PDA

View Full Version : Need Enclosure Design for 12" Fi Q



tooshort_128
01-26-2009, 05:46 PM
I just took some measurements of my trunk and I have these to work with: 14 high, 16 deep, and up to 30 wide. The sub will be powered with a Diamond D5 1200.1 and is going in the trunk of a Chrysler 300C. I'd like it to be very musical (good sq), have great low end, and be able to blend in with my Boston Acoustics interior speakers. Sealed or ported doesn't matter but if ported I'd like it tuned low. Any help?

Pioneer~Saturn
01-26-2009, 05:47 PM
If I have time later I can whip something up for you (It'll be around 2 am probably)

tooshort_128
01-26-2009, 05:53 PM
no prob...let me know

Pioneer~Saturn
01-27-2009, 01:26 AM
I started working on a ported design but the space is a bit too small for an optimal ported enclosure...it would be right on the line of being too small and you would have to start sacrificing port area, etc etc...

But here's a sealed enclosure, it will come to 1.129375 cubes net, with .5" insets on the sides for easier carpeting..

http://i474.photobucket.com/albums/rr102/DougRoosa/FiQ12sealed.jpg

Any Q's just let me know :)

tooshort_128
01-27-2009, 09:49 AM
So I don't have enough space to work with for a ported box, huh? If I need to go sealed, I'd like to have 1.5 cubes net after displacement. It could be 1.25" taller and can go 5" or 6" deeper. Will that give me enough room to work?

tRiGgEr
01-27-2009, 11:01 AM
You have 2.83ft^3 space to work with after sub displacement.

That is plenty for a ported box.

Mike465
01-27-2009, 11:26 AM
You have PM


1.97 cubic feet after all displacement. 27 square inches of port tuned at 30Hz. All port edges rounded and 45's. Double baffle and sub flushed in box

http://i341.photobucket.com/albums/o390/mike_465/FI_Q_Box_2.jpg

http://i341.photobucket.com/albums/o390/mike_465/FI_Q_Box.jpg

tRiGgEr
01-27-2009, 11:28 AM
OMG just use aero ports lol

Mike465
01-27-2009, 11:35 AM
OMG just use aero ports lol

Using 2-4" Aero's with box volume at 2 cubic feet tuned to 30Hz port length would we almost 35 inches each and will not fit in the box. Now if he uses 1-4" Aero then it will fit.

tRiGgEr
01-27-2009, 11:57 AM
Using 2-4" Aero's with box volume at 2 cubic feet tuned to 30Hz port length would we almost 35 inches each and will not fit in the box. Now if he uses 1-4" Aero then it will fit.

Do you even factor in port displacement?

Two 4" Aero ports 28" long will yield a box of...

2.42ft^3 tuned to 30hz.

And you can bend Aero ports if need be...

Mike465
01-27-2009, 12:01 PM
Do you even factor in port displacement?

Two 4" Aero ports 28" long will yield a box of...

2.42ft^3 tuned to 30hz.

And you can bend Aero ports if need be...



Yeah, I accounted for displacement.

tooshort_128
01-27-2009, 12:50 PM
So if I used Aero ports, the box could be smaller because port displacement is less, right?

tRiGgEr
01-27-2009, 12:51 PM
So if I used Aero ports, the box could be smaller because port displacement is less, right?

If you want the box to be smaller, yes.

But remember the smaller you make your box the longer your ports have to be. So keep that in mind.

Mike465
01-27-2009, 01:00 PM
So if I used Aero ports, the box could be smaller because port displacement is less, right?

You got PM

tooshort_128
01-27-2009, 01:19 PM
oh, if that's the case how small could I make the box? I'm cool with anything down the the FI recommended 1.8 cubes for the sub. I need room in the trunk for the stroller....lol

tRiGgEr
01-27-2009, 01:21 PM
I would recommend no smaller than 2.0ft^3 and tuned around 32hz.

tooshort_128
01-27-2009, 02:01 PM
I mean how small as in the dimensions of the box? I'd like to keep it tuned low to about 30 as well.

tRiGgEr
01-27-2009, 02:03 PM
Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. But you're going to need to use up most if not all of that space.

Give Mike465 a shout. It looks like he does box designs and may be able to work with you in more depth.

I'm short on free time while at work ;)

Pioneer~Saturn
01-27-2009, 02:11 PM
You have 2.83ft^3 space to work with after sub displacement.

That is plenty for a ported box.

Sure, if you want to sacrifice port area, theres always room ;)...but if you want a decent sized port and everything more optimal, then no...it's really pushing it in size..

Mike465
01-27-2009, 02:12 PM
oh, if that's the case how small could I make the box? I'm cool with anything down the the FI recommended 1.8 cubes for the sub. I need room in the trunk for the stroller....lol


1.97 cubic feet after all displacement. 27 square inches of port tuned at 30Hz. All port edges rounded and 45's. Double baffle and sub flushed in box

http://i341.photobucket.com/albums/o390/mike_465/FI_Q_Box_2.jpg

http://i341.photobucket.com/albums/o390/mike_465/FI_Q_Box.jpg


Did you get my PM?

tRiGgEr
01-27-2009, 02:14 PM
Sure, if you want to sacrifice port area, theres always room ;)...but if you want a decent sized port and everything more optimal, then no...it's really pushing it in size..

25inch^2 is plenty of port surface area for that driver in a 2.4ft^3 box ;)

tooshort_128
01-27-2009, 02:36 PM
Mike465, I did get your PM. I'm going to mock up the enclosure in my trunk to see if I'll have enough room for the baby stroller, etc back there. If it's too big, I'll just have you build me a 1.5 cube sealed box. Great design and price by the way! PM me a price for sealed if I have to go that route. Thanks.

Mike465
01-27-2009, 04:13 PM
Hey, I just sent you another PM