PDA

View Full Version : Need box help for Pioneer Premier TS-W3001D4



Jeepjones85
01-29-2009, 10:18 PM
I have two of these http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=18351

And pioneer recommends some gay crap with the port and all
it says, for one ported sub box 1.6cubic ft max and the port
is 3in Id X 2.5 long round port...What:confused: thats dumb

How big should I make the box for one 12 and what do yall think the square-in should be for the port??

1ndatrunk
01-29-2009, 10:26 PM
When I had my 3000spl it sounded great in 2.3cuft@35hz. It was pretty good on the lows and still sounded pretty good for what it was. It took a while to break it in, but once it did, I loved it. I was gonna do 3-4 but it was hard finding more of them. I had the older ines, but the specs should bbe about the same. They sound great sealed also

Jeepjones85
01-29-2009, 10:32 PM
What is cool Pioneer came out with some newer versions of that sub for 09
just a bit more powerful

http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=20830

Jeepjones85
01-31-2009, 01:45 AM
Any body else have any idea, how big the port should be for one of these subs??

psych0ticnemes1
01-31-2009, 06:34 PM
You'll have to figure out the port length using a calculator. Port area is something completely different altogether. PM me if you want a design.

riddla
02-03-2009, 08:09 PM
Is 2.6cf enough for 2 of these in a ported enclosure tuned to 30hz

IDSkoT
02-03-2009, 08:13 PM
No.
You need around 3.2cuFt

riddla
02-03-2009, 08:24 PM
No.
You need around 3.2cuFt

Oh man, This is what I have got 2 of mine in, dam, heres a link, so your saying this is way to small and am I not getting full benifit out of them, Am I choking them would you say because they sound very good to me and drop low

Should I build another box ?

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/2630Cut.jpg

SSS 18734
02-03-2009, 08:42 PM
These subs do well in as little as 1.25 cu.ft. ported. However, with that little airspace, your port is going to have to be quite long.

I have my pair of 2000SPL's (older model) in a 4.5 cu.ft. box tuned to 33hz with 48 cubic inches of port area. There is no port noise unless you hit the tuning frequency and are sitting in the back seats and the cut off frequency is 29hz. I've also had them in a 2.5 cubic foot box tuned to 44hz.

3.5 cubic feet for a pair tuned to 35hz with around 35 cubic inches or more of port will sound pretty good if you can feed them full power. If not, make the box a bit bigger to compensate.

SSS 18734
02-03-2009, 08:46 PM
Is 2.6cf enough for 2 of these in a ported enclosure tuned to 30hz

At that low of a tuning, 2.6 cubic feet certainly is not ideal. However, if you can fit a good amount of port area in there, they should still do well.

riddla
02-03-2009, 08:49 PM
Ok thanx man. In my car I can only make the depth another 4inches as I have no more space

riddla
02-03-2009, 08:51 PM
At that low of a tuning, 2.6 cubic feet certainly is not ideal. However, if you can fit a good amount of port area in there, they should still do well.

ok thanx man, I'll see what I can do

riddla
02-03-2009, 09:20 PM
dbl post