PDA

View Full Version : Jl audio Tweeters



farmerehsan
02-13-2009, 04:02 PM
I have these tweeters they are brand new... but i member when i tried connecting them they were not working.. idk what i did to them

http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l27/farmerehsan/DSCN0493.jpg

i kno they worked before so i think I COULD of blown them but am not sure...

how would i go about checking this with out havin to pull my head unit out?

thevic24
02-13-2009, 04:04 PM
check them with a dmm.(meter) set to ohms. they should read about 4 ohms or so.

farmerehsan
02-13-2009, 04:06 PM
oh , ok will

Specifications
Sensitivity 91 dB
Frequency Response 4000 - 22k Hz
High-Pass Crossover Frequency ---
RMS Power Range (Watts) 2-50
Peak Power Handling (Watts) 125
Impedance (Ohms) 4
Top-mount Depth (Inches) 5/8
Cutout Diameter or Length (inches) 1 5/8

thevic24
02-13-2009, 04:08 PM
do they have any type of xover? is so check to see if it has one of thoes "light bulb" fueses and see if thoes are blown

farmerehsan
02-13-2009, 04:11 PM
do they have any type of xover? is so check to see if it has one of thoes "light bulb" fueses and see if thoes are blown

i dont think i do...just connected them strait to the 6.5 speaker.. but i got my metert and about to check

farmerehsan
02-13-2009, 04:19 PM
THEY ARE SHOWING NO Ohmage what so ever...they are blown... :(

theres nothgin u can do right?

farmerehsan
02-13-2009, 04:27 PM
guess not

thevic24
02-13-2009, 04:34 PM
sorry i work at the local lexus dealer and i just had a bumrush.:D
but no there is nothing you can do.:(

farmerehsan
02-13-2009, 04:35 PM
**** me.... the one on n dale?

thevic24
02-13-2009, 04:49 PM
yep, thats the only one in tampa

cbrei1023
02-14-2009, 11:15 AM
If you didnt have them hooked up to any crossover of any sort that is probably why they blew. if they were on full range they cant handle the lower frequencies.

farmerehsan
02-14-2009, 01:07 PM
mo they have something in between the wires which looks like it would handle the power properly.... but i had them hooked up for a while and then like 2 weeks later when i chaged my setup they wernt workin