PDA

View Full Version : Working on my first box - help appreciated.



Matty B Bop
03-31-2009, 07:25 PM
So I did some searching to see what I'm getting into, but the truth is I don't know where to start.

I just got a single 12" JL W3 (500rms, 1000peak). It's going to be going into the spare wheel well of my MKIV GTI, so I don't think a ported box is necessary. Also, my rear seats are out for good. I'm also more interested in SQ than SPL.

My questions:

1. What size MDF for my application (not interested in doing fiberglass)?;

2. Should I use screws along with the titebond II to seal the box?;

3. What box dimensions do you recommend for the box, or should I just follow what JL indicated with the sub I got?;

4. Do I just cut all 6 sides of the box first then glue them together once I have the proper dimensions?

Any input would be awesome. I'm looking at doing this myself and I don't take shortcuts. Since this is my first time doing this, experienced feedback would be great.

Also, the box itself will not be visible, only the top of the actual sub. It will be going underneath a false floor so I won't be carpeting the enclosure.

It's going in this:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o26/blgli/optima101.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v368/joecoffey/DAGball20.jpg
http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v208/56/92/26702161/n26702161_37041390_4460.jpg
http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/1531/harnessesseats020pl7.jpg


*Not sure if it's relevant, but I also got a DNX8120 HU going in, as well as a RF T-1000 mono amp.*

Vermithrax
03-31-2009, 07:36 PM
Nice ride. You'll be fine with JL's sealed spec. You can use screws, but not absolutely necessary if you have enough clamps. Use 3/4" MDF minimum, if you use screws make sure you pre-drill the screw holes to keep the wood from splitting. Cut all of the panels first and do a mock up without glueing to make sure the fitment looks good.

You should be able to search and find some box building tutorials.

Matty B Bop
03-31-2009, 07:47 PM
Nice ride. You'll be fine with JL's sealed spec. You can use screws, but not absolutely necessary if you have enough clamps. Use 3/4" MDF minimum, if you use screws make sure you pre-drill the screw holes to keep the wood from splitting. Cut all of the panels first and do a mock up without glueing to make sure the fitment looks good.

You should be able to search and find some box building tutorials.

Thanks, man!

would 1" be better than 3/4", or is that overkill?

I appreciate the response. I'll search for tutorials, too.

Vermithrax
03-31-2009, 07:51 PM
For a W3 1" would be a waste of money IMO. Put a couple of braces in and you'll have no problems.

Matty B Bop
03-31-2009, 08:00 PM
For a W3 1" would be a waste of money IMO. Put a couple of braces in and you'll have no problems.

sounds good. can you explain what a brace is though, right quick? I don't know all that much when it comes to aftermarket audio haha. :(

grimreper912003
03-31-2009, 08:01 PM
I ran 1" on a 15" Re and it was overkill, even with 1200w + going to it. .75" will be plenty.

Matty B Bop
03-31-2009, 08:03 PM
I ran 1" on a 15" Re and it was overkill, even with 1200w + going to it. .75" will be plenty.

sounds good, thanks.

go Wisconsin.

Vermithrax
03-31-2009, 09:31 PM
A brace is just a section of wood that attaches to 2 or more panels inside the box. The purpose is to eliminate the possibility of panel flexing and the resulting unwanted resonances. One of the most simple braces is a triangle that you would glue to brace two panels that are at a right angle to each other. Doesn't have to be big, if it spans 20% of the width of each adjacent panel it should do the job. You do have to remember to calculate the total displacement of any braces since they'll take up airspace in the box.

Matty B Bop
03-31-2009, 11:17 PM
A brace is just a section of wood that attaches to 2 or more panels inside the box. The purpose is to eliminate the possibility of panel flexing and the resulting unwanted resonances. One of the most simple braces is a triangle that you would glue to brace two panels that are at a right angle to each other. Doesn't have to be big, if it spans 20% of the width of each adjacent panel it should do the job. You do have to remember to calculate the total displacement of any braces since they'll take up airspace in the box.

Alright, thanks a lot! I watched some videos on youtube, but didn't see anything about braces.

do you think a brace will actually be necessary for my application, though?

Vermithrax
03-31-2009, 11:25 PM
I don't think it's absolutly necessary, it's just good insurance.

Matty B Bop
04-01-2009, 12:00 AM
I don't think it's absolutly necessary, it's just good insurance.

i hear ya, but it's not like I'm pushing a ton of power (only 500rms).

I'll try and find some vids on braces.

hopefully i can start working on it this weekend so I can get some pics and a build going.

Matty B Bop
04-07-2009, 03:18 PM
alright, box is constructed. now i just need to put in the brace before I glue the top on. after that, I'm going to get to painting the box. hopefully i'll have some pics up soon.


How important is time alignment to everyone in here?

Matty B Bop
04-13-2009, 02:55 PM
Here's some pics from the weekend.

After taking a week to build my first ever box, I like the outcome!

Sub hits HARD. :eek: Now I just need to get cracking on the false floor, painting the box and other stuff.

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs015.snc1/2969_676143331448_26702161_39255954_480942_n.jpg
http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs015.snc1/2969_676143351408_26702161_39255957_7800947_n.jpg
http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs015.snc1/2969_676143361388_26702161_39255959_3872174_n.jpg
http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs015.snc1/2969_676143366378_26702161_39255960_1285853_n.jpg
http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs015.snc1/2969_676143376358_26702161_39255962_8267238_n.jpg
http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs015.snc1/2969_676143391328_26702161_39255965_2214917_n.jpg