PDA

View Full Version : Help!!



xtullyx
03-31-2009, 02:52 PM
I was driving in my car yesterday and my subs stopped hitting.. so i checked all the wires, they were fine. AMp has power.. now today subs are hitting but it sounds very distorted/static, with loss of loudness and the cone looks to be moving/vibrating less


my "system" lol - 1200w aq amp
RF 12" SUBS 500 watt peak, 250w normal
stock speakers ( 2 in back 2 front door)

Raffi
03-31-2009, 02:55 PM
Dang it!..............

xtullyx
03-31-2009, 03:08 PM
lol can anyone give me any ideas of what to do.. or whats wrong? if u ask questions i can answer them.. i just dont know what to do from here

Enellz
03-31-2009, 03:11 PM
Have you checked you fuse, your fuse could be lose or something. Also if you have a DMM (if not goto Lowes and buy one for like 20 dollars) and check your voltage at the amp.

xtullyx
03-31-2009, 03:15 PM
if the amp was blown or a fuse was loose the subs wouldnt hit correct? j/w cause my subs are hittin but just not as intense and the components in the back + subs sound distorted or like a very static station

07ramjam
03-31-2009, 03:15 PM
Maybe they went "poof"?? Dont you think you might be overpowering them a little?

Random1010
03-31-2009, 03:17 PM
What are your gains set at?

xtullyx
03-31-2009, 03:18 PM
lol i am, but i have a box built for a type r but they handled the power.. im guessing they couldve blown but im worried my components in the back are damaged cause the distorted noise

07ramjam
03-31-2009, 03:21 PM
lol i am, but i have a box built for a type r but they handled the power.. im guessing they couldve blown but im worried my components in the back are damaged cause the distorted noise

I wouldnt worry about the comps,they should be fine.

I dont like to say anything bad about peoples equipment,but RF subs are one of the subs I wouldnt over power.

xtullyx
03-31-2009, 03:22 PM
my gain is set very small.. the lowest it goes is .2v and its 1/4 turn or half turn out from that

xtullyx
03-31-2009, 03:22 PM
lol i think they're junk also so dont worry about it.. they were jsut holding me over haha

xtullyx
04-15-2009, 01:26 PM
long story short...got the subs working, wired to 8 ohms.. now they quit working yesterday.. checked wiring and plugged in another sub as tester and it was working, so amp is good. Then, i took each sub and wired them down 4 ohms to amp (one at a time to test one) and one worked and one didnt.. what could be wrong with the one? can it just blow? when i wire it up it acts like no power is going to it.. it just sits there

xtullyx
04-15-2009, 02:07 PM
could a mod please put this in subwoofer section.. idk why i put this in the speaker section, sorry!