PDA

View Full Version : !!!!help!!!!



Floodzilla
01-23-2009, 06:26 PM
okay, i jus finished my new box for my room. its 4 kicker comp 15s in a 16 cube box. my friend convinced me to port it finally. so we cut out a square vent port, 3x9.5. and now it sounds like crap!!!! he tells me my baffles are flexin and makin noise. but my top isnt sealed yet and theres a break along the top. what do you guys think? im stumped:wow::crying:

andrew2944r
01-23-2009, 06:28 PM
How deep back does the port go?

dman4486
01-23-2009, 06:30 PM
^^^port has to have a depth...otherwise it is just a hole

Floodzilla
01-23-2009, 06:38 PM
thats the thing, according 2 the calculators i used, it needed 2 go like a 10th of a inch into the box. so we jus cut it out

dman4486
01-23-2009, 06:39 PM
thats the thing, according 2 the calculators i used, it needed 2 go like a 10th of a inch into the box. so we jus cut it out

your math = crappy.

what frequency did you want it tuned to?

m3dia_lab
01-23-2009, 06:39 PM
thats not right....

KyleBechtold
01-23-2009, 06:40 PM
you made the design for a sealed correct? and then tried to just port it?

Floodzilla
01-23-2009, 06:43 PM
first off, i used some calc. on the internet. i wanted it tuned 2 round 35 hz. yea this box was origionally supposed 2 be ported, but i jus havnt got 2 it until now.

dman4486
01-23-2009, 06:44 PM
thats not right....

for 16 cubes, you need a port ~10x24 and a length of 15 inches to get 35hz tuning(which is probably not low enough for home use)

brace the inside of the enclosure and make sure there are no leaks AT ALL other than the port.

dman4486
01-23-2009, 06:45 PM
and since there are 4 drivers, make sure they are all wired in phase

Floodzilla
01-23-2009, 06:50 PM
alrite thnx, ok so 10x24 on outside and 15inches going into the box? and if i may ask, could you give me the formula or calculator you use? cuz it would help alot with my other systems. this setup is actually going into my friends bronco once he gets it back from the shop

dman4486
01-23-2009, 07:23 PM
alrite thnx, ok so 10x24 on outside and 15inches going into the box? and if i may ask, could you give me the formula or calculator you use? cuz it would help alot with my other systems. this setup is actually going into my friends bronco once he gets it back from the shop

http://www.bcae1.com/spboxnew2.htm

and the going rate for port area is 15 to 20sqin per cubic foot of box displacement.

Floodzilla
01-23-2009, 07:47 PM
wait im confused. i actually used this exact website, and thats wut it spit out at me. any suggestions?

DonH
01-23-2009, 09:09 PM
:yureawsm:


jackass build a new **** box!

Floodzilla
01-23-2009, 10:31 PM
lolz dude. i dont need 2, i have sooo much wood left ova from buildin it that i have enough 4 a extra side. its all good.

and since im awsome, well,
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj288/drayton18/SIMON_DR.jpg

lolz jus playin my friend:)