PDA

View Full Version : Need help...BIG task...2005 std cab box design for 2 DD T1510's



da box king
04-02-2009, 03:40 PM
Who would be willing to take on the task, it can be fit, but my friend is also 6'4". The truck is 2005 Chevy 1500 std cab too.

Trying to get Pete K to do it, but might not be able to get it back in time...

hit me up or post if ya think ya got the skills or a design, and my buddy can always pay ya.....need ASAP...building the box in a week

cj407
04-02-2009, 03:43 PM
i can design a box for those....just give me dimensions of area and what he wants tuned to...

da box king
04-02-2009, 03:45 PM
i can design a box for those....just give me dimensions of area and what he wants tuned to...

well box will be a wedge

MAX bottom dim wedge is 10.5" deep x 55" wide and 20" or so tall.....the top part of the wedge is about 4"

da box king
04-02-2009, 03:46 PM
probably wants tuned to about 38 hz....needs to get loud but also sound good and low....efficient too

davidt487
04-02-2009, 03:47 PM
i have the same truck i was only able to get 3.2 cu ft and im not that tall my dim. are 14.5"X55"X8"X11" you will need to use aeros or pvc to save space (less displacement than mdf) what size box and tuning is he looking for

da box king
04-02-2009, 03:47 PM
I'll be back on later, got to go to class, keep this thread to the top, need a high quality design within a week

da box king
04-02-2009, 03:48 PM
i have the same truck i was only able to get 3.2 cu ft and im not that tall my dim. are 14.5"X55"X8"X11" you will need to use aeros or pvc to save space (less displacement than mdf) what size box and tuning is he looking for

please post pics of yur design? thanks

he needs at least 2.5 cubes after dis, and aero is fine

be back late...physics here I come:crap:

davidt487
04-02-2009, 03:49 PM
if you go that tall you have to have a notch to make it fit. 14.5" goes up to that notch and i think you will only gain like .2 or .3 cu ft at least that is all i could get out of mine

cj407
04-02-2009, 03:50 PM
got dimensions laid out.....comes out to 3 cubes at 38 hz

da box king
04-02-2009, 03:50 PM
if you go that tall you have to have a notch to make it fit. 14.5" goes up to that notch and i think you will only gain like .2 or .3 cu ft at least that is all i could get out of mine

we were plannin on taking that back panel for car seats out....looks like a rattle problem anyway...but also needs to look pretty in the end. If we have to notch the box tho, than that is fine

cj407
04-02-2009, 03:51 PM
you need 3 cubes after displacement for those subs.....thats why i made you a box to fit....

da box king
04-02-2009, 03:51 PM
got dimensions laid out.....comes out to 3 cubes at 38 hz

after all dis? pics? if the design works and is what he want, he will send paypal

cj407
04-02-2009, 03:52 PM
3 cubes at 38 hz with port to passenger side....DONE

da box king
04-02-2009, 03:53 PM
you need 3 cubes after displacement for those subs.....thats why i made you a box to fit....

true dat....also forgot to mention....SUBS ON PASSANGER SIDE, AND PORT PROBABELY ON DRIVER SIDE TO SAVE ROOM FOR THE SUBS EXCURSION

cj407
04-02-2009, 03:53 PM
yea let me draw it up in sketchup...

da box king
04-02-2009, 03:54 PM
3 cubes at 38 hz with port to passenger side....DONE

how bout move the port to driver side....there is more seat room over there, and that will allow for the excursion on the subs

cj407
04-02-2009, 03:54 PM
well just so you know better numbers would be on passenger side...but if you want port on drivers side ok...

da box king
04-02-2009, 03:55 PM
well just so you know better numbers would be on passenger side...but if you want port on drivers side ok...

yes true...I know that, just dont want him smashin his seat into the subs when he sits his tall *** down...the seat move about 1" when sat in

dbeez
04-02-2009, 04:16 PM
did you try MIKE$^% he designs and build boxes and seems to be pretty good..

davidt487
04-02-2009, 04:20 PM
i think your going to have to go with 8's dd rec box is 3cu ft 48 sqin of port tuned 35-40hz you will need 4 cu ft total to get that

da box king
04-02-2009, 06:13 PM
i think your going to have to go with 8's dd rec box is 3cu ft 48 sqin of port tuned 35-40hz you will need 4 cu ft total to get that

he already got the tens, being shipped as we speak

keep them coming, and who is mike?

davidt487
04-02-2009, 06:21 PM
the only way to fit them properly is to take out the middle seat and have the the port come out the center. ive seen it in a 2003 chevy and it worked out nice but it would take a lot of work.

da box king
04-02-2009, 06:24 PM
the only way to fit them properly is to take out the middle seat and have the the port come out the center. ive seen it in a 2003 chevy and it worked out nice but it would take a lot of work.

yeah was thinkin bout that....I think it can still possbily be done...

if the box was 2.5 cubes, which is still ok, then it will be able to take more powaaa

keep em comin,

who on here designs boxes, or can take the challenge;)

davidt487
04-02-2009, 06:36 PM
2.5 tuned to 38 is possible 3 isnt wont be practical
14.5"X55"X8"X11" 3X4" 25.75"

davidt487
04-02-2009, 06:37 PM
btw that box will fit but its very very tight

da box king
04-02-2009, 06:38 PM
2.5 tuned to 38 is possible 3 isnt wont be practical
14.5"X55"X8"X11" 3X4" 25.75"

yours is 11 wide at the bottem? and 8 at top?

what do the dimensions mean....thanks man

davidt487
04-02-2009, 06:40 PM
yea thats it the same box i have in my truck

da box king
04-02-2009, 06:42 PM
btw that box will fit but its very very tight

how tall are you?

can you measure how far your bottom of the back of your seat is from the back of the truck?

I'm tryin to see if his seat is in the same position

da box king
04-02-2009, 06:44 PM
yea thats it the same box i have in my truck

so you must have took that back piece off too, so you have no lip in the back of the box?

davidt487
04-02-2009, 06:46 PM
im like 5' 10" so i dont think he will like it because i dont. plus you dont have much room to mount amps batteries ect. im thinking about going to one 10 or 2 eights just for a little room

davidt487
04-02-2009, 06:51 PM
i took off the plastic because it rattles like crazy but there is a double wall the 14.5" height keeps you under it. if you go higher you have to notch out at least an inch but think it will need to be 1.5". but only if you go above 14.5"
like i said you only gain about .2 cu ft if you go higher than that and its a lot more work.
even if you go up to the window line which is 25 inches you cant get to the 4 cu ft mark i crunch the number for you
any ? just ask

da box king
04-02-2009, 06:52 PM
im like 5' 10" so i dont think he will like it because i dont. plus you dont have much room to mount amps batteries ect. im thinking about going to one 10 or 2 eights just for a little room

ahhh yeah I'm kinda worried bout it too, but ehh we will see....Amps are small and will go under the seats...pdx4.100 for a reason:)

I am worried tho, so someone else chime in...:)

da box king
04-02-2009, 06:53 PM
i took off the plastic because it rattles like crazy but there is a double wall the 14.5" height keeps you under it. if you go higher you have to notch out at least an inch but think it will need to be 1.5". but only if you go above 14.5"
like i said you only gain about .2 cu ft if you go higher than that and its a lot more work.
even if you go up to the window line which is 25 inches you cant get to the 4 cu ft mark i crunch the number for you
any ? just ask

very much appreciate it, thanks sooooo much

anyone know how many aero's will do for 2 10's? 2 3" aeros?

davidt487
04-02-2009, 06:57 PM
i would do 3 4" 36sq in just what dd rec.

Audiopulse88
04-02-2009, 07:12 PM
I can do 10.5" on the base of the box and thats the widest i can go.

t1990le
04-02-2009, 07:22 PM
he already got the tens, being shipped as we speak

keep them coming, and who is mike?


Mike465 is on this forum, he builds alotta boxes. (look at his threads of the box builds.) He also built a box for me and he is local to me. I will stand behind his work. :)

Here is the link to my build i did a stealth design in my reg cab f-150 with subs on the passenger side and port driver side tuned at 34hz.

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=376882&page=3

davidt487
04-02-2009, 07:38 PM
well i got mine to fit but it wasnt easy when i build my next one ill go smaller prolly a 10 instead of a 12.

dbeez
04-02-2009, 07:48 PM
sorry meant mike465

Audiopulse88
04-02-2009, 07:51 PM
I should just did 1 10" HDC3 it would have been alot easier. but o wells ive never owned a dd product b4.

mobeious
04-02-2009, 07:55 PM
i thought u wanted me to design it? guess not lol

cj407
04-02-2009, 08:12 PM
mobeious you are somewhat expensive.....but well worth it.....some people jus like to be cheap....but you get what you pay for sometimes...

Audiopulse88
04-02-2009, 08:17 PM
I just want a box that sounds good and FITS. And who ever gives me what i want will be paid for it.

davidt487
04-02-2009, 08:27 PM
if you want to keep your knees out of the dash take out the center seat and built the box extruding from behind the seat put one sub behind each seat port out the bottom of the center

mobeious
04-02-2009, 09:13 PM
im expensive? never heard that before

cj407
04-02-2009, 09:16 PM
i mean expensive for me....seeing as i have a guy that does it for fun..also cuz we teammates..

Audiopulse88
04-02-2009, 09:19 PM
Modeious didn't you design da box king's box for his HDC3's?

da box king
04-02-2009, 09:47 PM
Modeious didn't you design da box king's box for his HDC3's?

YEAHHHHH NIGGGGGA

get this **** to the tIPPY TOP

mobeious
04-02-2009, 09:53 PM
ya i did

he gained overall loudness and has a wider bandwith now

but hey i dont know what im doin lol

da box king
04-02-2009, 10:10 PM
ya i did

he gained overall loudness and has a wider bandwith now

but hey i dont know what im doin lol

you da man, vids will come just need to go home an get my camera

the true result will be when I meter it on May 2nd :)