PDA

View Full Version : Box Clamps



ascitiesburn69
03-25-2009, 09:58 AM
Ok i plan to build another box this summer the hdc3 or AA chaos or DC lvl 4 or RD sonance or possibly DD 3512 that i plan to get.(anyone wanna chime in which to use off a AQ 1200d or similar in a 2.3-2.5cuft box.) And i was wondering what to you guys use to clamp the box together.
Angle clamps like this: http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=10051&langId=-1&catalogId=10053&productId=100180604

Or do you just glue it then screw it to hold it in place?
Plan to use titebond II
Also what do you guys brace with? All thread? dowels, 2x2's?

dappa5
03-25-2009, 10:29 AM
that clamp will help you if not to experienced with building things square
tight bond II is what you want and allthread is the best bracing but it is a bit unsightly . if you want a pretty box you can use dowels or just the 2x2's internaly gl w build

dappa5
03-25-2009, 10:30 AM
P.S get two of those corner clamps and look into pipe clamps

ramos
03-25-2009, 10:37 AM
Ok i plan to build another box this summer the hdc3 or AA chaos or DC lvl 4 or RD sonance or possibly DD 3512 that i plan to get.(anyone wanna chime in which to use off a AQ 1200d or similar in a 2.3-2.5cuft box.) And i was wondering what to you guys use to clamp the box together.
Angle clamps like this: http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=10051&langId=-1&catalogId=10053&productId=100180604

Or do you just glue it then screw it to hold it in place?
Plan to use titebond II
Also what do you guys brace with? All thread? dowels, 2x2's?


Corner clamps are a god send. Always clamp, keeps needed pressure on the glued surfaces for a solid bond. I tend to use what ever is handy for bracing. Left over scraps of mdf, threaded rod if I have some yada yada :)

PUREAUDIO
03-25-2009, 10:38 AM
P.S get two of those corner clamps and look into pipe clamps

good idea

steveBeatz
03-25-2009, 10:45 AM
I use bar clamps like this..
http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=10051&langId=-1&catalogId=10053&productId=100159936

dappa5
03-25-2009, 10:50 AM
lol product curently not available lol steve bought them all

dappa5
03-25-2009, 10:51 AM
but i kno the one's they have w/the orange handles and ends
you want those

99grandprixGT
03-25-2009, 10:54 AM
i used those corner clamps for my first box. it helped me keep the pieces at 90 angle so i could put the other clamps on and some screws before i started on the other piece.

ascitiesburn69
03-25-2009, 11:03 AM
Ok so two of those should be all i need for a 34" wide box? How long you guys think i should keep it clamped for 30mins? to allow it to make a good enough bond to hold so i can get the screws in

99grandprixGT
03-25-2009, 11:05 AM
Ok so two of those should be all i need for a 34" wide box? How long you guys think i should keep it clamped for 30mins? to allow it to make a good enough bond to hold so i can get the screws in

do you have any clamps like this?
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/productImages/400/1d/1d9b5719-dd9f-4a5a-baa9-ac2fd5b794fd_400.jpg

ascitiesburn69
03-25-2009, 11:10 AM
no sadly where could i get them? and would it be better? easier?

ramos
03-25-2009, 01:03 PM
Ok so two of those should be all i need for a 34" wide box? How long you guys think i should keep it clamped for 30mins? to allow it to make a good enough bond to hold so i can get the screws in



You can NEVER have too many clamps. You can probably get by with two, but more will make the job easier. Pre drill after you get everything clamped together, then screw it together. Personally I like to leave it clamped for a half an hour or so depending upon the temperature and weather. :)

Rich B
03-25-2009, 01:10 PM
no sadly where could i get them? and would it be better? easier?


The cheapest place is Harbor Freight.

24" Ratchet Bar Clamp/Spreader http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/photos/46800-46899/46809.gif
$5.99

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=46809

thehardknoxlife
03-25-2009, 01:12 PM
Do you have a Harbor Freight (http://search.harborfreight.com/cpisearch/web/search.do?keyword=bar+clamp&Submit=Go) near you? They have everything you need for cheap. For light use tools they can't be beat.

ascitiesburn69
03-25-2009, 04:39 PM
no i dont think i have one by me sadly bc ive always been told about the cheapness. So bar clamps? instead of angle clamps?

99grandprixGT
03-25-2009, 04:43 PM
they have them at home depot but there kinda pricey. i got mine from a local hardware store for like 10 bucks for 36 inch clamps got 4 of them and 2 of the angle clamps.

RAM_Designs
03-25-2009, 04:47 PM
If you need really long clamps(like how I do building 4ft to 5ft long boxes for my truck), get pipe clamp sets, and just buy .5" or 1" pipe(or whatever size the set calls for) to make them whatever length you need. I'd suggest going with a 1" pipe if you're making them over 4ft long. The sets cost just $10-15 normally, and the pipe isn't very expensive at all...looking at around $20 per clamp.

thehardknoxlife
03-25-2009, 05:05 PM
If you need really long clamps(like how I do building 4ft to 5ft long boxes for my truck), get pipe clamp sets, and just buy .5" or 1" pipe(or whatever size the set calls for) to make them whatever length you need. I'd suggest going with a 1" pipe if you're making them over 4ft long. The sets cost just $10-15 normally, and the pipe isn't very expensive at all...looking at around $20 per clamp.
X2, I use these (http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=46828). They also have the 1/2" set for $4.

ascitiesburn69
03-25-2009, 05:55 PM
nice price on those. Im gonna go look at a local hardware store for some large clamps. and anyone wanna share their "order of operations" for box building like front of box to bottom first then back then side then other side then port etc etc etc.... I built mine and its pretty solid but i didnt glue the wood together just siliconed the seams...at least it didnt fall apart lol.

thehardknoxlife
03-25-2009, 06:12 PM
If it's a slot port. I always make the top and bottom the max dimensions. Then I start with the bottom>front>port>(paint)>side>back>(paint)port side>top.I also caulk throughout the procedure.

If it's round ports I just make a cube then cuts some holes in it....

Wood glue is what holds a box together, definitely wouldn't skimp on this. I also use a brad nailer instead of screws. With enough clamps (or patience) you wouldn't need either. The glue would hold it.