PDA

View Full Version : suggestions on car alarm w/o remote start

blackbonnie
02-20-2009, 05:42 AM
im looking around for some car alarms and am really interested in viper alarms as i hear great things.

problem is, i dont know where to start...

i know i wanna be protected for glass breakage and have a protection around my car, i believe you call that a proximity sensor. but other then that, i dont know what else i want or should get.

i do not want remote start as i already have it stock on my car, but i wanna make sure that installing this alarm (which i will either do by myself or have thunderbird do it or help me do it) i get to keep all my factory options. i do not wanna lose anything. it would be nice to have everything accesible from one remote but i dont wanna pay the extra money to get the remote start kit.

can someone recommend me some good viper alarms for around 350$ or less as i do not know where to start as i am completely new to them.

Worlddre
02-20-2009, 09:25 AM
The only issue with what you are requesting is using the factory remote start is likely not going to be possible as unless you a wire in the care other than IGN that changes state during the activation of the remote start the factory rs will set off the alarm. You need to find a wire that likely doesn't exist since I can all but guarantee that remote start activation is data based. Thus leaving you stuck with buying remote start too if you want to keep it.

blackbonnie
02-20-2009, 09:49 AM
ok, so if buying the remote start with the alarm when installed will it automatically disable the factory remote start or will i have to disable it physically?

Worlddre
02-20-2009, 12:16 PM
If the remote start is set up like I think it is it will be all data based so you could simply ignore it and not have to worry about it. However if it is a dealer installed option as I have seen come from ford and others it will installed just like an aftermarket remote start you could just rip it out

blackbonnie