PDA

View Full Version : Can Someone Please Check My Box For Me?



sml238
01-27-2009, 01:47 PM
Ok well I started building a box but before I glue and screw it all together I want to make sure im 100% correct.

Box dimensions
H = 16.5"
W = 43"
D = 17.25" (That's including the double baffle)

Port dimensions
W = 4.5"
Port L1 = 10.5x15" (The port length is really 12" because the double baffle adds 1.5" to the port length
Port L2 = 4.25x15"

Can anyone tell me my port area, tuning, and box volume after displacing the port?

My goals are
- 4 net cubes
- 36hz

EDIT:
Here's a pic of my box so you can understand how my double baffle is. See how both baffles are on top of the port making it 1.5' longer.
http://i341.photobucket.com/albums/o390/mike_465/Box_4_1.jpg

tRiGgEr
01-27-2009, 01:59 PM
Your box will be 4.5ft^3 tuned to 35hz not counting in speaker displacement.

sml238
01-27-2009, 02:13 PM
Your box will be 4.5ft^3 tuned to 35hz not counting in speaker displacement.

i got 36hz. how come u got diff? did u understand about my port length and everything?

and will a 45 angle piece change the tuning?

my speaker is .23 and the angle pieces will take up about .15. so my box will be about 4.1 cubes.

tRiGgEr
01-27-2009, 02:20 PM
With displacement taken in to consideration.

4.12ft^3 tuned to 36.7hz

sml238
01-27-2009, 02:21 PM
With displacement taken in to consideration.

4.12ft^3 tuned to 36.7hz

that sounds actually perfect to me. how bout u? how much port area in sq" also?

tRiGgEr
01-27-2009, 02:22 PM
67.5inch^2 port surface area

sml238
01-27-2009, 02:23 PM
67.5inch^2 port surface area

i dont think thats true because on re box calc it says 67.5 port area with the port length at 11.25 not 12"

and do u think 4.12 cubes is too much airspace for this sub hitting it with 2k watts or no?

tRiGgEr
01-27-2009, 02:31 PM
Your actual port length is 23.75" after port end correction.

You DO have 67.5inch^2 of port surface area.

sml238
01-27-2009, 02:37 PM
Your actual port length is 23.75" after port end correction.

You DO have 67.5inch^2 of port surface area.

ok thanks. and do u think that box is too much airspace or no? i dont want to bottom out.

tRiGgEr
01-27-2009, 02:41 PM
Your well within recommended specs for your Audioque. 4ft^3 ported is perfect.

Just don't get too crazy with your power and listen to your sub. She will tell you if you're over working it.

sml238
01-27-2009, 05:26 PM
Your well within recommended specs for your Audioque. 4ft^3 ported is perfect.

Just don't get too crazy with your power and listen to your sub. She will tell you if you're over working it.

ok thanks. but you think it will be alright? it should actually be just about 4 cubes even after all the angle braces and ****.

but i was thinking. after my sub is in the box and i add the angle cuts. thats going to raise my tuning wont it?

should i make the second port length like 4.5" or 5" to keep the tuning at 36hz?

Mike465
01-27-2009, 05:37 PM
ok thanks. but you think it will be alright? it should actually be just about 4 cubes even after all the angle braces and ****.

but i was thinking. after my sub is in the box and i add the angle cuts. thats going to raise my tuning wont it?

should i make the second port length like 4.5" or 5" to keep the tuning at 36hz?

The design that you have (Or the one I gave you) Had all the angle's accounted for in volume. Even if you don't put them in there they take up so little of volume that it is not going to be a change in tuning

tRiGgEr
01-27-2009, 05:37 PM
response sent via PM

DonH
01-27-2009, 09:42 PM
bro two threads? yes ur box is fine!

mikey7182
01-27-2009, 10:41 PM
Can Someone Please Check My Box For Me?

That's what she said........... :D