PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a noob (07 Subaru Impreza WRX sedan)

agrogasboy
03-22-2009, 09:16 AM
Car is an 07 Subaru Impreza WRX sedan. I've already replaced the stock headunit with a 2-DIN Pioneer DVD so i could attah my iPod (I used to use a tape adaptor with the stock headunit, which really irritated me).

Anyways, i've finally saved up some cash to upgrade front speakers and add a sub & amp. I listen to a broad range of music, and I give more importance to SQ. I would like to hear the instuments and vocals clearly. I'm new to this and have just spent the past 4 days checking several forums. This will be the first and last investment into the car, from an audio perspective, so I want the system to be good enough that I will not want to upgrade, ever.

Appreciate your advice on the following set-up offered to me by a local shop:

Option 1:
Focal 165VR
Earthquake SWS12 sub
4-channel amp (can't recall what brand/model they recommended)
price quote: ~$960(installed)

Option 2 (cheaper):
Focal 165CA1 (i think this will be powered by the HU)
Earthquake SWS12 sub
2-channel amp (any recommendations)
price quote: ~$600 (installed)

In both options, the reco is to kill the 4in speakers in the back seat. I don't mind since I stay up front all the time anyways.

Is it worth investing in sound deadening? Is it advisable to just do the front doors and trunk?

If you have any other recommendations, pls feel free to enlighten me.:)

jackie.scoth
03-22-2009, 09:24 AM
If you have enough cash, you can do both options that will enhance your car more.

maddskillzz
03-22-2009, 09:31 AM
Car is an 07 Subaru Impreza WRX sedan. I've already replaced the stock headunit with a 2-DIN Pioneer DVD so i could attah my iPod (I used to use a tape adaptor with the stock headunit, which really irritated me).