PDA

View Full Version : Box for 3 18s. HELP!!!



illbmeubu
01-29-2009, 05:22 PM
Ok. So i have the opportunity to purchase up to 4 Mach 5 MJs (older model) for $100 shipped each:). I know I won't be getting 4 because I don't want a wall. But i'm thinking of either doing two or three. Here are the dimensions I have to work with (45"w*22"h*30"d: chevy tahoe). Can someone tell me if this will be enough space for 3 ported, or should I stick to 2. I may be a little flexible on the height. also, how many 4" ports would I need for this setup, tuning to 33Hz. I already have 4 aero ports waiting to be used. thanks.

cshaw
01-29-2009, 05:35 PM
14.7 cubes with 3/4 wood. i think about 4.5 per mj 18 for the older ones is recommended. if you did 3, that'll leave about 1.2 cubes for displacement of ports/ and bracing. not much really. might be better off doing 2. but 3 sealed would be nice though.

ThatChevyGuy
01-29-2009, 05:38 PM
i thought tahoes were like 52" wide?

I would go with a slot port, subs up port back.

You would need ALOT of 4" ports for the right port area.

illbmeubu
01-29-2009, 05:42 PM
14.7 cubes with 3/4 wood. i think about 4.5 per mj 18 for the older ones is recommended. if you did 3, that'll leave about 1.2 cubes for displacement of ports/ and bracing. not much really. might be better off doing 2. but 3 sealed would be nice though.



Thanks. I thought about doing 3 sealed, but didn't want to loose on output.

illbmeubu
01-29-2009, 05:43 PM
i thought tahoes were like 52" wide?

I would go with a slot port, subs up port back.

You would need ALOT of 4" ports for the right port area.




I will recheck the width when I get off work, but I have these weird compartments in the back that takes in the withs a bit. I guess aero ports are a no go?

ThatChevyGuy
01-29-2009, 05:44 PM
they are, but off the top of my head you will probably need 3 4" per sub....

it would be cheaper and easier to tune the box with a slot port, imo.

illbmeubu
01-29-2009, 05:51 PM
they are, but off the top of my head you will probably need 3 4" per sub....

it would be cheaper and easier to tune the box with a slot port, imo.


yea, that would be a bit much, being that this is a budget inatall.

cshaw
01-29-2009, 06:11 PM
some useful threads
http://www.soundsolutionsaudio.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=19254

http://www.soundsolutionsaudio.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=17023

illbmeubu
01-29-2009, 07:02 PM
some useful threads
http://www.soundsolutionsaudio.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=19254

http://www.soundsolutionsaudio.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=17023



thanks cshaw. anyone else?

illbmeubu
01-29-2009, 07:32 PM
bump

illbmeubu
01-29-2009, 10:59 PM
Bump

mlstrass
01-30-2009, 01:59 AM
4 sealed would be loud...

illbmeubu
01-30-2009, 05:48 PM
up

illbmeubu
02-01-2009, 09:35 PM
Anyone?