PDA

View Full Version : blowthrough questions



orangecounty1
03-25-2009, 04:09 PM
well some people are talking me into doing a blowthrough...... i may or may not...i have a ton of room though since its an 8 foot bed, so ill still have room to put **** in the bed plus i can use the trailer if i need to get wood or something

anyways, i know i would need that accordion boot stuff..wheres the cheapest place to get it, i was looking last night and i didnt know its like 80+ bux..........

post some pics of nice installs btw so i can get some ideas

KHARPS
03-25-2009, 07:46 PM
I want to do one this summer on my truck. What kind of setup did you have in mind? Here is a pic of my favorite design I've seen on here.

http://i313.photobucket.com/albums/ll385/tezin87/ImportedPhotos00002.jpg

spencer321
03-25-2009, 07:50 PM
i'm personally partial to the 4th order with the port coming through the cut through.

KHARPS
03-25-2009, 07:53 PM
i'm personally partial to the 4th order with the port coming through the cut through.

That's what a few people recommended I do. I don't have the first clue on designing a 4th order so I'd have to pay someone for a design. I think I'd be satisfied with a pair of 12s and a lot of power. I don't want to use up that much of my bed because I still have to move out of my house at the end of the school year, into my house for next year, and then out again when the year is over.

bball09124
03-25-2009, 07:57 PM
When I bought my camper boot I believe it was $7 a foot or something like that.

ngsm13
03-25-2009, 08:00 PM
When I bought my camper boot I believe it was $7 a foot or something like that.

This is about right...

nG

TnT_Sounds
03-25-2009, 08:01 PM
I'd like to consider myself an expert with blowthroughs.... I know of many places to get some pretty cheap. I would link it but I'm on my phone so it would take a while.. But anyway you could get some local from a topper shop pretty cheap as well.. I'll post some pics of blowthroughs. Also don't think it to be hard cuz its not and I have a 6ft bed and have 6 12's in my blowthrough

traksta15
03-25-2009, 08:09 PM
A guy at my local shop (the owner actually) said if I did a blow through i'd always have a problem with dust getting in my truck, any truth to this?

And, how much more road noise should I expect if I did this?

Sorry to thread jack, im contemplating doing one too.

Supergumby5000
03-25-2009, 08:11 PM
A guy at my local shop (the owner actually) said if I did a blow through i'd always have a problem with dust getting in my truck, any truth to this?

And, how much more road noise should I expect if I did this?

1) that guys an idiot

2) road noise will be dependent on how you install everything.

john denver
03-25-2009, 08:20 PM
u should do a blow through with e8's

TnT_Sounds
03-25-2009, 08:23 PM
1) that guys an idiot

2) road noise will be dependent on how you install everything.

X2 that guy is a moron.. I quit using the accordian boot and built a gasket out of bent steel and never had problems with dust.. Also you may have road noise if you don't have any type of carpet in the bed or on the box cuz the noise could travel through the bare box from sitting on steel that vibrates. I layed carpet in my bed and put some mat underneath that.

It all depends on how you instal it

traksta15
03-25-2009, 08:42 PM
I'd put a bed rug in there jus to keep everything lookin good, you got any pics of that bent steel gasket?

TnT_Sounds
03-25-2009, 09:59 PM
I'll post up when I'm home.. Shits hard to do on a phone

traksta15
03-25-2009, 10:57 PM
lol I feel ya.

What are the pros and cons to doing a blow through??

SWFL
03-25-2009, 11:01 PM
pros-loud as balls and stealth and allows room for inside of cab to do w/e with
cons-none haha maybe going deaf, and of course the rattles and truck falling apart

i plan to run 4 15's in my f150 blowthrough, prob some dc's or fi's on around 10krms of course two alts and 4-6 batteries hah. tuned to around 33hz should be every bit of loud and on the meter even tuned low should put up numbers in the low 150's. That one guy with the 4 15's type r's on only 4k pulled a 149 so i will have 1.5 times his power so should see around 3-5db higher should be easily in the 152 range

TnT_Sounds
03-25-2009, 11:05 PM
Cons are your only really limtied to certain enclosures as far as generic bass reflex to bandpass. And your also limited on woofer size.. I dont like to angle my woofers and keep the axis vertical but some people like to slant the woofers since they wont fit properly.

Here's that gasket I made on a metal break.

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg317/thumpster_18/2.jpg
http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg317/thumpster_18/4.jpg
http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg317/thumpster_18/6.jpg

Its bolted to both the bed and the cab... Bed flex is not an issue unless you ever plan on articulating your suspension 4wheeling. It really helped out a ton with the rear window flex.. It dont move at all now.

TnT_Sounds
03-25-2009, 11:06 PM
Also you dont need to do something like this, i did it because I change systems regularly and it was easier to do.. Also my blowthrough opening is quite big.

TnT_Sounds
03-25-2009, 11:09 PM
This setup is with 2 15's in a 6th order. Batterys under center console

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg317/thumpster_18/6thorder.jpg
http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg317/thumpster_18/6thorder2.jpg
http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg317/thumpster_18/6thorder3.jpg

SWFL
03-25-2009, 11:10 PM
how much difference did it do for weight in the bed, as in making it sag, and gas mileage and braking. consider a box to take up my whole bed for 4 15's looking at 400-500lbs plus batteries. so around 1000lbs

traksta15
03-25-2009, 11:27 PM
Im wanting to do one for my 03 silverado ext. cab but I just got it a month or two ago, I can't make myself cut it! Oh but I want to so bad. I'd just do 2 12's or 3-4 tens......I don't really want to have to upgrade to a h/o alt just yet.

SWFL
03-25-2009, 11:29 PM
go big or go home, why cut up your truck and not get loud as possible with the room you have

traksta15
03-25-2009, 11:39 PM
true, I just know it's going to hurt cutting it lol





But, when I bought it, it already had a tonneau cover so I guess it was kind of asking for it.

TnT_Sounds
03-26-2009, 12:14 AM
Save the pieces and you can always have a professional body shop fix the hole.. I noticed a loss in power and maybe 4mpg but its not really my every day driver. I also have a 500lb box, 300lb in subs and about 150 in batteries.

You must have a pretty big system for it to weight that much.. Got pics?

traksta15
03-26-2009, 12:35 AM
So what's the best way to do it:

put your box up against the hole and seal with a accordian boot/steel gasket

Or

How did the guy with the 4 memphis 10's do it? His is clean! I'd keep my backseat of course but I like how he made it look seemless from the amp rack to the subs.

SWFL
03-26-2009, 01:33 AM
havent done it yet, i am wanting to do 4 15's on 10k watts gonna run either btl's, or dc's on two vfl 500.1's along with a pair of mechman or dc alt 250-300amp alt, battery upfront, and 4 at least maybe 6 powermaster batts in teh back w/e it takes to keep the voltage up above 12 at full tilt at idle with the truck on. Prob do around 4-6 runs to the back. for the power.

around 16 cubes tuned to 33hz should be very loud and still be around the low to mid 150's

TnT_Sounds
03-26-2009, 03:01 AM
havent done it yet, i am wanting to do 4 15's on 10k watts gonna run either btl's, or dc's on two vfl 500.1's along with a pair of mechman or dc alt 250-300amp alt, battery upfront, and 4 at least maybe 6 powermaster batts in teh back w/e it takes to keep the voltage up above 12 at full tilt at idle with the truck on. Prob do around 4-6 runs to the back. for the power.

around 16 cubes tuned to 33hz should be very loud and still be around the low to mid 150's


Ah i see... Good luck with 15's... You'll need like a 6th order series.. Like the one guy running the 8 or 6 DC lvl4 15's

orangecounty1
03-26-2009, 08:12 AM
I want to run like 12 cheap 12s (hifonics) but I don't think I've got the room. I do but I don't wanna use my WHOLE bed... What I have so far is 21 cubes gross. I wanted to do a bandpass box..may just go with 4 better 12s (maybe type r's) in a bandpass, rather than 12 cheaper 12s ported

do u have pics of ur 6 12s? I don't think I've seen it

orangecounty1
03-26-2009, 11:14 AM
Question.. I eventually want a tonnaue (spelling) cover, but I'm wondering.. If I build the box from mdf, then hit it with some sealer of some sort, then I'm going to get some DIY bedliner and brush a few layers of that on the whole bed plus the box, that should be good if it rains right? Amps will be in the cabin so that's not an issue, and I'm going to bolt the box through the bed with a ton of bolts so it won't be able to be lifted.

Has anyone done this?

traksta15
03-26-2009, 11:23 AM
personally I wouldn't do it like that. From what ive heard mdf is like a sponge.

orangecounty1
03-26-2009, 11:29 AM
Even after putting a sealer on the outside of the box + bedliner?

It actually won't be on the box, I'd put a trim panel to make it flush with the bed, then put the sealer on that

KHARPS
03-26-2009, 11:31 AM
I would at least get a cheap vinyl tonneau cover until you can buy a nicer one. Look on craigslist.

traksta15
03-26-2009, 11:32 AM
question: do you have to do anything to the tonneau cover? Like deadening or anything?

bball09124
03-26-2009, 11:39 AM
Question.. I eventually want a tonnaue (spelling) cover, but I'm wondering.. If I build the box from mdf, then hit it with some sealer of some sort, then I'm going to get some DIY bedliner and brush a few layers of that on the whole bed plus the box, that should be good if it rains right? Amps will be in the cabin so that's not an issue, and I'm going to bolt the box through the bed with a ton of bolts so it won't be able to be lifted.

Has anyone done this?

I'd throw some fiberglass resin to make sure it's not gonna soak up water.

bball09124
03-26-2009, 11:40 AM
question: do you have to do anything to the tonneau cover? Like deadening or anything?

No? Why would you?

SWFL
03-26-2009, 11:56 AM
Ah i see... Good luck with 15's... You'll need like a 6th order series.. Like the one guy running the 8 or 6 DC lvl4 15's


ok not sure what that is, but i figured do two subs on each side facing each other so 2 subs on the driver side facing the passanger side and 2 on the passanger facing the driver side, and port comming from the back ported into the place where the subs are kinda like a pressure chamber or w/e its called. what exactly is a 6th order series.

and why do us say good luck with 15's should i just go with 6 12's or what or maybe even 8 12's if i can squeeze them in there

mcsoul
03-26-2009, 11:59 AM
I'm a value consumer lol (aka cheap bastige). I think 2 or 4 Dayton
Titanic 15's model real nice in 4th order blow through. They only need
600w each to be happy.

traksta15
03-26-2009, 12:26 PM
No? Why would you?

Just checking, im trying to get as much info as I can get so I can eventually do a blow through. I still owe about $10k on the truck so I might wait til I pay it off first.

galacticmonkey
03-26-2009, 02:26 PM
4 12s in a 4th order and be done.

You could fit 12 12s, but you would need like 74" depth for a sideways clam. And thats with all single 3/4" wood. Would need to be braced like crazy.

orangecounty1
03-26-2009, 03:37 PM
im drawing something up now

orangecounty1
03-26-2009, 03:37 PM
get on aim

traksta15
03-26-2009, 06:53 PM
there should be an "official blow through" sticky

TnT_Sounds
03-26-2009, 07:41 PM
4 12s in a 4th order and be done.

You could fit 12 12s, but you would need like 74" depth for a sideways clam. And thats with all single 3/4" wood. Would need to be braced like crazy.

I need to talk to you dude.. ygpm

TnT_Sounds
03-26-2009, 07:42 PM
ok not sure what that is, but i figured do two subs on each side facing each other so 2 subs on the driver side facing the passanger side and 2 on the passanger facing the driver side, and port comming from the back ported into the place where the subs are kinda like a pressure chamber or w/e its called. what exactly is a 6th order series.

and why do us say good luck with 15's should i just go with 6 12's or what or maybe even 8 12's if i can squeeze them in there

Just saying 15's are hard to make fit... I like to fit the woofers depending on how tall I can cut the blowthrough.. I had 15's but it was a pain. I'd rather have my 12's.

TnT_Sounds
03-26-2009, 07:47 PM
Question.. I eventually want a tonnaue (spelling) cover, but I'm wondering.. If I build the box from mdf, then hit it with some sealer of some sort, then I'm going to get some DIY bedliner and brush a few layers of that on the whole bed plus the box, that should be good if it rains right? Amps will be in the cabin so that's not an issue, and I'm going to bolt the box through the bed with a ton of bolts so it won't be able to be lifted.

Has anyone done this?

From expiernce I will vouch and say dont use the bedliner as the only thing to "waterproof" your box... That **** ***** for waterproofing. I resin every box I do and never had problems. Even if you ever have to take off the cover you know its going to be ok if it gets wet.

Also for a tonneau cover, check out

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=checker+pro+covers

I got mine for $500 and shipped free to my work.

TnT_Sounds
03-26-2009, 07:52 PM
This is the current boc for the 6 12's. 4th order bandpass

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg317/thumpster_18/travis024.jpg

It's not done yet.

traksta15
03-26-2009, 07:55 PM
that looks sick!!

TnT_Sounds
03-26-2009, 08:30 PM
I plan to have something like Jacks blowthrough after this setup.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-w5dCksZOE

Jack has 8 15" DC lvl4 xl's

SWFL
03-26-2009, 08:35 PM
what numbers u think i could do with 4 15's tuned to around 33hz on 10kwatts going more for daily. Just gonna be my daily driver but for numbers just curious. prob around 16cubes net

galacticmonkey
03-26-2009, 08:38 PM
TnT, what are the specs on your box?

TnT_Sounds
03-26-2009, 08:38 PM
Jacks **** slams

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jf9es4qKiGI

TnT_Sounds
03-26-2009, 08:41 PM
TnT, what are the specs on your box?

As far as cu. ft and tuning?

I could figure it out, but I didn't design the box.

01 S 10
03-26-2009, 08:41 PM
what numbers u think i could do with 4 15's tuned to around 33hz on 10kwatts going more for daily. Just gonna be my daily driver but for numbers just curious. prob around 16cubes net

"should" be 154's, most likely low 150's

TnT_Sounds
03-26-2009, 08:45 PM
"should" be 154's, most likely low 150's

That would be a crazy setup.. Jacks 8 15's do close to 153 at 25hz

KHARPS
03-26-2009, 08:50 PM
I want to get ahold of 4-12s and do a 4th order like yours TnT. I have no idea how to design one though.

TnT_Sounds
03-26-2009, 08:59 PM
I want to get ahold of 4-12s and do a 4th order like yours TnT. I have no idea how to design one though.

G'monk could probably help you out with a design I would think.

I personaly want to later go to 8 or 10 12's if I can fit them.

galacticmonkey
03-26-2009, 10:04 PM
Yeah, I gotta run for now, but anyone interested just PM me.

orangecounty1
03-26-2009, 10:29 PM
is jack's setup bandpass as well? is that why it gets so low?

**** it, im doing bandpass. gmonk i have a good idea i think youll like it

Annnarbor84
03-26-2009, 10:38 PM
Jacks is a monster 152@ 25hz:wow:

TnT_Sounds
03-26-2009, 10:51 PM
Jacks is a 6th order bandpass... G monk can probably whip up something killer for some 12s in a nice bandpass

TnT_Sounds
03-26-2009, 11:07 PM
G monk don't like to reply to pm's or what? Lol

Jk

galacticmonkey
03-27-2009, 01:38 AM
Jacks is just ported isnt it? Looks to be.

TnT, Im off to bed now, Ill get your PM in the morning.