PDA

View Full Version : SQ on the cheap

spentfromnz
03-05-2009, 07:10 AM
Can't be done, right? Wrong, one word for you... eBay!

Background...
I was originally planning on putting a low budget SPL/SQ hybrid system in my new Accord wagon. My intention was to make it the best of both worlds, loudish with mediocre levels of SQ. So I figured a few cheap entry level subs, powered by some even cheaper Alpine knockoff amps would do okay. Well then I came to the realization that SQ is much more important for me, and that SPL is really more about showing off than anything. That and I'm kind of fond of my hearing. I'm a bassist and a drummer, so tight, punchy bass is what I'm seeking.

What I have so far...
HU is a Panasonic C5301W that was in the car when I brought it. It's CD/MP3, motorized, with 2.5v sub out and full range out. Better than the Sony GT260 I kept out of my old car, so that went on eBay. At this stage I'm already up $40.

Then I brought a sub amp, a Pioneer 7400M, that I got in used but brand new condition for $90. It's 400W mono at 2ohm. The sub I have decided on is the Alpine R Type in 10", just waiting for one to come on offer.

Which brings us to the comps. Even though I'm going SQ now I still don't want to spend a fortune on my system. I was looking at cost effective options like the RF P162S or Earthquake's VTEK series, just because I could get a good price on those two locally. But then neither of them really scream quality.