PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Pioneer Premier Components!



abit2theright
02-09-2009, 02:16 PM
Hi all, I own a 1994 Honda Accord EX and recently had bestbuy install a set of Pioneer Premier components (TS-D720C), Pioneer Premier 6x9's (TS-D902P), and a Pioneer Premier Head deck (AVIC-F90BT). After the installation, it seems like the front components aren't loud? The center of noise/music seems to be coming from behind me where the 6 X 9's are. Also, I have to turn the radio up and constantly adjust it because the music gets choppy.

Can anyone tell me what's going on? thanks in advance!

wu501
02-09-2009, 02:17 PM
are you using amps or powering them off the deck?

Those comps can take some serious power and they need to be powered by a amplifier.

PaulThompson229
02-09-2009, 02:18 PM
Sounds like another Best Buy fail to me, they might not have everything wired up right

abit2theright
02-09-2009, 02:20 PM
So I should probably go back to bestbuy and ask if I need a separate amp to power the components? I know they are pushing SOMETHING (I can feel the vibrations with my hand), but it just feels like my whole system is coming from the 6 X 9's

wu501
02-09-2009, 02:22 PM
lol..those comps need at least 60 watts each. I ran those with about 100 watts each.

abit2theright
02-09-2009, 02:23 PM
And yes, they are being powered off the deck

abit2theright
02-09-2009, 02:23 PM
So your saying I need another amp to make them act like speakers? Haha

wu501
02-09-2009, 02:25 PM
yes, that is exactly what I am saying. It was pointless to have those if they are only being powered off the head unit.

abit2theright
02-09-2009, 02:26 PM
Okay, well now my question is, will they be damaged being run off the head deck while I go run to get an amp?

Millertime1028
02-09-2009, 06:05 PM
Not at all^ . Definitely amp those bad boys

abit2theright
02-09-2009, 11:28 PM
The only reason I ask is because before I realized I needed an amp, i pumped the heck out of the speakers as a whole, trying to make it louder, and in effect, I actually put a lot of stress on the 6 X 9's for a short period of time. Will they be okay I guess? they seem to be popping and cracking in sound quality now :(

cajun_duck
02-10-2009, 04:50 PM
I don't believe the deck power could harm those 6x9's. They are usually built to take some power as well.

abit2theright
02-10-2009, 06:12 PM
Thanks to everyone here for giving me so much help! Now the question is what kind of amp will I need to power those component speakers and 6 X 9's?

I already know I'm sticking with the pioneer premier brand, do I need a multi channel amp since I'll eventually get the subs?

okiedokie
02-10-2009, 07:27 PM
you really dont need rear speaker, you should take them back to bestbuy look into a sub.
1-amp for your front speakers
2-deaden your doors
3-sub/ decide how much bass you want -spl-sql-sq & your budgetbox
4-sub amp/box-deadener
you can look around at other places besides bestbuy,

http://www.soundsolutionsaudio.com/zencart/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=69

i have bought from these guys they will take care of you.
learn how to install your own gear, it can fun

DejaWiz
02-11-2009, 09:28 AM
Agree with ditching the rears. Get a nice 4 channel amp, run two stereo channels to the front comps, and bridge the other two channels for a sub.

Remove the rear speakers altogether to allow the sub to vent into the cabin.

If space is a concern, take a look at the PRS-D4200F amp, an SFW1051 sub, and a small sealed enclosure.

abit2theright
02-11-2009, 04:56 PM
Well see it cost me a good bit of money to stick those 6 X 9's in there in the first place, and I plan to get two additional subs - Pioneer Premier TS-W1207D2.

Can I still run my two components, 6 X9's, and 2 subs off of a 4-way bridgeable 1200w amp like the Pioneer Premier PRS-D4200F?

thanks for all your help guys!

DejaWiz
02-11-2009, 06:50 PM
Well see it cost me a good bit of money to stick those 6 X 9's in there in the first place, and I plan to get two additional subs - Pioneer Premier TS-W1207D2.

Can I still run my two components, 6 X9's, and 2 subs off of a 4-way bridgeable 1200w amp like the Pioneer Premier PRS-D4200F?

thanks for all your help guys!

I wouldn't... each of those subs is rated for 400W RMS and I'd push every bit of that to them.

My advice- get a decent 2x100W RMS @ 4 Ohm amp for the front comps, a class D mono 800W RMS @ either 2 Ohm or 1 Ohm amp, and run the 6x9's off the HU.

Millertime1028
02-11-2009, 06:57 PM
My advice- get a decent 2x100W RMS @ 4 Ohm amp for the front comps, a class D mono 800W RMS @ either 2 Ohm or 1 Ohm amp, and run the 6x9's off the HU.

x2

abit2theright
02-11-2009, 10:47 PM
Ah, good advice, thanks so much!

DejaWiz
02-12-2009, 10:21 AM
Correction - since the subs are each dual 2 ohm, you'll need to find an amp that will do 800+ WRMS at 2 Ohms or 0.5 Ohms

abit2theright
02-12-2009, 01:55 PM
Well, I'm trying to stick with the Pioneer Premier line or at least Pioneer, will the mono 1200w amp be good for the subs?

DejaWiz
02-12-2009, 09:41 PM
Well, I'm trying to stick with the Pioneer Premier line or at least Pioneer, will the mono 1200w amp be good for the subs?

Which amp, specifically?

If you mean the PRS-D1200SPL, then absolutely.

If you are referring to the GM-D8400M, then it'll do, but it'll come up a smidge short as it's rated for 600WRMS @ 2 Ohms.

abit2theright
02-12-2009, 11:00 PM
Well, the PRS-D1200SPL amp seems a tad bit expensive, is their an amp inbetween cost wise? and what about the components?

DejaWiz
02-13-2009, 12:12 AM
If you want some decent amps that won't break the bank, check out the Hifonics Titan series.

Mono: TXi1508D (http://www.millionbuy.com/hiftxi1508d.html)
2 CH: TXi4008 (http://www.millionbuy.com/hiftxi4008.html)

They're perfect for your setup, imo.

abit2theright
02-13-2009, 02:49 PM
So I went ahead and bought those two Hifonics Amps, now gotta wait til next week to get those subs :)

How about enclosures? Any advice on that?