PDA

View Full Version : Is this a bad idea....? Bring in the PROFFESINALS!



*Honda*Bass*
03-19-2009, 06:05 PM
lol its not complicated I'm sure. Well I have a mtx mxa4004 that is does 100 rms x 4 @ 2ohms and does 50 rms x 4 @ 4ohms. I also have 2 6.5" Polk Audio DB6500 that are 100 rms a piece @ 4ohms. Also I have 2 Polk Audio MMC690 that are 100 rms a piece @ 4ohms.

Basically, I want full potential out of my soon to be (just ordered speakers) speakers with out damaging them. Idealy I need a amp that does 100 rms x 4 @ 4ohms( want the Alpine Vpower mpr-f600). My amp does 100 rms x 4 @ 2ohms.

Will it be okay to run them @ 2ohms at 100 rms a piece or should I play it safe and run them @ 4ohms at 50 rms a piece?

Thank you.:)

funkyab
03-19-2009, 06:07 PM
l

Will it be okay to run them @ 2ohms at 100 rms a piece

Thank you.:)

yes.

*Honda*Bass*
03-19-2009, 06:10 PM
Can you say anything to back that up? No offense.

Toone
03-19-2009, 06:13 PM
how do you wire a single 4 to 2?

funkyab
03-19-2009, 06:14 PM
you already said that the amp that you want to use puts out 100@2ohm indicating your amp has no problem with a 2ohm load. What more do you want to know? At 4ohm your speakers will get 50watts at 2ohm they will get 100.

okiedokie
03-19-2009, 06:16 PM
just xover your comps over @ 100hz to 80hz to start with,

speedfreak28
03-19-2009, 06:18 PM
how can you runa single 4 ohm speaker at 2 ohm?

speedfreak28
03-19-2009, 06:18 PM
heres a 2 ohm component set, problem solved :)
http://www.woofersetc.com/p7173/CXS62-V2--Image-Dynamics-65"-2-ohm-Component-System.htm

*Honda*Bass*
03-19-2009, 06:25 PM
you already said that the amp that you want to use puts out 100@2ohm indicating your amp has no problem with a 2ohm load. What more do you want to know? At 4ohm your speakers will get 50watts at 2ohm they will get 100.

So the amp being 2ohms wont affect the 4 ohm speakers? Thats what I'm trying to get more clear on.

I was thinking if you had 4- 4ohm 100rms a piece speakers you should have a amp that is 4 x 100rms @ 4ohms....not 4 x 100rms @ 2ohms like I have.

I think I had that mixed up..?

*Honda*Bass*
03-19-2009, 06:26 PM
heres a 2 ohm component set, problem solved :)
http://www.woofersetc.com/p7173/CXS62-V2--Image-Dynamics-65"-2-ohm-Component-System.htm

lol just ordered my Polk Audio speakers today

*Honda*Bass*
03-19-2009, 06:27 PM
So the amp being 2ohms wont affect the 4 ohm speakers? Thats what I'm trying to get more clear on.

I was thinking if you had 4- 4ohm 100rms a piece speakers you should have a amp that is 4 x 100rms @ 4ohms....not 4 x 100rms @ 2ohms like I have.

I think I had that mixed up..?

My amp is 4ohm stable but only puts out 50 rms a piece.... I want the 100rms if possible @ 2ohms. IDK I'm confused.

MisterGrubbs
03-19-2009, 06:30 PM
Your speakers are 4ohm speakers, correct?

Okay - - - - - - - - - - - - - if you have 4 ohm speakers, you are GOING TO HAVE TO Run your amplifier at 4ohms. There is no way to make a 4ohm speaker run an amplifier at 2ohms.

4ohm speaker means it's going to be 4ohms on the amplifier.

You are going to be powering your speakers with 50x4, seing that they are all single voice coil 4ohm speakers.

And you'll be fine - - - just please dont jack the gains and be stupid with them trying to get them louder. Check out the tutorials on this site to tune their amplifier in a bit better.

iamamp3pimp
03-19-2009, 06:31 PM
how do you wire a single 4 to 2?

you cant.

its not like there is a switch or something....

okiedokie
03-19-2009, 06:31 PM
If Your Speakers Are 4omhs They Will Stay 4ohms,bridging Your Amp Will Give You 2ohms Load Which Is Good Enough,
Dont Forget To Deaden Your Doors

TurdFergueson2
03-19-2009, 06:31 PM
how can you runa single 4 ohm speaker at 2 ohm?

No way that I know of.

See what your amp does bridged.

iamamp3pimp
03-19-2009, 06:32 PM
My amp is 4ohm stable but only puts out 50 rms a piece.... I want the 100rms if possible @ 2ohms. IDK I'm confused.

either run the amp at 50x4, or buy a second set of comps and run them all......

*Honda*Bass*
03-19-2009, 06:33 PM
Your speakers are 4ohm speakers, correct?

Okay - - - - - - - - - - - - - if you have 4 ohm speakers, you are GOING TO HAVE TO Run your amplifier at 4ohms. There is no way to make a 4ohm speaker run an amplifier at 2ohms.

4ohm speaker means it's going to be 4ohms on the amplifier.

You are going to be powering your speakers with 50x4, seing that they are all single voice coil 4ohm speakers.

And you'll be fine - - - just please dont jack the gains and be stupid with them trying to get them louder. Check out the tutorials on this site to tune their amplifier in a bit better.

Okay! Thank you! Thats what I was thinking and yes I have no idea how to tune. I will def. be looking that up. Thx much

*Honda*Bass*
03-19-2009, 06:36 PM
If Your Speakers Are 4omhs They Will Stay 4ohms,bridging Your Amp Will Give You 2ohms Load Which Is Good Enough,
Dont Forget To Deaden Your Doors

I should bridge the amp?

I really don't want to mess with the deader lol. I was putting that off.... do you guys highly recommend that?

iamamp3pimp
03-19-2009, 06:39 PM
the deader?

*Honda*Bass*
03-19-2009, 06:40 PM
the deader?

yea... looks expensive and seems to be a pain in the, butt. Is it worth it?

*Honda*Bass*
03-19-2009, 06:46 PM
Also seeing my amp is 50rms x 4 at 4 ohms can I bridge it to get 100 rms x 2 @ 2 ohms. I got 2- 4ohm 6x9's and 2- 4ohm 6.5" components with tweets. 4 speakers all together.:confused:

iamamp3pimp
03-19-2009, 06:49 PM
you lack training my son, let me take you under my wing.

if you run your comp set and your rear 6x9's off the same channels (2 channels) then you are getting 100x2@2 ohms.

which is 50 watts/Speaker (think of the tweet/mid as one speaker, and the 6x9 as the other speaker.

so that wont help you.

if you dont like running 50x4 then you have 3 options

buy more comps to run with your existing comps (same ones obviously....) buy a 2 ohm set of comps (more expensive for some reason) or buy an amp that does the power you need @ 4 ohms instead of 2 ohms.

got it?

DonH
03-19-2009, 06:50 PM
Also seeing my amp is 50rms x 4 at 4 ohms can I bridge it to get 100 rms x 2 @ 2 ohms. I got 2- 4ohm 6x9's and 2- 4ohm 6.5" components with tweets. 4 speakers all together.:confused:

why not return the ones you bought and buy 2ohm speakers?? problem solved :D

*Honda*Bass*
03-19-2009, 06:54 PM
you lack training my son, let me take you under my wing.

if you run your comp set and your rear 6x9's off the same channels (2 channels) then you are getting 100x2@2 ohms.

which is 50 watts/Speaker (think of the tweet/mid as one speaker, and the 6x9 as the other speaker.

so that wont help you.

if you dont like running 50x4 then you have 3 options

buy more comps to run with your existing comps (same ones obviously....) buy a 2 ohm set of comps (more expensive for some reason) or buy an amp that does the power you need @ 4 ohms instead of 2 ohms.

got it?

Yes I got it.... thanks for your patience for I am a young grasshopper trying to get my wings as well.

I will be happy with 4 x 50rms @ 4ohms for now until I get my Alpine MRP-F600 that does 4 x 100 @ 4ohms.

lol your great man... now the deadner, do you highly recommend it.

*Honda*Bass*
03-19-2009, 06:56 PM
why not return the ones you bought and buy 2ohm speakers?? problem solved :D

well I got them off ebay :crap:.

cj407
03-20-2009, 12:45 AM
it will be fine unless the speakers arent a true 100 rms....you would just need to wire both speakers postives to the positive terminal and negatives to the negative terminal....

iamamp3pimp
03-20-2009, 09:51 AM
Yes I got it.... thanks for your patience for I am a young grasshopper trying to get my wings as well.

I will be happy with 4 x 50rms @ 4ohms for now until I get my Alpine MRP-F600 that does 4 x 100 @ 4ohms.

lol your great man... now the deadner, do you highly recommend it.

oh the deadner....lol

at least on the doors to create a rather large sealed chamber for the mid to play in...absolytely.

made a day/night difference in my car just sealing all the holes on the panel that the mids attach to.