PDA

View Full Version : Need to replace comps I blew w/ a noob mistake

FtWorthHorn
03-29-2009, 07:34 PM
This past summer I bought a used Infiniti G35 whose previous owner had made some upgrades to the sound system. The system is driven by a nine.4 in three channel mode. The sub is fine, if a little underpowered. The components were fine as well, but then I started messing around with things I didn't understand.

I started messing around and didn't realize that one set of inputs was the sub and one was the components. I believe that I ended up with the crossover for the components set to full and the bass boost on (everyone stop and laugh at the noob here). I normally listen at pretty normal levels, but then my fiancee's younger brother took it out, cranked up the bass on the factory HU, and turned the volume all the way up. Needless to say, my left mid is totally trashed and the right sounds damaged as well. Since I did this to the speakers I've learned a ton, so now it's time to replace the components.

I'd like to stay around $200 for the pair. From my reading on this board, the ID CTX65cs seems like a favorite, but I'm not sure the amp is enough to power them at 65W (and I don't want to get into replacing the amp). I know that the Infinity Kappas (I'd go with the 60.9 I think) are popular with the G35 crowd because they just drop in, but I'm worried that at 2 ohms I'd risk blowing these too with the at least 100W the ED amp will provide.

So, I bow to the experience of the forum. What else would you guys look at?

okiedokie
03-29-2009, 07:57 PM
try these out, if you dont like partsexpress.com will refund you your money back.
oh, buy some deadener as well, yes it wil make big difference in sound & you'll get better mirange response.
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=267-281

FtWorthHorn
03-30-2009, 12:07 AM
I'll take a look at those.