PDA

View Full Version : port calculating problems

bigtbuck
08-26-2003, 03:26 PM
hey guys, heres the deal. im building a box for my 12 inch type r. its going to be 1.4275 ft^3 after displacement and i want it tuned to ~ 30 hz. when im typing in the information on a port calculator it tells me my slot port needs to be 47 inches long. i typed in 12.5 inches for the port height with a 2 inch width. What am i doing wrong here, that doesnt sound right?

my dimensions (external) are 14hx16wx18d.

If you can help me out here, it'd be appreciated. If any of you have a ported box you've made i'd appreciate the dimensions and how long your port is. i need them as soon as possible

bigtbuck
08-26-2003, 05:32 PM
well im very new with all of this stuff. i want to build a box with a slot port, tuned to around 30 hz. do you got any suggestions?

bigtbuck
08-27-2003, 04:48 PM
alright thanks jmac. i read about your car getting broken into, that *****. just whenever you get the time man

bigtbuck
08-31-2003, 04:11 PM
just moving the article back up.

jmac your help would really be appreciated whenever you get the time

bigtbuck
09-01-2003, 11:44 PM
alright thanks a lot jmac. i was typing on the port calculator but i didnt think i was doing it right, i didnt know it was normal for the port to be that long, but then again i dont know anything about ported boxes. sorry for bugging you, i know i had 2 or three different threads that were all pretty much about the same thing and you posted on all of them. i just assumed i'd messed up on the port calculator. but thanks a lot you've showed me how this needs to be done so hopefully from now on i'll be able to design my own boxes.