PDA

View Full Version : help with aero ports...



blackbonnie
01-30-2009, 02:53 PM
im getting my design down for my new box that will run a 18" nightshade. im gonna be using aero ports for this build and this is the first time ive ever used them.

my box will be 5ft^3 @ 32hz after displacements

i think i will need (2) 6" aero's at 11.76" a piece to achieve a 32hz tuning.

1: is the tuning correct?

2: do i have the correct port area?

(the rule of thumb is usually 12in^2 per 1ft^3 of box....but i have heard that you dont need as much port area with aero's) with this i have 56.52 in^2 of port area i believe.

3: any things i should do or change about my design?

skmfkr
01-30-2009, 05:11 PM
no they need to be 25" long
4 4" is 23"

your gonna need 3 4" at the full 17" to do 32hz which is 37 square inches of port area a little less than 8 square inches per cube, so you should be fine. oh yeh and 12-16 square inches per cube is ofr slot ports, about 8 square inches for aeros

blackbonnie
01-30-2009, 06:20 PM
can you explain a bit on how you figured that out.

i didnt know the rule of thumb for aero's. so it is 8 in^2 per 1 ft^3?

so your saying i need 3 4" aero's and each one needs to be 17" long?

can you elaborate a little more on how you figured that out

snb778
01-30-2009, 06:40 PM
2x 6" aero's is wayyy to much...you need an 8" sonotube,or 4x4" aero's

skmfkr
01-30-2009, 06:41 PM
well 4 4" would need to be 23" long and they only come 17" long

http://www.carstereo.com/help/Articles.cfm?id=31

blackbonnie
01-30-2009, 10:21 PM
2x 6" aero's is wayyy to much...you need an 8" sonotube,or 4x4" aero's

whats the difference between a sonotube and a regular aero?




well 4 4" would need to be 23" long and they only come 17" long

http://www.carstereo.com/help/Articles.cfm?id=31

how accurate is that calculator?

roarzorz
01-31-2009, 12:45 PM
The rule is 8-12 for round ports. Two 6" ports are perfect for your setup. Use the PSP calculator as it's the only one that accurately calculates for flared ports. 5ft net volume w/ two 6" ports will need to be 26.38" long for a 32hz tune.

http://www.psp-inc.com/psp-inc.com/cgi-bin/port_length_calculator.cgi

Lakota
01-31-2009, 02:45 PM
2x 6" aero's is wayyy to much...you need an 8" sonotube,or 4x4" aero's

I think that 2 6" is perfect for an 18.

IDSkoT
01-31-2009, 02:51 PM
whats the difference between a sonotube and a regular aero?





how accurate is that calculator?

Not accurate at all. I'd assume the guy who spent no less than an hour coding that made sure he had NO idea what he was doing.

skmfkr
01-31-2009, 03:02 PM
that carstereo calc gives u the same numbers as psp, just the psp adds 1" for flares

blackbonnie
01-31-2009, 08:13 PM
so was i correct with 2 6" aero's for my setup?

but wrong on the length they needed to be?

skmfkr
01-31-2009, 08:22 PM
if thats what u want to do i think your gonna have to get xtra 6" tube and a coupler to make them that long. if that even works. thrilleraudio.com has coupler rings and tubes and flares and the full kit

blackbonnie
01-31-2009, 09:27 PM
well psp's kits are 17" long, and i could just cut those down right?

roarzorz
01-31-2009, 10:02 PM
well psp's kits are 17" long, and i could just cut those down right?

Your ports need to be 26.38" long each. Just buy the PSP flares & couplers and use some 6" thinwall pvc from your local hardware store for your center sections.

80INCHES
01-31-2009, 11:55 PM
2 6inch areo is fine for 1 18
80

blackbonnie
02-01-2009, 02:55 AM
they need to be 26.38" each? thats fairly long. the only way i would be able to fit that is to bend them inside the box.

how would i calculate the length of the bend?

and is there anyway i could shorten up the length? bigger port? etc...

skmfkr
02-01-2009, 11:04 AM
bigger port would make it longer. how much legnth do you have? less port area = less legnth as well as tuning higher

roarzorz
02-01-2009, 11:44 AM
they need to be 26.38" each? thats fairly long. the only way i would be able to fit that is to bend them inside the box.

how would i calculate the length of the bend?

and is there anyway i could shorten up the length? bigger port? etc...

Measure down the center to calculate the bend. More volume and/or less port area will allow you to shorten the ports and keep the same tuning but I don't recommend either in your case. Sounds like you'll be better with a slot port.

blackbonnie
02-01-2009, 12:02 PM
bigger port would make it longer. how much legnth do you have? less port area = less legnth as well as tuning higher

my depth is 19", i will bend the aero if i have to, but does it effect the way it works?

like with a slot port theres no problems with a bend in it, but what about with aero's?


Measure down the center to calculate the bend. More volume and/or less port area will allow you to shorten the ports and keep the same tuning but I don't recommend either in your case. Sounds like you'll be better with a slot port.

well i would like to stick with aero's if at all possible? can you answer the above questions too?

Lakota
02-01-2009, 02:48 PM
You can bend the aero's, but it'll make a slight decrease in performance.

roarzorz
02-01-2009, 06:00 PM
You'll never hear the difference. I've run bends in round ports with success daily but never in an spl install.

blackbonnie
02-02-2009, 07:43 AM
what would you guys recommend for an spl install? slot or aero?

rickymac21
02-02-2009, 07:49 AM
what would you guys recommend for an spl install? slot or aero?

aero's

blackbonnie
02-02-2009, 07:54 AM
aero's

any first hand experience with them or in an spl install?

rickymac21
02-02-2009, 07:59 AM
any first hand experience with them or in an spl install?

im doing an aero box for my 18's right now... i have done tons of research on them and if you can do the aero's right, then you can potentionally add around 3 db's over a slot port... I got a friend who has used lots of aero's and he recommends it over slot ports any day... only bad thing about those is they are expensive.. thats why i made my own :D

blackbonnie
02-02-2009, 08:05 AM
biggest thing is i dont want to have to bend the port then it effect the way it works...

blackbonnie
02-03-2009, 12:37 AM
anyone else have any input?

myhcca15
02-03-2009, 12:48 AM
dont really know about the bend but i'm going to run a single 8" aero in a 4.5 net box..the only thing that i can think of is to put baffles on the outside of the box like you would do with subs then you wouldnt have to bend them but it would probably look like ****....

myhcca15
02-03-2009, 12:49 AM
but fvck then it wouldnt be the same tuning....scratch that baffle ideal..sorry it wont work

blackbonnie
02-03-2009, 01:31 AM
alright...thanks though

DonH
02-03-2009, 01:44 AM
have you thought about 6" abs pipe bro? do you have room to run about 6 inches externally?

blackbonnie
02-03-2009, 02:50 AM
i cant run any external port as of yet...im working on my design and may possibly be able to run a little external port, but only about 6 inches or so.

i would like to keep it all inside the box :fyi:

blackbonnie
02-04-2009, 08:21 AM
bump

blackbonnie
03-05-2009, 10:11 AM
anyone else haev any input?

is there a proper way to bend aero ports inside a box, or does it drastically decrease performance?

i wanna get the most out of my setup as i can...

blackbonnie
03-05-2009, 07:16 PM
up