PDA

View Full Version : Power Locks



blackdragonaudi
03-31-2009, 06:23 PM
My father just bough a plain jame chevy cavalier with no power windows or locks. I am talking to him about installing a security system in it just for practice and was thinking about installing lock actuators. How hard is it to install these with a basic viper alarm.

blackdragonaudi
04-01-2009, 02:32 PM
Bump

IDSkoT
04-01-2009, 02:35 PM
Not hard, I'd imagine.

Worlddre
04-01-2009, 06:58 PM
in theory they are not hard but that is very vehicle dependant. Space is generally the biggest concern. You need to locate a place to mount the actuator, attach the pole to the lock and make sure it doesnt interfere with any moving parts in the door

farmerehsan
04-02-2009, 02:29 PM
mine was a ***** cuz of actuator size and small space in my doors..

93dakota
04-05-2009, 04:16 PM
on my truck they are not extremely difficult but as they said above the space thing is the biggest problem...also make sure to get two wire actuators not 5 wire. as long as you have an alarm to wire them two two wire are way better and less of a pain in the %@# .