PDA

View Full Version : Going from sealed sonotube to Porteddd!



solidcrowd
01-27-2009, 02:35 AM
Ok here's what I am working with...About 240watts.

Sonotube:
18" Diameter
58 1/4" Hieght
3/4" End Caps
4" Distance between floor and bottom cap

Two ED Ehqs 12"s.....One mounted on top and one mounted on bottom.

I have room on the bottom for cutting Two 1" holes for placing a ports. Can I pull this off with such little openings. Will there be enough port area?

If so...What tunning should I tune to (length of ports also) for listening to mostly music and the occasional movie.

TheyDontWant
01-27-2009, 02:39 AM
I have room on the bottom for cutting Two 1" holes for placing a ports. Can I pull this off with such little openings. .

lol

thats not a port, its an air leak :)

TheyDontWant
01-27-2009, 02:40 AM
if you can only fit 1 inch diameter ports, you'll need at least 12 of them :) lol

bball09124
01-27-2009, 02:42 AM
12-16 sq in per cubic foot... if you can't fit it just go sealed.

solidcrowd
01-27-2009, 02:49 AM
lol alright....Well i'm thinking if I take the terminal cup out I'd have a 3" opening, and then could just drill a small hole for the wires and silicon it up?

TheyDontWant
01-27-2009, 02:55 AM
lol alright....Well i'm thinking if I take the terminal cup out I'd have a 3" opening, and then could just drill a small hole for the wires and silicon it up?

3 more of those and you'll have enough port area :p