PDA

View Full Version : check out my fiberglass box *PIC*

subboxmaker
08-15-2003, 01:09 PM
ok well its not actually fiberglassed yet but i just thought id see what you guys thought about it. its my first fiberglassed box, i just kinda threw it together last night at 3 :crazy: , so its proabably going to be kinda ******. ok heres my question when i put the fiberglass on it would it be allright to use box carpet that i already have it's pretty thick. and where do i staple the carpet at would i have to get a huge piece and staple it all the way in the back of the box or could i just staple it like a couple inches back from the front and then when thats done put carpet all around it and the fiberglass that so i could paint it? sorry but this is my first time any help from u guys would be awesome

im planning on porting it (i think)... on the right side with just round ports

MXJMR
08-15-2003, 09:58 PM
You can use regular box carpet but it will soak up ALOT of resin. I would just staple the carpet right where it meets the corners of the front of the box and then trim the rest off w/ like a utility knife, or you could do carpet all the way around then start the glassing either way is ok its your prference. ;)

subboxmaker
08-16-2003, 01:35 AM
well i just bought some fleece material at wal-mart for 7 bucks so i think im going to use that and go all the way around the box so its all smooth when i'm ready to paint it..........well i think atleast ill start the fiberglassing tomorow bright and early

subboxmaker
08-16-2003, 01:38 AM
if i just stapled carpet or fleece on to the front of the box then added 3 more pieces for the top and sides would it be even or should i just use one piece?

Gauntlet
08-16-2003, 09:04 AM