PDA

View Full Version : Round Port Area Question



tooshort_128
02-04-2009, 03:19 PM
I just figured out that a rule of thumb for round ports is about 8 square inches per cubic foot of airspace. First off, is this correct? If so, I'll have an enclosure for a 1" sub that is 2.34 cubes after sub displacement. I was probably looking at 1 4" Aero Port that will be 14.15" long to tune the box to 30hz. This would only give me about 12.56 in^2 of port area and if 8in^2 per cube is right, I would need 18.72in^2. My question is would this give me a lot of port noise and kill the SQ of my sub?

skmfkr
02-04-2009, 03:29 PM
i would probly do 2 3" aeros but thats still only 14 square inches

Lakota
02-04-2009, 03:49 PM
You have a 1" sub?

FurbiesAndBeans
02-04-2009, 03:52 PM
You have a 1" sub?

x2 in a 2.34 cu ft box?

Lakota
02-04-2009, 03:54 PM
I'm assuming you have a 12. Anyways, I'd recommend 2 4" ports if you can fit it.

tooshort_128
02-04-2009, 04:10 PM
yeah, sorry bout that. It is a 12 that displaces .16 cubes in a 2.5 cube box that gives me 2.34 after displacement. If I put two ports in it they would be longer than I could fit. My box is only going to be about 15 or so deep and go all the way across my trunk. Maybe I could bend them up with elbows somehow?