PDA

View Full Version : I cant find slot port build site.



subzero
02-19-2009, 12:09 AM
I lost the link the a site I used to build my slot ported box. It showed the 3D diagram and measurments off the box and a list off measurments needs to be cut in order to make the box. If you know what I am talking about please let me know. :confused:

99grandprixGT
02-19-2009, 12:10 AM
RE box calculator here (http://www.reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html)

snb778
02-19-2009, 12:12 AM
RE box calculator here (http://www.reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html)

its calc arent accurate... don't include displacement... some people say "close enough" but thats enough to throw your box off enough for it to not work properly

subzero
02-19-2009, 12:12 AM
That is close enough. Thanks. I seriously canít remember what the other one was called.

subzero
02-19-2009, 12:14 AM
its calc arent accurate... don't include displacement... some people say "close enough" but thats enough to throw your box off enough for it to not work properly

haha, "Close enough:

is there one that has the entry for displacment?

Linkz
02-19-2009, 12:15 AM
winisd (http://www.linearteam.dk/default.aspx?pageid=winisdpro) would be a better choice

snb778
02-19-2009, 12:15 AM
im sure there is... if you search yahoo or google for "subwoofer enclosure calulator" or somethng like that you will find PLENTY of crap.... but yea... Displ. can be up to .5cu. ft so.... I wouldn't do it

You can use that to get close, but then just modify your port for a little bigger box to fix the tuning.

MkKin420
02-19-2009, 12:17 AM
http://www.subwoofertools.com/calculator_display.ashx
Is that it?

subzero
02-19-2009, 12:20 AM
http://www.subwoofertools.com/calculator_display.ashx
Is that it?

Nah, it was like the RE one. but it was white background . summin like soundsoultions.....

MkKin420
02-19-2009, 12:22 AM
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=subwoofer+box+calculator

subzero
02-19-2009, 12:23 AM
AH HA!!!!!!!!!!!!! I freaking found it with all this brainstorming.

http://www.soundsolutionsaudio.com/products/enclosure_tools.html

THanks for helping me guys.

subzero
02-19-2009, 12:25 AM
Looks like they changed the format a little bit.

subzero
02-19-2009, 12:35 AM
can some one go on that site and see if it works for you. I think it is messed up because the cut vaules are not varying like they should be.

http://www.soundsolutionsaudio.com/products/enclosure_tools.html

inkfx
02-19-2009, 02:11 AM
That looks to be the exact same thing as the recalc.

badvlvo
02-19-2009, 12:38 PM
That looks to be the exact same thing as the recalc.

It is.

bonesninja
02-19-2009, 01:13 PM
its calc arent accurate... don't include displacement... some people say "close enough" but thats enough to throw your box off enough for it to not work properly

it will work.....just design the box to the exact volume and tuning you want....then add the displacement volume you want to one end of the box. Tuning or displacement will not change...just the physical width of the box.

subzero
04-19-2009, 02:39 PM
The boxes I keep coming up with are TOO big for the trunk opening.
http://www.soundstream.com/manuals/2009/Tarantula%20T5%20woofers.pdf
The spec show for a single sub and I have two. So far, the most I can fit is 4.5 cubes before displacement tuned to about 28 with a port at 2.5 x 15 x 22 inches. These could be wrong figures because I am useing different programs to try and figure this out. This is going in a Chevy Cavalier. I am thinking that I may have to either build the box in the trunk or seal off the trunk and use it as a box, or build two boxes. i was going to try for the opt. specs because I dont see how to get the max specs to fit. If you have any Ideas I would like to hear them.

http://i703.photobucket.com/albums/ww35/brianncns/car/35hz4cubes.jpg
http://i703.photobucket.com/albums/ww35/brianncns/car/35hzwith4cubes.jpg
http://i703.photobucket.com/albums/ww35/brianncns/car/IMG00276.jpg

jchancellortool
01-02-2010, 04:57 PM
What are the dimensions of that box pictured? I'm assuming you got it in the trunk through the back seat.
OOPS I forgot I was looking at an old thread

subzero
01-02-2010, 09:18 PM
old or not I will answer you... the opening is there I could make it bigger if I cut the wings out. but then I run into the trunk hinges. And then if I do that I still have to get the bigger box in the doors. may have to take the seats and doors out and off. Pain in ***. which is why I need another vehical to use.

jchancellortool
01-02-2010, 10:47 PM
i c. thanks. I have a 03 Cavalier and I'm just researching to see how big of a box I will be able to fit

subzero
01-02-2010, 11:13 PM
The current box is about 3.5cubes tuned to 32. The box pictured was 3.75 cubes tuned to 26.5... I like the box pictured better but I am too lazy to attempt to switch back.

jchancellortool
01-03-2010, 12:31 AM
Do you fire your port out of the side of the box?

subzero
01-03-2010, 08:17 AM
The box at 26.5 is side ported. The 32 is slot ported L to the front face of box. Doesnt matter which way I dirrect them. All that matters is how close I have them to the rearwall. at about 4 inches from the tail lights the bass is alot more responsive and defined than if I have the box all the way forward to the rear deck.