PDA

View Full Version : Got a quote for a car alarm need advice

MonkeyBone
03-27-2009, 10:24 AM
I have a 2002 Mustang GT Manual. I am putting in a new 4.5k system but before I do I want to install an alarm. I got a quote from a local audio shop for a Compustar two-way paging alarm with trunk protection, glass breaking mic, and I guess the usual starter kill and what-not with no remote start. The quote was for $550 out the door taxes and all.

I do not know the exact model of CompuStar alarm it is but it's their two way paging one if that helps at all.

I am a DIY kind of guy but found little information on a DIY car alarm install and all cars are different to an extent. For example I would need a wiring diagram for my car and COMPLETE install instructions which don't seem to come with a lot of alarms so they HAVE to be dealer installed. Please correct me if I'm wrong or not looking in the right places.

I am a network administrator by trade so technical issues for me are a challenge I'd like to accept as long as it's reasonable. I just don't know if I should just get this alarm installed and be done with it, or attempt to do it myself and save money with the CORRECT documentation. Any advice you can give a car security bonehead would be greatly appreciated ;-)

michaellane
03-27-2009, 10:29 AM
well i have a 2002 honda accord and i know vipers 2way alarm was like 500 if i had best buy install it.

MonkeyBone
03-27-2009, 10:56 AM
well i have a 2002 honda accord and i know vipers 2way alarm was like 500 if i had best buy install it.

So I'm guessing that the 550 is not too far off base then? I'll give Best Buy a call and see what they have to say. Didn't realize they install alarms as well. Thanks.

MonkeyBone
03-27-2009, 11:55 AM
Called best Buy and I think I'm going with the Viper 5701 w/o the remote start installed because I have a manual. It will be almost $100 cheaper and the Viper name.