PDA

View Full Version : difficult port question>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>



phoneman
08-13-2003, 11:54 PM
my question is if I am building a vented box for a sub and the recomended port size is say 2" x 16" rectangle and 38 inches long. Can I make 2 ports 2" X 8 " rectangle both being 38 inches long sense the 2 ports will both have the combined area as the recomended 1 port will in the specs (32 square inches) and get the same results for the selected tuned freq? And for question #2 If the recomended port size is 2" x 16" (32 square inches) would it not have the same result if I used a 4" x 8" port (32 square inches)? I Just want to know what my options are and if these variations can be used and get the same result as the recomended tuned enclosure specs. As far as my knowledge goes the main thing is the area and volume, and area and volume has no shape.

Any info from some box pros will be helpfull

mgaidica
08-13-2003, 11:58 PM
nope, doesnt really work like that.. if u need an 8" port u cant have 8x 1" ports.... use a port calculator



http://www.loudspeakers101.com/VentCal1.htm

and that'll help..

phoneman
08-14-2003, 12:21 AM
nope, doesnt really work like that.. if u need an 8" port u cant have 8x 1" ports.... use a port calculator



http://www.loudspeakers101.com/VentCal1.htm

and that'll help..

I dont think you understood my question, What I was getting at was instead of having 1 32 square inch port being X " long on one side of the box, would it not be the same as having 2 16 square inch ports being X " long @ each side of the box. I dont intend on puting (32) 1 square inch ports all being X" long.

mgaidica
08-14-2003, 12:36 AM
ohh... sorry man, im just real tired... Jmac - howd u figure it was wrong?

LBX2G
08-14-2003, 12:43 AM
I am tired to but. when the spec say port i thinks u have only one driver. I need to get some sleep