PDA

View Full Version : terminals



uGotF-ckedUp
03-13-2009, 11:43 PM
what do you guys do for terminals??
buy them, use bolts, or drill hole/run wire through port

dman4486
03-13-2009, 11:44 PM
drill hole and seal around wire

IDSkoT
03-13-2009, 11:52 PM
what do you guys do for terminals??
buy them, use bolts, or drill hole/run wire through port

First one looks the best, second one is most efficient, third one is cheapest.

Your choice.

uGotF-ckedUp
03-13-2009, 11:54 PM
i was talking to my uncles and he said that the bolts arent really very good.. and if i order terminals i would have to wait a week.. cuz living in bum **** south dakota you either have to orther them or drive 60 miles to go to a walmart lol... and even buy mdf here.. have to use partical board :(

uGotF-ckedUp
03-13-2009, 11:55 PM
and should i use 10 or 12 gauge speaker wire to run to re audio se 15

BallinByNature
03-13-2009, 11:58 PM
do 10 im usin 8ga

IDSkoT
03-14-2009, 12:20 AM
i was talking to my uncles and he said that the bolts arent really very good.. and if i order terminals i would have to wait a week.. cuz living in bum **** south dakota you either have to orther them or drive 60 miles to go to a walmart lol... and even buy mdf here.. have to use partical board :(

If you use Particle board, double up as much as possible. Plywood > Particle board.


And bolts are > terminals every time... There's more conductor than a terminal.

IDSkoT
03-14-2009, 12:21 AM
do 10 im usin 8ga

Doesn't mean you need it.

In order to actually need 8 awg, you'd have to have like 10k rms going to a sub.
the A/C current is high voltage, low amperes.

uGotF-ckedUp
03-14-2009, 12:34 AM
partical board ***** ***.. =[
but im not driving 60 miles to go get one sheet of mdf

ok i will do the bolt thing

HlorridiXplorer
03-14-2009, 12:40 AM
Doesn't mean you need it.

In order to actually need 8 awg, you'd have to have like 10k rms going to a sub.
the A/C current is high voltage, low amperes.

using thicker speaker wire might help you on the termlab tho.

DidUHearThat?
03-14-2009, 12:41 AM
Don't use particle board.
Ask a local carpenter/contractor for a sheet of MDF. You might even be able to salvage some from under old formica kitchen countertops.

If you can't get any, order a prefab box from Parts express. They are cheap and made of mdf. Not great, but much better than particle board.

IMO, passing a cable thru a hole is the simplest, cheapest and most efficient and reliable.

RAM_Designs
03-14-2009, 08:53 AM
x8576236 on drilling a hole and sealing it. Best connection possible.