PDA

View Full Version : anybody thought of this?



dman4486
02-19-2009, 11:55 AM
I am thinking that with part of my tax return buying a single 15" fiq, who by the way do not have a website:fyi:, and building an 8-10 cube enclosure. My idea is to use 2 4" aero's in a removable panel such that I have swappable ports. Later on I will be adding a second q15 to the same enclosure.

anyone thought of or built this box design? I was thinking it would be cool to be able to change tuning on the fly.

thoughts/comments?

jco1385
02-19-2009, 11:56 AM
fisher built one with swappable ports and **** i think

dman4486
02-19-2009, 11:57 AM
fisher built one with swappable ports and **** i think

pix?

99grandprixGT
02-19-2009, 11:57 AM
10 cubes for one 15? isn't that kinda big?

KyleBechtold
02-19-2009, 11:58 AM
when you have just one in there keep the power low because it will be way more efficient.. but there are several people who have switchable/tunable ports

1rockford1
02-19-2009, 11:58 AM
what about 7 cubes?

farmerehsan
02-19-2009, 11:58 AM
https://ssl.perfora.net/www.ficaraudio.com/sess/utn;jsessionid=15499d81b440ae8/shopdata/index.shopscript

:confused:

dman4486
02-19-2009, 12:00 PM
10 cubes for one 15? isn't that kinda big?

makes for a great enclosure response curve, and allows me enough space for a second woofer.

The idea was to have a port tuned for 25, 29, 33, and between 36-40 to swap in. the lower tunings look great with a single 15 and ~8 cubes

jdawg
02-19-2009, 12:00 PM
nobody in the history of car audio has ever built a box with swappable ports. Good idea.

dman4486
02-19-2009, 12:01 PM
nobody in the history of car audio has ever built a box with swappable ports. Good idea.

orly...well I will have to patent this ****;)



for those of you who posted yes, do any of you have pix or links to make my searching easy? paweez?

Rashaddd
02-19-2009, 12:02 PM
this is a pretty common thing............................

KyleBechtold
02-19-2009, 12:03 PM
nobody in the history of car audio has ever built a box with swappable ports. Good idea.

I hope op caught the sarcasm

boomzilla
02-19-2009, 12:03 PM
Mikey B did for his old 18'' setup. Beleive it was an 18'' btl with a 32hz port and a 46hz port or something like that.

dman4486
02-19-2009, 12:04 PM
this is a pretty common thing............................

for a daily setup and not just in the spl world?

dman4486
02-19-2009, 12:05 PM
I hope op caught the sarcasm

notice the;) in my reply:D

Rashaddd
02-19-2009, 12:06 PM
for a daily setup and not just in the spl world?

nobody likes the idea of building a box and praying they like it, knowing that if they dont then they'll have to build a new box and pray they like it again.

not to mention alot of ppl want to have an SPL port for their daily setup just to see what it can do on a meter when tuned higher

Cpyder
02-19-2009, 12:16 PM
I also had trouble in the past finding it. ficaraudio.com

dman4486
02-19-2009, 12:19 PM
I also had trouble in the past finding it. ficaraudio.com

link does not work:fyi:

jco1385
02-19-2009, 12:20 PM
Fi who?

wat

jdawg
02-19-2009, 12:21 PM
just use aeros, easier to change, get a few diff tubes and just duct tape them to the flares, easy as pie to change whenever you feel like it

TwoEggCustoms
02-19-2009, 12:23 PM
i had a box with switchable ports for 3 10s its a nice idea if u wanna be a street beater and spl on the weekends but i suppose it would work in ur application give u plenty of ease in playing around with your tuning to find what u want

dman4486
02-19-2009, 12:23 PM
just use aeros, easier to change, get a few diff tubes and just duct tape them to the flares, easy as pie to change whenever you feel like it

srsly? and attach the flare to the box how? when I want to extend the tube can I remove the flare?

JBLCAMRY
02-19-2009, 12:26 PM
http://www.soundsolutionsaudio.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=18974

jdawg
02-19-2009, 12:27 PM
attach the flare to the box like normal, just tape the diff lengths on. Most flares are in sections anyways, so you might have like 6" off the flare then another length on that. You can swap the 2nd length.
Or tune it with multiple flares, high tune for spl, then for daily plug one or two for a lower tuning.

Rashaddd
02-19-2009, 12:27 PM
facepalm

dman4486
02-19-2009, 12:29 PM
attach the flare to the box like normal, just tape the diff lengths on. Most flares are in sections anyways, so you might have like 6" off the flare then another length on that. You can swap the 2nd length.
Or tune it with multiple flares, high tune for spl, then for daily plug one or two for a lower tuning.

hm....don't much like that idea

If I do this, I will want it to be clean and functional. which is why I was thinking of different panels as JBL posted...

great link btw, thanks:)

JBLCAMRY
02-19-2009, 12:30 PM
hm....don't much like that idea

If I do this, I will want it to be clean and functional. which is why I was thinking of different panels as JBL posted...

great link btw, thanks:)

No problem.

jdawg
02-19-2009, 12:32 PM
flares are easier obviously but changeable panels are a good idea too

bjfish11
02-19-2009, 01:07 PM
Why would you want to do a "swappable panel" for an aero port box? The aeros are already very easily swappable. Just buy extra aeros for the different tunings you desire, and you have a swappable port box...

Random1010
02-19-2009, 01:11 PM
I've done it for a few daily setups.

boalova13
02-19-2009, 01:15 PM
iirc pioneer~saturn was building one for his btl

dman4486
02-19-2009, 02:57 PM
Why would you want to do a "swappable panel" for an aero port box? The aeros are already very easily swappable. Just buy extra aeros for the different tunings you desire, and you have a swappable port box...

I didn't know how often I was going to be swapping them out, and thought it might be a good idea to have the aeros fixed to a panel and have the panel bolt to the box via studs I permanently fix from the inside.

I just don't want to have to fix stripped holes.

IDSkoT
02-19-2009, 02:57 PM
Why would you want to do a "swappable panel" for an aero port box? The aeros are already very easily swappable. Just buy extra aeros for the different tunings you desire, and you have a swappable port box...

x2

You can have each aero held to the flange by duct tape or some sort of tape. I've seen people do that before... and to my understanding, it's common practice.

dman4486
02-19-2009, 03:04 PM
x2

You can have each aero held to the flange by duct tape or some sort of tape. I've seen people do that before... and to my understanding, it's common practice.

look at post 32 and then realize that I want this to look great.:D

IDSkoT
02-19-2009, 03:10 PM
look at post 32 and then realize that I want this to look great.:D

Paint the tape black. Besides, no one will see the inside of the box.

bjfish11
02-19-2009, 05:37 PM
I didn't know how often I was going to be swapping them out, and thought it might be a good idea to have the aeros fixed to a panel and have the panel bolt to the box via studs I permanently fix from the inside.

I just don't want to have to fix stripped holes.

If I were you, I would just install little threaded inserts. Problem solved on stripped holes...

dman4486
02-19-2009, 05:38 PM
If I were you, I would just install little threaded inserts. Problem solved on stripped holes...

you mean t-nuts?

bjfish11
02-19-2009, 05:43 PM
you mean t-nuts?
No, IMO, T-Nuts ****. Threaded inserts do the same thing as Tnuts, but much better.

dman4486
02-19-2009, 05:45 PM
No, IMO, T-Nuts ****. Threaded inserts do the same thing as Tnuts, but much better.

I find nothing....link?

bjfish11
02-19-2009, 08:44 PM
These:

http://www.woodcraft.com/family.aspx?FamilyID=1048

Can be found at Lowes or HD I believe.

dman4486
02-20-2009, 11:37 AM
These:

http://www.woodcraft.com/family.aspx?FamilyID=1048

Can be found at Lowes or HD I believe.

looks like it would work....has anybody else used something like this with success?

bjfish11
02-20-2009, 01:00 PM
looks like it would work....has anybody else used something like this with success?

Of course they work well, thats why I recommended them ;)

Random1010
02-20-2009, 01:22 PM
Of course they work well, thats why I recommended them ;)

Snaps