PDA

View Full Version : Question on Wiring



bmoney9
01-27-2009, 05:49 PM
I am wiring my components up and each speaker is 4 ohm. my amp does:
600W 2/3/4-Channel A/B Class Amplifier
# 300W RMS x 2-Ch @ 4-Ohms
# 150W RMS x 4-Ch @ 2-Ohms
# 100W RMS x 4-Ch @ 4-Ohms


I want to wire my speaker into a 2 ohm load and do 150wrms. 300 wrms x 2-Ch is too much for these components to start with so that is why I want to send them 150wrms.

I've read some online tutorial sites and it looks like to me that i would wire my speakers in parallel. Is this right?

After I wire them in parallel how do I connect it to the amplifier? Do I use 2 channels or do I use 1 channel. I'm pretty sure I would only use one and not bridge it. Correct me if I am wrong please. Thanks

hockey512546
01-27-2009, 07:41 PM
If you wire them in parallel you will get mono sound, not stereo....

Unless you have 2 pairs of components and wire one pair parallel on one side and the other parallel on the other side

bmoney9
01-27-2009, 08:04 PM
If you wire them in parallel you will get mono sound, not stereo....

Unless you have 2 pairs of components and wire one pair parallel on one side and the other parallel on the other side

well i only have 1 pair of components. so i guess your telling me i wire them in series.

hockey512546
01-27-2009, 08:12 PM
yeah

you will give them 300 rms but as long as you set gains right, your speakers will be fine

EDIT
just realized it was a 4 channel amp
Wire the speakers to the first two channels, you will get 150 RMS
To get 300 RMS you bridge channels 1 and 2 together and 3 and 4 together

bmoney9
01-28-2009, 12:46 AM
yeah

you will give them 300 rms but as long as you set gains right, your speakers will be fine

EDIT
just realized it was a 4 channel amp
Wire the speakers to the first two channels, you will get 150 RMS
To get 300 RMS you bridge channels 1 and 2 together and 3 and 4 together

o I see how it works now. Thank you for that information. That cleared up most of it.