but not steal..if you do it right ;)

http://audioforum.termpro.com/topic/15/611.html




Battery jump pack on the fender and all your fuses are owned including your alarms... byebye system!

This is a old debunked myth...

http://forum.sounddomain.com/ubbthreads.php/ubb/showflat/Number/1087500/page/1#Post1087500
(Myth 3)

Savag3
04-21-2009, 09:47 PM
They might damage, but not steal..if you do it right ;)

http://audioforum.termpro.com/topic/15/611.html




This is a old debunked myth...

http://www.forum.sounddomain.com/ubbthreads.php/ubb/showflat/Number/1087500/page/1#Post1087500
(Myth 3)

myth ? i just seen a doods acura TL with burn marks on the fender and all fuses roasted , i mean i dont know why he would "stage" that kinda **** ?

edit : i mean insurance fraud could be much easier than that , but i unno

RFCV
04-21-2009, 09:50 PM
myth ? i just seen a doods acura TL with burn marks on the fender and all fuses roasted , i mean i dont know why he would "stage" that kinda **** ?

edit : i mean insurance fraud could be much easier than that , but i unno


Check the link again and read

Savag3
04-21-2009, 09:55 PM
Check the link again and read

u check it , it doenst work , i believe you tho, makes me feel alot safer actually

RFCV
04-21-2009, 09:57 PM
u check it , it doenst work , i believe you tho, makes me feel alot safer actually


I fixed it