PDA

View Full Version : It gets loud but not low



sweenster123
03-15-2009, 04:49 AM
Ok so i just got 1 re se 15's d2. I built my box to roughly 8.19 cubed after displacement. I thought i had it tuned to around 35 but it just doesnt sound right it only hits hard on the higher notes. Im assuming its tuned way to high. I allowed for 180 square inches of port? dont know if its right or not. my port is 10 x 8 and is 9.6 inches long. can someone please help me. Im dead tired and pissed cause it didnt turn out like i thought it would. BTW its in the back seat of my 4door car. subs are facing towards the front and the port is firing at the ceiling of the car. any help is appreciated.

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 05:14 AM
actually theres 2 my bad been up for over 24 hours...

Mattd0344
03-15-2009, 05:27 AM
http://www.reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html

mess around with that^ it will tell you what you are tuned at

DidUHearThat?
03-15-2009, 06:42 AM
Stuff some foam rubber, blanket or a coat into the port to seal it up temporarily. If it sounds better sealed, you built the port wrong. If it doesn't change, the problem is something else.

Double check your crossovers. You should have your amp/HU set to LPF ~65 hz, not HPF. Make sure you don't have either the amp or HU set to HPF. Set any bass boost down to zero, and sub sonic filter down to 20 hz.

GAM3OVR
03-15-2009, 06:44 AM
Stuff some foam rubber, blanket or a coat into the port to seal it up temporarily. If it sounds better sealed, you built the port wrong. If it doesn't change, the problem is something else.

Double check your crossovers. You should have your amp/HU set to LPF ~65 hz, not HPF. Make sure you don't have either the amp or HU set to HPF. Set any bass boost down to zero, and sub sonic filter down to 20 hz.



THIS

DidUHearThat?
03-15-2009, 06:53 AM
****! LOL! You quoted me before I got a chance to fix my stupid spelling and tell him to turn off the bass boos and SS filter.

RAM_Designs
03-15-2009, 08:31 AM
Seems like you're not ported at 35hz like you said.

GAM3OVR
03-15-2009, 08:33 AM
****! LOL! You quoted me before I got a chance to fix my stupid spelling and tell him to turn off the bass boos and SS filter.

Fixed, just for you mate ;)

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 08:36 AM
Ok so i just got 1 re se 15's d2. I built my box to roughly 8.19 cubed after displacement. I thought i had it tuned to around 35 but it just doesnt sound right it only hits hard on the higher notes. Im assuming its tuned way to high. I allowed for 180 square inches of port? dont know if its right or not. my port is 10 x 8 and is 9.6 inches long. can someone please help me. Im dead tired and pissed cause it didnt turn out like i thought it would. BTW its in the back seat of my 4door car. subs are facing towards the front and the port is firing at the ceiling of the car. any help is appreciated.

Yea, youre enclosure is tuned to 39.374Hz if the info here is correct...this is why you arent hitting the lows so hot...

GAM3OVR
03-15-2009, 08:39 AM
Yea, youre enclosure is tuned to 39.374Hz if the info here is correct...this is why you arent hitting the lows so hot...

Hey Doug, the link to your page of the saturn has epic fail on the photobucket links

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 08:43 AM
Hey Doug, the link to your page of the saturn has epic fail on the photobucket links

#@$% me...lol, thanks...I'll need to upload them on another photobucket or something

GAM3OVR
03-15-2009, 08:46 AM
#@$% me...lol, thanks...I'll need to upload them on another photobucket or something

Yup, I was trying to check it out

:(

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 08:47 AM
Yup, I was trying to check it out

:(

Lol, well the pics here on the forum still work in my gallery..:(

mazdakid
03-15-2009, 09:14 AM
if your box is really 8 cubes, and you only have an 8x10 port, then it should be tuned under 35hz. an 8x10 port is only 80sq in, not 180

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 09:33 AM
if your box is really 8 cubes, and you only have an 8x10 port, then it should be tuned under 35hz. an 8x10 port is only 80sq in, not 180


8.19 x 12 x 12 x 12 = 14152.32

----------

sq root of 80 = 8.944272

8.944272 x .823 = 7.36114

7.36114 + 9.6 = 16.96114

16.96114 x 14152.32 = 240039.42114931377967401178928145

--------

184000000 x 80 = 14720000000

14720000000/240039.42114931377967401178928145 = 61323.260694099042022890516680104

sq root of 61323.260694099042022890516680104 = 247.63533813674299991100597414623

247.63533813674299991100597414623 x .159 = 39.374018763742136985849949889251

That gets you 39.374018763742136985849949889251 Hz tuning...

GAM3OVR
03-15-2009, 09:40 AM
8.19 x 12 x 12 x 12 = 14152.32

----------

sq root of 80 = 8.944272

8.944272 x .823 = 7.36114

7.36114 + 9.6 = 16.96114

16.96114 x 14152.32 = 240039.42114931377967401178928145

--------

184000000 x 80 = 14720000000

14720000000/240039.42114931377967401178928145 = 61323.260694099042022890516680104

sq root of 61323.260694099042022890516680104 = 247.63533813674299991100597414623

247.63533813674299991100597414623 x .159 = 39.374018763742136985849949889251

That gets you 39.374018763742136985849949889251 Hz tuning...

My head hurts

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 09:42 AM
My head hurts

Child's play...:)

GAM3OVR
03-15-2009, 09:45 AM
Child's play...:)

Meh, I'll just stick to trees, vodka, and *******

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 09:48 AM
Meh, I'll just stick to trees, vodka, and *******

I do it all while calculating tuning :crazy: :laugh: :D

GAM3OVR
03-15-2009, 09:56 AM
I do it all while calculating tuning :crazy: :laugh: :D

:laugh::rolleyes:

shizzzon
03-15-2009, 11:26 AM
??? Both of you all are WAY WAY OFF.

He said he has 2 ports 10x8sqin 9.6in long

He is tuned to just over 56hz!

That's WAY too high.

You will need to build a new box.

35.5in long PER PORT is required to achieve 35hz at that large of port area.

If slot ported, 31.5in PER PORT.

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 11:28 AM
??? Both of you all are WAY WAY OFF.

He said he has 2 ports 10x8sqin 9.6in long

He is tuned to just over 56hz!

That's WAY too high.

You will need to build a new box.

35.5in long PER PORT is required to achieve 35hz at that large of port area.

If slot ported, 31.5in PER PORT.

Where does it say he has two ports...? everything I bolded supports the fact that he has only one port that size...


Ok so i just got 1 re se 15's d2. I built my box to roughly 8.19 cubed after displacement. I thought i had it tuned to around 35 but it just doesnt sound right it only hits hard on the higher notes. Im assuming its tuned way to high. I allowed for 180 square inches of port? dont know if its right or not. my port is 10 x 8 and is 9.6 inches long. can someone please help me. Im dead tired and pissed cause it didnt turn out like i thought it would. BTW its in the back seat of my 4door car. subs are facing towards the front and the port is firing at the ceiling of the car. any help is appreciated.

maddskillzz
03-15-2009, 11:33 AM
actually theres 2 my bad been up for over 24 hours...
2 ports or 2 subs????

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 11:35 AM
Didnt see that post he made...but im pretty sure he's talking about two subs, because in the first post he says 'subs'

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 11:36 AM
All i have to say us huh? :confused: :confused: :confused: but thanks for calculating it for me. what should i build a port to. i made it removeable for this reason.





8.19 x 12 x 12 x 12 = 14152.32

----------

sq root of 80 = 8.944272

8.944272 x .823 = 7.36114

7.36114 + 9.6 = 16.96114

16.96114 x 14152.32 = 240039.42114931377967401178928145

--------

184000000 x 80 = 14720000000

14720000000/240039.42114931377967401178928145 = 61323.260694099042022890516680104

sq root of 61323.260694099042022890516680104 = 247.63533813674299991100597414623

247.63533813674299991100597414623 x .159 = 39.374018763742136985849949889251

That gets you 39.374018763742136985849949889251 Hz tuning...

maddskillzz
03-15-2009, 11:36 AM
Didnt see that post he made...but im pretty sure he's talking about two subs, because in the first post he says 'subs'
I thought he meant subs too, but if he has two ports that big that would definitely be the problem...LOL

shizzzon
03-15-2009, 11:38 AM
SOLVED-

He posted this in another forum, it's 2 subs.

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 11:38 AM
No i have 1 port 2 subs.




??? Both of you all are WAY WAY OFF.

He said he has 2 ports 10x8sqin 9.6in long

He is tuned to just over 56hz!

That's WAY too high.

You will need to build a new box.

35.5in long PER PORT is required to achieve 35hz at that large of port area.

If slot ported, 31.5in PER PORT.

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 11:42 AM
I would say build another enclosure...you'd only be down like 40 bucks

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 11:43 AM
you on 502?




SOLVED-

He posted this in another forum, it's 2 subs.

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 11:47 AM
Id be down 60 bucks and alot of aggrivation. im gonna try to make this one work. Do u see a flaw in it by my measure ments?



I would say build another enclosure...you'd only be down like 40 bucks

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 11:48 AM
not just by measurements...idk if pics would help see any flaws...but you could try using titebond instant bond and cut some pieces to put on the end of your port to extend it...

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 11:53 AM
Well i can just take the port out and redo it. what would you make it length wise? id put pics on here but i have yet to figure out how....




not just by measurements...idk if pics would help see any flaws...but you could try using titebond instant bond and cut some pieces to put on the end of your port to extend it...

Solo-baric
03-15-2009, 11:53 AM
well good thing boxes are cheap to make, just a little time consuming is all. could've been a worse problem to discuss like the blowing of a sub or something along those lines.

I used this calculator for my first ever slot port box and it turned out fantastic
http://www.reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 11:57 AM
With the ampount of room i am limited to with 2 15's in a 39 inch well 37.5 inch box it would be kinda hard to do it. It is in my back seat so i dont know how it will sound with subs and ports facing towards the front cause the fact that its right at the seats.




well good thing boxes are cheap to make, just a little time consuming is all. could've been a worse problem to discuss like the blowing of a sub or something along those lines.

I used this calculator for my first ever slot port box and it turned out fantastic
http://www.reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html

thorshammer1
03-15-2009, 12:19 PM
You said you made the port interchangable so put a longer one in and see if you like.

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 12:23 PM
Ok. So the longer i make it the lower the tune will be.




You said you made the port interchangable so put a longer one in and see if you like.

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 12:31 PM
Ok. So the longer i make it the lower the tune will be.

To a point...but at some point you'll need to stop lengthening due to airspace you lose..

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 12:43 PM
k. If i cant get this box right what would it cost me to have you build me a good box? :D




To a point...but at some point you'll need to stop lengthening due to airspace you lose..

dman4486
03-15-2009, 12:45 PM
To a point...but at some point you'll need to stop lengthening due to airspace you lose..

externally my box is almost 8 cubes.....after sub and port it is only 4 cubes:crap:

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 12:47 PM
externally my box is almost 8 cubes.....after sub and port it is only 4 cubes:crap:

Yea, it always ***** when you start running out of room :(

And if youre wanting me to make an enclosure I wont be able to for a while because I may be moving out of my shop space and finding a new space :(

dman4486
03-15-2009, 12:48 PM
Yea, it always ***** when you start running out of room :(

And if youre wanting me to make an enclosure I wont be able to for a while because I may be moving out of my shop space and finding a new space :(

next box will be teh aeros with interchangeable ports and overall a lot smaller :D

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 12:54 PM
well crap... Hopefully i can make this one sound descent. :crap:



Yea, it always ***** when you start running out of room :(

And if youre wanting me to make an enclosure I wont be able to for a while because I may be moving out of my shop space and finding a new space :(

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 12:56 PM
Yea, it really ***** :crap:

With a steady hand and some skill you could pull it off without much of a hitch I think...I would get ahold of some gel super glue or titebond instant bond though so you can cut pieces and hold them in place for a second and have them stay...then go over any seams with woodglue or something to smooth them out

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 01:00 PM
well all i have to do is pull the port out and build a new one. would toy make it any bigger than 8 x 10 if it were u? more port area would probably help wouldnt it?



Yea, it really ***** :crap:

With a steady hand and some skill you could pull it off without much of a hitch I think...I would get ahold of some gel super glue or titebond instant bond though so you can cut pieces and hold them in place for a second and have them say...then go over any seams with woodglue or something to smooth them out

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 01:01 PM
well all i have to do is pull the port out and build a new one. would toy make it any bigger than 8 x 10 if it were u? more port area would probably help wouldnt it?

Yea, more port area would help but it doesnt help your tuning lower situation...its make it worse...so its a trade off....bigger port, longer port, or smaller port, shorter port...but with more risk for port noise

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 01:06 PM
hmm. well ill give it a try. u think if this doesnt work i could get some blueprints from you for a good box?



Yea, more port area would help but it doesnt help your tuning lower situation...its make it worse...so its a trade off....bigger port, longer port, or smaller port, shorter port...but with more risk for port noise

Pioneer~Saturn
03-15-2009, 01:30 PM
Yea, sure thing

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 01:31 PM
k ill make sure i keep u in mind. i appreciate all ur help.:D



Yea, sure thing

bassman_soundki
03-15-2009, 05:49 PM
what are you box external dimensions? Single layer face? bracing internally? maybe you calculated box vol wrong?

sweenster123
03-15-2009, 06:27 PM
I got it figured out. it was just the port. Its braced internally aith a double baffle and double top and bottim basically. the back is braced like a mofo.:D




what are you box external dimensions? Single layer face? bracing internally? maybe you calculated box vol wrong?